Chief Warrant Officer's Biography

Chief Warrant Officer J.D.G. Martin, CD

Chief Warrant Officer Georges Martin was born on 15 December 1970 in Granby, Québec. After completing his high school education, he enrolled in the Canadian Armed Forces in Sherbrooke, Quebec, in June of 1988 as a Combat Engineer.

His assignments include: 5e Régiment du Génie de Combat (5 RGC) in Valcartier, Québec (1989-1990); 4 Combat Engineer Regiment (4 CER) in Lahr, Germany, (1990-1993); 5 RGC (1993-1999); The “Army of the West” with 1 CER (1999-2004); CFB Borden at the Canadian Forces School of Explosive Ordnance Disposal as the EOD Pl Comd (2004-2007); he returned to 1 CER with a promotion to Master Warrant Officer (2008) and was assigned as the Support Squadron Sergeant-Major (2007-2010); at the Canadian Army Training and Doctrine Center (CADTC) at CFB Kingston, he acted as the Counter-IED Desk Officer, managing the C-IED qualification standards (2010-2013); he then completed the US Army Sergeants Major Course (2014) at the United States Army Sergeants Major Academy : he was then an instructor on the Sergeants Major Course (2014-2016). After spending the past two years as Regimental Sergeant Major of 4 Engineer Support Regiment (4 ESR) in Gagetown, New Brunswick, he is assigned as CWO of Royal Military College Saint-Jean.

His operational experience include: United Nations Peace Keeping (UNPK) mission in Former Yugoslavia on OP HARMONY ROTO 0 (1992); UNPK on OP CAVALIER in Visoko, BiH (1995); OP RECUPERATION in the recovery effort and aid to civil power in the aftermath of the ice storm of 1998 in Québec; completed two tours in Bosnia with OP PALLADIUM ROTO’s 7 (2000) and 12 (2003); deployed to Afghanistan on OP ATHENA ROTO 5 (2008) as the EOD Tp WO and Squadron Quarter Master of the Counter-IED Sqn;

His military education include: Qualification Level 3 (QL3) Cbt Eng (89) in Chilliwack BC; QL5 (92); Combat Leader Course (1994); Section Commander Course (2000); Troop Warrant Course (2003); Intermediate and Advance Leadership qualifications here in St-Jean sur Richelieu; EOD/IEDD Operator course (2004) in Borden, ON; Advanced Improvised Explosive Device Disposal (IEDD) course (2005) in Kineton, England; US Advanced EOD course (surface and air) (2006) at Eglin Air Force Base, Florida; completed the Officer Professional Military Education program (2011); United States Army Sergeants Major Course (2014) at the United States Army Sergeants Major Academy in El Paso, TX; Command Team Course (2016) in Kingston, ON. CWO Martin is a graduate of Class 64 “Always Ready” of the Sergeants Major Course.

He is married to Andrea Martin (nee Forstman) from Biloxi, Mississippi. He has two children, Lisa (20) and Sean-Thomas (19) both living in Ontario.

Date modified:

Biographie de l'Adjudant-chef

Adjudant-chef J.D.G. Martin, CD

L’adjudant-chef Georges Martin est né le 15 décembre 1970 à Granby, au Québec. Après avoir terminé ses études secondaires, il s’est enrôlé dans les Forces armées canadiennes à Sherbrooke, au Québec, en juin 1988 en tant qu’ingénieur de combat.

Au cours de sa carrière, il a notamment été affecté au 5e régiment du génie de combat (5 RGC) à Valcartier, au QC (1989-1990); au 4e Régiment du génie de combat (4 RGC) à Lahr, en Allemagne (1990-1993); au 5 RGC (1993-1999); à l’Armée de l’Ouest avec 1 CER (1999-2004); à la BFC Borden à l’École d’élimination des explosifs des Forces canadiennes en tant que cmdt du pon EOD (2004-2007); au 1 RGC, où il retourne suite à une promotion au grade d’adjum (2008) et où il sera nommé sergent-major de l’escadron de soutien (2007-2010); au Centre de formation et de doctrine de l’Armée canadienne (CCAFI) à la BFC Kingston, où il a agi à titre d’officier de bureau du contre -IED, de gérant les normes de qualification C-IED (2010-2013). Il a ensuite suivi le cours de sergent de l’Armée américaine (2014) à l’Académie des sergents de l’Armée américaine puis a été instructeur du cours de sergent-major (2014-2016). Après avoir passé les deux dernières années à titre de sergent-major régimentaire du 4e Régiment d’appui du génie (4 ESR) à Gagetown, au Nouveau-Brunswick, il est nommé Adjuc du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean.

Son expérience opérationnelle comprend, entre autres, la mission de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies (UNPK) en ex-Yougoslavie au sein de l’OP HARMONY ROTO 0 (1992); UNPK au sein de l’OP CAVALIER à Visoko, BiH (1995). Il a aussi pris part à l’OP RECUPERATION dans l’effort de récupération et d’aide au pouvoir civil à la suite de la tempête de verglas de 1998 au Québec et a été déployé en Bosnie à deux reprises avec l’OP PALLADIUM ROTO’s 7 (2000) et 12 (2003) avant d’être déployé en Afghanistan dans le cadre de l’OP ATHENA ROTO 5 (2008) à titre d’adjudant du détachement de la Défense territoriale et de chef d’escadron de l’escadron de neutralisation des IED;

Son éducation militaire comprend la qualification 3 (QL3) Cbt Eng (89), complétée à Chilliwack, en CB; QL5 (92); le cours de chef de combat (1994); le cours de commandant de section (2000); le cours de mandat de troupe (2003); la qualifications de niveau intermédiaire et avancé à St-Jean sur Richelieu; le cours d’opérateur EOD / IEDD (2004) à Borden, en ON; le cours avancé sur l’élimination des dispositifs explosifs improvisés (IEDD) (2005) à Kineton, en Angleterre; le cours avancé d’EOD américain (surface et air) (2006) à la base aérienne d’Eglin, en Floride; le programme d’instruction militaire professionnelle des officiers (2011); le Grand cours des sergents de l’Armée des États-Unis (2014), complété à la Sergent Major Army Academy à El Paso, au Texas; et enfin, le Command Team Course (2016) à Kingston, en ON. L’Adjuc Martin est diplômé de la classe de 64 « Toujours prêt » du cours de sergent major.

Il est marié à Andrea Martin (née Forstman) originaire de Biloxi, au Mississippi. Il a deux enfants, Lisa (20 ans) et Sean-Thomas (19 ans), tous deux vivent en Ontario.

Date de modification :