Student Guide

Academic Director's Welcome

Welcome to the Royal Military College Saint-Jean, and congratulations on your excellent career choice! Royal Military College Saint-Jean is an ideal site for learning and personal growth, with historic buildings and traditions that date back generations. The knowledge, leadership skills and relationships that you will develop while attending this venerable institution will help advance your military career. The College has a cadre of highly qualified and motivated teachers and administrative personnel who care about the students they teach and mentor. We are here to support you and to help you succeed as you launch a fantastic career in the Canadian Forces.

The academic programs offered at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean at the college- and university-level are designed to expose you to a range of different subjects, and also to provide you with other tools required to ensure your success in the Canadian Armed Forces. You will refine your abilities to think critically and to express your ideas in writing and speech. You will learn how to frame a good argument, and how to listen to and appreciate the intellectual views held by others.

Your development will not be confined to academics. You will also grow as leaders, athletes, socially engaged citizens and future military officers. You will come to understand how living in a community of peers with ideas, cultures and backgrounds quite different from your own can enrich and broaden your understanding of the world, and help you define the leadership role that you take in society.

This guide was produced to help you prepare for your studies. I encourage you to read it carefully and to refer to it throughout your time with us. For most of you, this will be your first experience at the post-secondary level. Your success will be contingent on motivation, hard work, organization, and discipline. Do not hesitate to ask for help. We have but one mission, to ensure your success at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean. Good luck!

Truth, Duty, Valour.

James Groen
Academic Director

Academic Administration

The senior academic administrators are as follows: the Academic Director, Dr. James Groen (LH205); the Dean of Studies, Dr. Annick Girard (LH202); the Vice-Dean of Studies, Dr. Denis Lavigne (LH218); the Dean of Research, Dr. Roch Legault (LH203); the Director of Programs, Mr. Alain Biage, (LH220); and, the Registrar, Dr. Ian Parenteau (LH106).

LÉA Portal

LÉA is a portal on which students can access their marks as soon as teachers make them available. This on-line service is available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. LÉA gives more freedom in terms of possible interactions between members of a class. Through its many features evolving I line with community needs of education, LÉA seeks to give greater autonomy concerning exchanges between teachers and students.

Students in need of assistance can get help at the Registrar’s Office.

Academic Records

Students should contact the Registrar’s Office, located on the ground floor of the Lahaie Building, on all matters pertaining to their academic records.

In accordance with the regulations of the MELS, each student is required to submit the following documents at the beginning of the academic year:

  • birth certificate;
  • certificate of Canadian citizenship (if applicable);
  • most recent Ministry of Education transcripts;
  • duly completed application form; and,
  • other relevant documents that might be deemed necessary.

Course Exemptions

Students must take all of the required courses in their academic programs. Students who have already passed one or more courses in their program may apply for an exemption from those courses. Exemption requests must be submitted at the beginning of each semester. In order to request an exemption, students must contact the Registrar’s Office which is located on the ground floor of the LaHaie Building.

Academic Programme Change

Students who wish to change their academic program (either voluntarily or due to inadequate progress) must submit a request to the Registrar’s Office.

Transcripts

Courses offered at Royal Military College Saint-Jean are accredited by the Cegep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. At the end of each semester, students receive an official transcript of their academic results from the Cegep the format of which is in keeping with MELS Guidelines. Students can obtain certified copies of their transcripts through the Registrar’s Office.

Proof of Attendance

In September Students can request a "Declaration of Attendance at School or University" or they may have a form filled in this regard at the Registrar’s Office.

Timetables

Students should make all inquiries related to their academic schedules to the Registrar’s Office.

Change of Address

Students whose permanent address has changed must report the change to the Registrar’s Office, and complete the appropriate form.

Messages

Students may send mail or submit other documents to teachers by contacting departmental secretaries.

Teachers' Office Hours

At the beginning of each semester, teachers post their timetables and office hours on their office doors. A student who wishes to see a teacher outside office hours should make an appointment with the teacher and inform their chain of command if it will interfere with other activities.

Absence of a Teacher

When a teacher is more than ten minutes late, the class leader shall proceed to the Registrar’s Office (Lahaie Building – room 100) for further instructions.

Course Evaluations

In November and April, all students complete course evaluations. These evaluations are confidential and anonymous. Teachers will only receive the compiled results when the semester is over.

Academic Regulations

Academic Regulations, available on our website, outlines academic rules, regulations, and procedures. These rules, regulations, and procedures are consistent with those in effect at Royal Military College of Canada in order to ensure smooth transitions between the two military colleges. Royal Military College Saint-Jean regulations also respect ministerial and other established regulations governing college teaching in Québec, particularly the Politique d’évaluation des apprentissages (Learning and Evaluation Policy) the Cegep of Saint-Jean. This ensures that studies will be duly recognized by the Québec Ministry of Education.

Student Services

Student services, describes the academic resources and counselling services available to students at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean.

Useful Information

Student Identification Card

Cegep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu issues photo identification cards to all students. The card provides access to student services, discounts and other benefits and use the public transportation facilities.

If a card is lost, the student can request a new card through the Registrar’s Office.

Planning Calendar

At the beginning of the academic year, students receive an individual planning calendar provided by Cegep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu. The regulations and services described therein are primarily for the benefit of Cegep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu students, and may therefore be disregarded by students attending Royal Military College Saint-Jean. The included calendar must also be disregarded by officer cadets.

Faculty and Staff Directory

The faculty and staff directory may be found online. The directory includes the telephone numbers and email addresses of teachers, administrators, and support staff as well as library personnel.

Classrooms and Laboratories

Classrooms are furnished with audiovisual equipment and a multimedia projector. Only teachers are authorized to use this equipment. Students are expected to treat the furniture and equipment they use with respect. Eating and drinking are forbidden in classrooms and laboratories.

Textbooks

Using their library cards, students sign their textbooks out at the beginning of each semester. Textbooks are not included in the maximum number of items students are allowed to borrow from the library. Each student will receive a detailed list of his or her textbooks, and will thereafter sign an accountability agreement for the listed items.

It is strictly forbidden to underline or to write anything in textbooks with the exception of the student’s name in pencil. Students may have to pay for lost or damaged textbooks.

School Supplies

A box of school supplies is allocated to each student at the beginning of the academic year. Returning Seniors will receive a reduced issue of supplies. Any other supplies or replacement material must be purchased by the student.

Lockers

Students who wish to use a locker may sign for one and a padlock from the quarter master (C20).

Since outdoor clothing (overcoats, raincoats, etc.) cannot be brought into the classrooms, all such items must be left in the lockers. It is the duty of all students to keep their lockers clean and to empty them at the end of the academic year.

Locks lost or not returned will be charged to the student.

Notice Boards and Television

Students should consult the bulletin board on the ground floor in the Lahaie Building on a daily basis. Information is available as follows:

  • messages to students;
  • room changes; and,
  • academic information,
  • academic calendar; and,
  • final examination schedule.

A great deal of information is also displayed on electronic billboards, which are located throughout the campus. Messages on the screens located on the 2nd floor of the Lahaie and on the 2nd floor of de Léry Building are primarily aimed at students.

Public Transportation

Students can travel for free on some bus routes in the city of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu on presentation of their valid student card.

Lost and Found

The Lost and Found is located at the Registrar’s Office.

Date modified:

Guide de l'étudiant

Mot de bienvenue du directeur des études

Bienvenue au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean et félicitations pour votre choix de carrière!

Votre décision de poursuivre vos études au sein de notre institution vénérable vous permettra de pleinement épanouir vos connaissances et votre leadership en vue de votre carrière militaire. Les programmes d'études offerts au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean sont conçus non seulement pour enseigner le contenu de différentes matières, mais aussi pour vous fournir les outils nécessaires pour assurer le succès de nos Forces armées canadiennes.

Le présent guide a été produit pour vous aider à vous préparer à nos programmes d'études. Je vous encourage à le lire attentivement, et à y faire référence tout au long de votre séjour ici. Pour la majorité d'entre vous, ceci sera votre première expérience au niveau postsecondaire. Votre réussite repose sur votre motivation, votre travail, ainsi que sur votre sens de l'organisation et votre capacité à être discipliné. N'hésitez pas à demander de l'aide. Notre personnel enseignant et administratif est motivé et hautement qualifié pour vous appuyer dans vos efforts académiques; nous n'avons qu'une mission, celle d'assurer votre succès au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. Bonne chance!

Vérité, Devoir, Vaillance.

J.O. Michel Maisonneuve
Lieutenant-général (ret)
Directeur des études

Administration scolaire

Les responsables de l'administration scolaire sont le Lt-gén (ret) Michel Maisonneuve, directeur des études (LH205), madame Béatrice Richard, doyenne à l'enseignement (LH218), monsieur Marc Imbeault, doyen à la recherche (LH202), monsieur Alain Biage, directeur des programmes (LH203) et le Major David Sheink, Secrétaire général (LH103).

Portail LÉA

LÉA est un portail électronique qui permet à l'élève d'obtenir ses résultats scolaires dès que les professeurs les rendent disponibles. Les services en ligne sont accessibles sept jours par semaine et vingt-quatre heures par jour. LÉA c'est plus de liberté au niveau des interactions possibles entre les membres d'une classe. Par ses nombreuses fonctionnalitées évoluant au gré des besoins du milieu de l'éducation, LÉA vise à accroître l'autonomie dans les échanges entre enseignants et élèves.

L’élève trouvera dans le répertoire informatique S:\Secrétariat Général_Registrar's Office, la procédure d’utilisation du portail LÉA. En cas de difficulté, on peut s’adresser au Secrétariat général pour obtenir de l’aide.

Dossier scolaire

Pour toute question relative à son dossier scolaire, l'élève doit s'adresser au Secrétariat général au 1er étage – édifice Lahaie.

Afin de se conformer aux règles MELS, chaque élève doit fournir, en début d'année scolaire, les documents suivants :

  • certificat de naissance;
  • certificat de citoyenneté canadienne (s'il y a lieu);
  • relevé de notes du Ministère;
  • demande d'admission dûment remplie;
  • tout autre document pertinent qui pourrait être jugé nécessaire.

Exemption de cours

Un élève doit normalement suivre tous les cours du programme d'études auquel il est inscrit. L'élève qui a déjà suivi et réussi des cours de ce programme peut demander une exemption pour ces cours. Les demandes d'exemption se font au début de chacune des sessions. Il faut en faire la demande en s'adressant au Secrétariat général (1er étage – édifice LaHaie).

Changement de programme

Un élève qui souhaite changer de programme d'études (par choix ou par manque de progrès) doit soumettre sa demande de changement de programme au Secrétariat général.

Relevé de notes

Le Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu est l'établissement d'enseignement collégial qui reconnaît les cours offerts aux élèves du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. À la fin de chaque session, le Cégep remet à l'élève un relevé de notes qui fait état des résultats de l'évaluation de ses apprentissages et dont la forme est prescrite par le MELS. L'élève peut obtenir une copie conforme de son relevé de notes en s'adressant au Secrétariat général.

Preuve de fréquentation scolaire

En septembre on peut obtenir une attestation de fréquentation scolaire ou faire remplir un formulaire à cet effet en s'adressant au Secrétariat général.

Horaire de cours

Pour toute question relative à son horaire de cours, l'élève doit s'adresser au Secrétariat général.

Changement d'adresse

Pour tout changement de son adresse permanente, l'élève doit se présenter au bureau du Secrétariat général afin d'y remplir le formulaire approprié.

Courrier interne

Il est possible de remettre du courrier ou tout autre document destiné aux professeurs en s'adressant aux secrétaires de départements.

Disponibilité des professeurs

Au début de chaque session, les professeurs affichent, sur leur porte de bureau, leur horaire ainsi que leurs périodes de disponibilité. Si un élève souhaite rencontrer un professeur en dehors des périodes de disponibilité affichées, il doit prendre entente avec ce dernier en informant leur chaine de commandement si il y a une possibilité d'un conflit avec d'autres événements planifiées.

Absence ou retard d'un professeur

Quand un professeur a plus de dix minutes de retard, le chef de classe doit aller se renseigner auprès du Secrétariat général (Pavillon Lahaie – bureau 100) afin d'informer les élèves de la décision prise par l'administration.

Évaluation de l'enseignement

En novembre et en avril, chaque élève est appelé à évaluer, de façon anonyme, chacun de ses cours. Les professeurs ne recevront la compilation des résultats qu'une fois la session terminée et les notes compilées.

Règles concernant les études

Les Règles concernant les études, décrivent succinctement les principales règles et précise les modalités d'application de certaines procédures. Ces règles et procédures sont cohérentes avec les règles et procédures en vigueur au Collège militaire royal du Canada, afin de permettre une transition harmonieuse entre les deux collèges militaires. Elles respectent également les divers règlements ministériels et institutionnels qui encadrent l'enseignement collégial au Québec, en particulier la Politique d'évaluation des apprentissages (PEA) du Cégep Saint Jean, et ce, afin d'assurer la reconnaissance de la formation offerte par le ministère de l'Éducation du Québec.

Services aux élèves

Les Services d'aide aux élèves, présente les principales ressources mises en place au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean afin de favoriser la réussite scolaire des élèves et de les aider dans leurs apprentissages.

Renseignements utiles

Carte d'identité

Le Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu remet à chaque élève une carte d'identité avec photo permettant, entre autres, d'obtenir des services et des rabais étudiants, ou encore d'utiliser le transport en commun.

En cas de perte, les élèves peuvent demander une réimpression de la carte auprès du Secrétariat général.

Agenda-guide

Un agenda-guide du Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu est distribué à tous les élèves en début d'année scolaire. Les règlements et les services qui y sont décrits s'adressent d'abord et avant tout aux élèves du Cégep. On demande aux élèves-officiers de ne pas tenir compte du calendrier scolaire qui y est inclus.

Répertoire du personnel

Le répertoire du personnel peut être consulté en ligne. On y trouve les numéros de poste téléphonique, les adresses électroniques, des administrateurs, ainsi que du personnel d'administratif et de la bibliothèque.

Classes et laboratoires

Les salles de classe sont dotées d'équipement audiovisuel et d'un projecteur multimédia. L'utilisation de ces appareils est strictement réservée aux professeurs. Les élèves doivent respecter le mobilier et les équipements mis à leur disposition. Il est interdit de boire et de manger dans les salles de classe et les laboratoires.

Manuels scolaires

Des manuels scolaires et articles scolaires sont prêtés aux élèves au début de chaque session, à l'aide de la carte d'usager de la bibliothèque. Les manuels ne s'ajoutent pas au nombre maximal d'emprunts permis par la bibliothèque. Une liste détaillée des manuels scolaires prêtés, incluant les codes barres, leur est remise. De plus, un avis de responsabilité devra être signé à cet effet.

Il est strictement interdit de surligner ou d'écrire dans les manuels scolaires, sauf pour y inscrire son nom au crayon de plomb. Les manuels perdus ou endommagés peuvent entraîner des frais pour l'élève.

Matériel scolaire

Une boite de matériel scolaire est allouée à chaque élève en début d'année scolaire. Il est important de noter que les élèves, qui sont à leur deuxième année au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, auront une boîte de matériel réduite. Finalement, tout article supplémentaire devra être acheté par l'élève.

Répertoire informatique « S »

Le répertoire informatique « S » est principalement destiné aux élèves. On y trouvera de nombreux documents et renseignements pertinents :

  • calendrier scolaire;
  • calendriers des tests et des examens de fin de session;
  • travaux, corrigés d'examen, tests des années antérieures, etc.;
  • nouveautés de la bibliothèque;
  • procédures du portail LÉA;
  • répertoire du personnel;
  • photos;
  • etc.

Casiers

Des casiers et des cadenas sont disponibles pour les élèves qui désirent les utiliser. L'élève doit se présenter au quartier maître (C20) pour emprunter son cadenas.

Les vêtements d'extérieur ne peuvent être apportés en classe, et, par conséquent, doivent être laissés dans les casiers. Chaque élève doit conserver son casier propre et le libérer à la fin de l'année scolaire.

Les cadenas perdus ou non retournés seront facturés à l'élève.

Tableaux d'affichage et TV

Il est recommandé de consulter quotidiennement le tableau d'affichage situé au 1er étage de l'édifice Lahaie. On y trouve les renseignements suivants :

  • messages adressés à un ou des élèves;
  • avis de changement de local;
  • information scolaire;
  • calendrier scolaire;
  • calendrier des examens de fin de session.

De plus, beaucoup d'information concernant les élèves est affichée sur les téléviseurs du Collège militaire royal de Saint Jean. Les messages des téléviseurs du 2e étage du Lahaie et du 2e étage du de Léry s'adressent tout particulièrement aux élèves du collège.

Transport en commun

Les élèves peuvent se déplacer gratuitement en autobus sur certains circuits de la ville de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu sur présentation de leur carte étudiante valide.

Objets perdus et trouvés

Les objets trouvés doivent être rapportés au Secrétariat général.

Date de modification :