Student Services

This document describes the academic resources and counselling services available to students at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean.

WAC

The Writing Aid Centre (WAC) is available to all officer cadets who wish to improve the quality of their writing in their first official language: English or French. Under the guidance of literature teachers for the most part, help is available in a variety of ways: by regular meetings, on a drop-in basis, or through individualized study using available reference material, electronic resources, and exercises.

Students may utilize the Centre as a resource for help with academic assignments as long as the assignment for which help is sought is submitted 48 hours ahead of time to the secretary of the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences (LH 301). An appointment will then be arranged with the student to discuss how best to improve the quality of the assignment. It must be emphasized that the WAC is not an editing service for student essays; it is a resource to help students improve their writing by developing students’ abilities to recognize and correct writing problems on their own.

The WAC is available on a voluntary basis, but students with particular difficulties may be referred to the Centre in order to help them remedy their writing problems.

The Centre is located in LH 218 and its hours of operation are posted on the door.

MAC

The MAC provides a room allowing teachers to meet groups of students requiring special help in mathematics. Students can also arrange for an individual session with a math instructor posted on the list of available teachers.

SRC

The Science Resource Centre (SRC) is available to all students who would like to work under the supervision of a math or science teacher, either individually or in a group. Depending on their expertise, teachers at the SRC can help students with exercises or problems in math, physics, chemistry, or biology. If necessary, teachers may also provide additional explanations on material covered in class. The SRC is located in the Lahaie pavilion, Room 220. Opening hours are posted on the door of the Centre as well as on the Science Department bulletin board.

Academic Advisor AI

An academic advisor (AI) is at the college one day per week. The advisor's role is to counsel students on matters pertaining to educational development, admission requirements, and graduation (DCS) while OCdts are studying at Royal Military College Saint-Jean.

The advisor is available for consultation in the following areas:

  • general information on colleges and academic programs;
  • admission and program requirements;
  • information on one's academic program;
  • program or college transfers;
  • course substitutions and equivalencies; and
  • course load and selection.

The academic advisor can also refer students to various services offered by the Cégep St-Jean-sur-Richelieu. These include the following: services for students with learning disabilities such as dyslexia or attention deficits; social and community-based services; and guidance counselling. Students can also make appointments to see professionals such as psychologists, special education teachers, and guidance specialists.

Director of Programs

On arrival and at the end of each semester, the Director of Programs will meet with all students individually in order to help students with course and program choices. The Director of Programs is also available to answer students' questions about their educational development.

After reviewing the students' academic files, the Director of Programs will take the necessary steps to ensure that, where appropriate, either the CEGEP or the Royal Military College of Canada recognize courses completed at other colleges or universities.

From time to time, the Director of Programs will adjust a student's academic program based on the student's results and progress. The Director of Programs will also counsel students who wish to change programs. Finally, the Director of Programs will ensure, as much as possible, that students are able to complete their university degrees within the established deadlines.

Teachers

Students experiencing difficulties in a given course should first contact their teachers for assistance. All teachers post office hours, and, in addition, they make themselves available to students in other ways. Students can also make appointments to see teachers outside of office hours if necessary.

Methodology Workshops

Methodology workshops have been given for a number of years. The format and content of the workshops vary from year to year. Some topics covered in previous years include the following: note-taking, study skills, time and stress management, reading skills, writing styles, and plagiarism.

Methodology workshops have been incorporated into the schedules of all new students, whether the students are in Social Science or Science. In the first part of the semester, teachers will deliver general lectures on the following topics as they relate to academic studies at Royal Military College Saint-Jean:

  • The transition from high school to college;
  • College and university studies and the development of fundamental skills such as critical thinking and intellectual pursuits;
  • Time management;
  • Stress management;
  • Plagiarism and proper documentation of sources;
  • Research methods (including a visit to the library); and
  • Bibliographies and references.

In the second part of the semester, students in difficulty will receive individualized instruction from teachers; the rest of the students will be exempted from methodology classes. The purpose of this approach is not to target so-called "weak" students, but rather to allow classroom teachers and those who volunteer at the WAC and the SRC to focus on students who require further instruction for the following reasons:

  • Organizational problems persist (stress management problems, poor time management, poor study habits, and so on); or
  • Effort is inadequate for succeeding at school.

Before midterm, classroom teachers will provide methodology teachers with the names of the students who would benefit from individualized instruction.

Tutors

The following students require individual tutoring:

  • those who have been placed on warning or probation because they failed one or more courses in a previous semester;
  • those who have organizational or motivational problems and are not eligible for the methodology workshops offered to new students; and
  • those who are in the process of failing the current semester.

These students will be identified during the midterm marks meeting on the basis of their results and their teachers' observations. Nonetheless, students in need may be identified at any given time so that tutors can be assigned to them.

The tutor's role is to act as a counselor; tutors meet with students to discuss problems and to provide guidance. Tutors are not expected to help students with their school work, but rather to ensure that students are cognizant of available resources and of how to use these tools in order to succeed in their studies.These students will be identified during the midterm marks meeting on the basis of their results and their teachers' observations. Nonetheless, students in need may be identified at any given time so that tutors can be assigned to them.

At the beginning of every academic year, a bank of teachers interested in tutoring one or more students is created so that tutors can be quickly assigned to students in need.

Peer Tutoring Service

Peer tutoring is a service that matches students experiencing difficulties in their courses with students, called peer tutors, who have successfully completed those courses in previous semesters, with the goal of providing prompt and individual help. This allows students who perform well academically to get involved, and provides students with academic difficulties to have a tutor who is not their teacher, and thus does not evaluate them.

The tutor decides how many hours they would like to volunteer, and his or her role is to meet with students who are experiencing academic difficulties, in order to provide them with help during their learning. Usually, weekly meetings are recommended in order to encourage the tutee's success in their courses. Help provided by the tutor can vary: helping the student prepare for an exam, explaining difficult course content, holding study sessions, conversing in the tutee's second language, etc.

Peer tutoring offers many benefits:

  • Students experiencing academic difficulties have the opportunity to be supported by a student who has already successfully completed the course, and who has developed their own understanding of the course material.
  • Tutors develop their interpersonal, communication and leadership skills while coaching the tutee.

Squadron Liaison Teacher

In order to maximize officer cadets' chances of academic success, each squadron includes one teacher, who is a full and active member of the squadron. The objective of their placement is to ensure efficient communication between teachers from the Academic Division, squadron commanders, and officer cadets. These liaison teachers are regularly informed of the activities of their squadrons, and they attend meetings relevant to their roles. They even participate alongside officer cadets in certain military or sporting activities. Their role, furthermore, is to ensure that academic and military activities do not interfere with each other. The ultimate objective of this arrangement is to favour a balanced schedule for officer cadets, enabling them to give their best to all four pillars of life at Royal Military College Saint-Jean. Liaison teachers embody the ideal of cooperation between military personnel and teaching staff, who strive towards the same goal.

Date modified:

Services d'aide aux élèves

Ce document présente les principales ressources mises en place au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean afin de favoriser la réussite scolaire des élèves et de les aider dans leurs apprentissages.

CAR

Le Centre d'aide à la rédaction (CAR) s'adresse à tous les élèves-officiers qui souhaitent améliorer la qualité de leurs travaux écrits dans leur langue première (français ou anglais). Il offre un soutien linguistique adapté aux besoins des élèves. L'aide, principalement apportée par des professeurs de littérature, prend diverses formes : suivi régulier, aide ponctuelle ou autoformation grâce au matériel spécialisé mis à la disposition des élèves (ouvrages de références, dictionnaires, grammaires, documents pédagogiques, exercices ciblés, logiciels, etc.).

Le CAR propose de l'aide pour la révision de travaux scolaires si ceux-ci sont remis 48 heures à l'avance à la secrétaire du Département des humanités et des sciences sociales (LH301). Dans ce cas, un rendez-vous avec l'élève sera planifié pour discuter de certains aspects à retravailler afin améliorer ledit travail. L'objectif est d'aider les élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés en rédaction à développer une plus grande maîtrise de leur langue première et à devenir plus autonome en la matière. Il ne s'agit en aucun cas d'offrir la possibilité d’une précorrection d'un travail avant sa remise officielle.

Le CAR est fréquenté sur une base volontaire, mais il arrive qu'un élève éprouvant de grandes difficultés de rédaction soit invité par un de ses professeurs à fréquenter le CAR de manière assidue afin de l'aider à remédier à la situation.

Le CAR reçoit les élèves au local LH218 selon l'horaire affiché sur la porte d'entrée.

CAM

Les locaux du Centre d’aide aux mathématiques disposent d'une salle permettant à un enseignant de rencontrer un groupe d'élèves désirant obtenir une aide supplémentaire en mathématiques. Les élèves peuvent également prendre rendez-vous pour une session de tutorat en y consultant la liste des enseignants disponibles.

CAS

Le Centre d'aide en sciences (CAS) s'adresse à tous les élèves-officiers qui souhaitent travailler, seuls ou en équipe, sous la supervision d'un professeur de mathématiques ou de sciences. Le professeur présent au CAS peut, selon ses compétences, aider les élèves à résoudre des exercices ou des problèmes de mathématiques, de physique, de chimie ou de biologie. Il peut aussi, si nécessaire, donner des explications supplémentaires sur la matière vue en classe dans ces disciplines. Le CAS accueille les élèves au local 220 du pavillon LaHaie selon l'horaire affiché sur la porte d'entrée ainsi que sur le babillard du département des sciences de la nature.

CAPI

Un conseiller en aide pédagogique individuelle (CAPI) est présent au Collège à raison d'une journée par semaine. Le conseiller peut guider et informe les élèves quant à leur cheminement scolaire, de l'admission à l'obtention d'un DEC, durant leur séjour au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean.

Il peut être consulté pour les raisons suivantes :

  • information sur le système collégial et les programmes d'études;
  • exigences d'admission collégiales et programmes d'étude;
  • information sur son programme d'études;
  • changement de programme ou de collège;
  • possibilité de substitutions ou d'équivalences de cours;
  • choix de cours en regard de la charge de travail exigée.

Le CAPI peut aussi orienter les élèves qui le demandent vers plusieurs services du Cégep St-Jean-sur-Richelieu : service d'adaptation scolaire pour les élèves qui éprouvent des troubles d'apprentissage comme la dyslexie ou des troubles de concentration; service d'insertion sociale et communautaire; service d'orientation. Les élèves peuvent ainsi rencontrer des professionnels : psychologue, orthopédagogue, conseiller en orientation, etc. On peut prendre rendez-vous auprès de la représentante du Cégep St-Jean-sur-Richelieu au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean au Secrétariat général.

Directeur des programmes

Le directeur des programmes rencontre individuellement tous les élèves à leur arrivée et à la fin de chaque session pour les aider dans leurs choix de cours et de programmes. Tout au long de l'année, il est disponible pour répondre à toutes les questions que les élèves peuvent se poser concernant leur cheminement scolaire.

Après l'analyse des dossiers scolaires, il fait les démarches auprès du CAPI ou du service d'évaluation de la formation antérieure du Collège militaire royal du Canada pour que soient reconnus, s'ils sont jugés équivalents, certains cours qui ont déjà été réussis dans une autre institution collégiale ou universitaire.

Périodiquement, il révise les programmes d'études des élèves en fonction de leurs résultats et de leur progrès. Il conseille également les élèves lorsqu'ils veulent changer de programme. Il s'assure que les élèves obtiennent autant que possible leur diplôme universitaire dans les délais prévus.

Professeurs

Le professeur demeure la première ressource vers laquelle un élève devrait se tourner lorsqu'il éprouve des difficultés dans un cours donné. Il va de soi que chaque professeur offre à ses élèves un nombre raisonnable de périodes de disponibilité à son bureau ou par d'autres moyens. Les élèves peuvent également prendre rendez-vous à d'autres moments, s'ils le jugent nécessaire.

Ateliers de méthode de travail intellectuel

On offre aux élèves depuis plusieurs années déjà des ateliers de méthodologie. Ces ateliers ont pris différentes formes, et les sujets qui y ont été abordés ont varié d'une année à l'autre. On peut en énumérer quelques-uns : la prise de notes, les méthodes de travail au collégial, la gestion du temps et du stress, la lecture efficace, la présentation de rapport, le plagiat.

Tous les nouveaux élèves — autant ceux inscrits en sciences humaines qu'en sciences de la nature — ont à leur horaire une heure d'Ateliers de méthodes de travail intellectuel par semaine, et ce, pour la durée totale de la session d'automne (15 semaines). Des professeurs sont responsables de ces ateliers. Dans la première partie de la session, les professeurs consacrent les ateliers à des séances magistrales qui couvrent des thèmes généraux concernant les études au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean :

  • La transition du secondaire au collégial;
  • Les programmes d'études et les objectifs fondamentaux des cours collégiaux et universitaires comme le développement de l'esprit critique et de synthèse ainsi que l'acquisition d'une culture générale;
  • La gestion du temps;
  • La gestion du stress;
  • Le plagiat et les façons adéquates de citer les sources dans les travaux scolaires;
  • Les outils de recherche (incluant une visite de la bibliothèque);
  • Les références bibliographiques.

Dans la seconde partie de la session, ils offrent un encadrement plus personnalisé aux élèves qui éprouvent de la difficulté dans leurs études; les autres élèves sont alors libérés de l'obligation de se rendre en classe pour ces ateliers. On ne vise pas ici spécifiquement les élèves « faibles » dans certaines matières — on laisse cette tâche à leurs professeurs et à ceux qui offrent un service d'encadrement dans le cadre des activités du CAR et du CAS —, mais bien ceux qui devraient profiter d'un meilleur encadrement :

  • Les élèves qui éprouvent de la difficulté à s'organiser dans leurs études (gestion du stress, mauvaises capacités de planification de leur temps de travail, techniques d'étude déficientes, etc.);
  • Les élèves qui ne fournissent pas tous les efforts nécessaires en vue de la réussite de leurs études.

Les responsables des ateliers comptent sur les professeurs pour qu'ils leur transmettent, avant la mi-session, les noms des élèves qui, à leur avis, bénéficieraient de cet encadrement plus personnalisé.

Tuteurs

Certains élèves ont besoin du soutien individuel d'un tuteur :

  • les élèves qui font l'objet d'une mise en garde ou d'une probation à la suite d'un ou de plusieurs échecs obtenus lors d'une précédente session;
  • les élèves qui éprouvent des difficultés d'organisation ou de motivation et qui ne suivent pas les ateliers de travail de méthode intellectuel, offerts seulement aux nouveaux élèves;
  • les élèves qui sont en voie d'échouer leur session.

On identifie ces élèves normalement à la réunion de notes de mi-session en se basant sur les résultats obtenus et sur les commentaires des professeurs. Néanmoins, en tout temps, on peut signaler le cas d'un élève qui aurait besoin d'aide pour qu'on lui assigne un tuteur.

Le rôle des tuteurs est d'agir comme conseiller, de s'assurer que les élèves identifient la source de leurs problèmes et de les orienter vers les bonnes ressources. Il ne s'agit pas d'aider les élèves à faire leurs travaux, mais plutôt de s'assurer qu'ils savent où aller chercher les outils nécessaires pour réussir.

Une banque de professeurs intéressés à être tuteurs d'un ou plusieurs élèves est constituée au début de chaque année scolaire afin que l'on puisse assigner, sans délai, un tuteur à tous les élèves qui en ont besoin.

Service de tutorat par les pairs

Le service de tutorat par les pairs jumelle des étudiants en difficulté académique avec des étudiants, nommés tuteurs, qui ont réussi ces cours précédemment, dans le but d'offrir de l'aide individuelle et ponctuelle. Ceci permet aux étudiants avec des habiletés académiques de s'impliquer, et à ceux en difficulté d'avoir un tuteur qui n'est pas le professeur, et donc une personne qui ne l'évalue pas.

Le tuteur décide pour combien d'heures il est prêt à s'impliquer, et son rôle est de rencontrer un ou plusieurs étudiants en difficulté et de les encadrer au cours de leur apprentissage. Habituellement, des rencontres hebdomadaires sont recommandées pour favoriser la réussite de l'étudiant en difficulté. L'aide apportée par le tuteur peut prendre diverses formes : aider l'étudiant à se préparer pour un examen, expliquer des notions incomprises, tenir des séances d'étude, converser en langue seconde, etc.

Le tutorat par les pairs présente plusieurs bienfaits :

  • Les étudiants en difficulté ont l'opportunité d'être encadrés par un étudiant qui a déjà suivi le cours avec succès et qui a développé ses propres trucs pour comprendre la matière.
  • Les tuteurs ont la chance de développer leurs habiletés interpersonnelles, de communication et de leadership en étant un coach pour des étudiants en difficulté.

Professeur-liaison d'escadron

Afin de maximiser les chances de réussite scolaire de tous les élèves-officiers, un prof est assigné à chaque escadron. Ce professeur est membre actif et à part entière de l'escadron, assurant ainsi que la communication entre l'équipe de professeurs de la Division des études, les commandants d'escadron et les élèves-officiers soit efficace. Ce professeur-liaison est tenu régulièrement au courant des activités de son escadron, assiste aux réunions lorsque les sujets abordés peuvent l'intéresser, et peut même participer à certaines activités sportives ou militaires en compagnie des élèves-officiers. Il a également pour rôle de s'assurer que les activités respectives de la Division des études et de la Division des élof n'interfèrent pas les unes avec les autres, favorisant ainsi un horaire équilibré qui permet à l'élève-officier de donner le meilleur de lui-même, et ce, au sein des quatre composantes essentielles du programme du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. Le professeur-liaison d'escadron incarne l'idée importante selon laquelle personnel militaire et corps professoral travaillent ensemble dans un même but.

Date de modification :