Short Opinions

Short opinions have been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada and Royal Military College Saint-Jean are not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Esquisse d’une philosophie de la formation militaire au Canada (French only)
This text concisely presents the first elements of a possible philosophy of military education in Canada. It is not a dogma, but the basic elements of a reflection based on several years of teaching and working in the Department of National Defence.


Truth, Duty and Valour
Reflection on leadership and the meaning of the rank: a rank is just an insignia put on a chest; the real leaders are the ones who gain the respect of their subordinates and the trust of their superiors.


L'éducation que nous offrons (French only)
What kind of education does C.M.R. St.Jean offer to our future officers?

As far as classroom learning is concerned, our professors do an exceptional job.

If we consider the other pillars of our system: bilingualism, leadership and sports, our instructors and our students, year after year, reach their goals.

But if we talk ethics : sex, drugs, alcohol, nobody is really in charge. Who should do the job?


Le mot pédagogie (French only)
Being in front of a class and having in mind the pedagogical objective of transmitting some information, on a given subject, with the desire to inform, and to form, and to produce success: such should be the aim of any good teacher.


Partir du bon pied au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (French only)
At the beginning of August, for the 34th time in my career, I witnessed with keen interest the apprehensive arrival of our new officer cadets. I saw them leave behind their civilian state to adopt and adapt to the tones of khaki and green. And I thought...

Date modified:

Billets

Les billets ont été fournis par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada et le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean n'assument aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fournit par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Esquisse d’une philosophie de la formation militaire au Canada
Ce texte présente de manière concise les premiers éléments d’une philosophie possible de la formation militaire au Canada. Il ne s’agit pas d’un dogme, mais plutôt de pistes de réflexion fondées sur plusieurs années d’enseignement et de travail au sein du ministère de la Défense nationale.


Truth, Duty and Valour (anglais seulement)
Réflexion sur le leadership et le sens du grade : le grade n’est qu’un insigne sur la poitrine; les vrais leaders sont ceux qui gagnent le respect de leurs subordonnés et la confiance de leurs supérieurs.


L'éducation que nous offrons
Nos élèves sont des adolescents / adolescentes qui reçoivent ici une excellente formation collégiale.

Les quatre piliers de notre éducation (scolarisation, bilinguisme, leadership et sports) forment des chefs pour la société de demain; et nous réussissons bien.

Mais qui s'occupe de leur formation éthique, morale ?


Le mot pédagogie
Être en face d'une classe et avoir en tête l'objectif pédagogique de transmettre une connaissance avec le désir de former en informant et de faire bien réussir : tel devrait être le but de tout bon enseignant.


Partir du bon pied au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean
En ce début du mois d'août, avec un très grand intérêt d'ailleurs, j'ai suivi pour la 34e fois de ma carrière l'arrivée nerveuse de nos nouveaux élèves-officiers. Je les ai vus passer de leur état civil à leur mutation en kaki et vert. Et j'ai pensé ...

Date de modification :