Joining Instructions - Virtual Learning (VL)

Aim

To provide candidates registered on VL courses given by the Chief Warrant Officer Robert-Osside Profession of Arms Institute (Osside Institute) at the Royal Military College St-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) with the information needed to understand how the distributed learning portion will be conducted and who to contact for additional information or assistance. Visit the RMC Saint-Jean website under the Osside Institute section for updated information. Additional information will also be provided upon your first day of the course.

Introduction to the Programs

The programmes are given to develop the senior non-commissioned members (NCMs) in leadership roles.

Note: For more information refer to the specific course descriptions

Background

The Qualification Standards for the ILP, ALP, SLP and SAP were approved by the Canadian Defence Academy which assumed responsibility for all CAF common professional development.

The aim of these VL courses is to provide members with the basic tools, skills and knowledge necessary to perform their duties at the rank of PO1/WO, CPO2/MWO and CPO1/CWO.

As a result of the Covid-19 pandemic, introduction of the VL courses represents the most significant change in the approach being taken by the CAF to educate the NCM Corps. The VL courses are part of a mitigation strategy during the period of social distancing. The intent is to resume residential portion on the RMC Saint-Jean campus when it will be deemed appropriate and the restrictions lifted.

In the interim, all VL courses will provide the candidates with the knowledge required to successfully complete the residential portions of the ILP, SLP and SAP (with the exception of the ALP course, which is solely delivered by Distance Learning (DL)). As such, assessment for this training and education is "pass/fail" and candidates must successfully complete the DL portion of the programme before they can be registered on the VL course.

Autobiography (not applicable to SAP)

Each candidate will write an autobiography in order to assist the Directing Staff , via Moodle drop box, on the first day of the course. Candidates will write an autobiography of 500 words or more. See Annex A for details.

Candidate interview sheet (ILP only)

Candidates are to complete the Interview Sheet and present it to their Directing Staff when contacted the week prior to course. It will be sent by your directing staff.

Dress Orders

Appropriate civilian attire is authorized during our VL programmes, however, inappropriate writings or symbols will not be tolerated.

Computer Support

Candidates will receive a Moodle invitation from RMC prior to the start of course. When creating your Zoom profile, ensure your Display Name is your first and last name only. Candidates should be familiar and registered with MOODLE and ZOOM software prior to the start of the course. The Zoom application is to be downloaded from the internet only unto a device that is not DWAN. The software is free and can be accessed from "Google Play" or the "Apple App Store". They can be installed on tablets or mobile device. See Annex B for minimum requirements and additional information.

Moodle Learning Management System: The VL courses consist of a scheduled reading and a work program that will be delivered to the students using a web-enhanced format via Moodle.

DWAN: https://moodle.rmc.ca/login-eng.php
Internet: https://moodle.rmc.ca/login-eng.php

https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Moodle_3.5_release_notes

https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362023-Configuration-minimal

Note: Despite the vulnerability found in ZOOM, the Canadian Defence Academy approves the use of this platform within the security guidelines as an instructional media.

Note: The Zoom platform is not authorized on a DWAN work station.

Course Dates, Course Material and Attendance

Course dates as advised on your loading message are firm. No exceptions will be made.

Candidates must attend all scheduled classes. Your attendance will be recorded. Candidates who miss more than 10% of the course will have their file reviewed by the training establishment. The files will be subjected to a Progress Review Board for failure to meet course requirements.

The training will consist of virtual classes, reading assignments and homework. Expect full working days of 8 hours of training per day. The course schedule will be available prior to the first day of the course. See Annex C for contact information.

Confirmation Message

Confirmation of your participation is to be forwarded NLT 21 days prior to the course start date by sending an e-mail to +CMRSJ-InstitutOsside@forces.gc.ca. Your e-mail must contained registration form and unit agreement form as requested in the loading message special instructions, Para 3, A.

Learning Disability Accommodation

Accommodations for learning disabilities can be requested in accordance with the DAOD 5516-5, Learning Disability Accommodation during Recruiting, Training and Education. All accommodation requests need to be approved by the Director – Personnel Generation Requirements through the candidate chain of command.

Academic Integrity

Reference: DAOD 5019-6 - Academic Misconduct

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is the use of another person's work without acknowledging the author/source with the intent to pass it off as your own. The verbatim or almost verbatim presentation of someone else’s work constitutes an example of plagiarism. This applies to paraphrasing or summarizing the work of others as well as direct quotations.

Cheating

Cheating is the act or attempt to give, receive, share or utilize unauthorized information or assistance before or during the writing of a text or examination. Examples of cheating include the presentation of work to more than one course member without the instructor’s permission or the improper acquisition of another member’s essay or work through theft, bribery, collusion or otherwise of an essay paper.

Other Cases of Academic Misconduct

Falsification or unauthorized modification of a training or educational certificate or other record as well as obstruction of the training or educational activities of another person are further examples of academic misconduct that will not be tolerated.

Consequences

Any academic misconduct could entail the following consequences:

  1. the ordering of the completion of an honest assignment;
  2. the removal from the course or institution;
  3. other administrative action in accordance with regulations, other DAODs, orders or instructions; and/or
  4. disciplinary action under the Code of Service Discipline.

If academic misconduct occurs, the Osside Institute Chief Instructor will initiate a Progress Review Board (PRB). The findings will be submitted to the candidate’s Unit for further action, if necessary.

Annexes

Annex A - Autobiography

In an effort to become better acquainted with you, you are we asked that you write an autobiography of approximately 500 words or more covering your career and personal life. This autobiography and a passport-style photograph (imbedded in the document) of yourself is to be submitted to your Directing Staff on the first day of the course.

The autobiography and photograph will be treated as Protected A and will be read only by the Directing Staff involved in your training.

The following are some points to consider in writing your autobiography:

  • Childhood:
    • place of birth
    • number of children in your family
  • Civilian Life/Education:
    • sports, athletic ability
    • type of school (private, public)
    • rural, urban
    • last completed academic year
    • additional civilian courses completed since enrolment
    • were you a member of an organization and in which capacity (cubs, scouts, cadets, student council)
    • the year in which you finished or quit school
    • marital status and family situation
  • Description of your military career:
    • completed career courses
    • employment type (technical or supervisory)
    • postings
    • expectation of the course

Your autobiography, with photograph, should be produced electronically in PDF format. A digital copy is to be submitted to the Directing Staff on the first day of the course.

Annex B - MOODLE & ZOOM Links and User Guide

Prior to the first day of training, please complete your registration to Moodle, install Zoom and familiarize yourself with how they work. The directions and links provided below will assist you with using the application. If you are having any issues or are unable to access either program prior to your course, please advise the Course Director as soon as possible so we can assist you (see Annex C for contact information). There will be no IT support from RMC Saint-Jean regarding any personal computer equipment.

Moodle:

You will require the following;

  1. Operating systems supported to date;
    • Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7
    • Mac OSX
    • Linux
  2. Recent and up-to-date browser;
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Safari
    • Edge
    • Internet Explorer (IE)
  3. An internet connection – broad band capability or wireless (3G or 4G/LTE)
  4. Device configured with camera, sound and microphone
  5. Download software required to view documents (Acrobat Reader)
  6. Follow the Moodle activation instructions found in the personal email
  7. Further information is available at https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Moodle_3.5_release_notes

Zoom:

You will require the following;

  1. Operating systems supported to date;
    • Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7
    • Mac OSX
    • Linux
  2. Recent and up-to-date browser;
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Safari
    • Edge
    • Internet Explorer (IE)
  3. Speakers and a microphone either integrated, powered by USB or wireless/Bluetooth
  4. Webcam or webcam HD either integrated, powered by USB or wireless/Bluetooth
  5. Further information is available at https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362023-Configuration-minimal

Annex C - Telephone Numbers

Institut Osside
Position Telephone or Email Cell phone
Osside Institute Director 450-358-6777 ext 5850 514-458-6321
Osside Institute Chief Instructor
SAP
450-358-6777 ext 5859 514-979-2920
Administration Officer CSN: 668-5734
Commercial: 450-358-6777 ext 5734
 
ILP Director CSN: 668-5858
Commercial: 450-358-6777 poste 5858
514-704-6207
ALP Director CSN: 668-5750
Commercial: 450-358-6777 ext 5750
 
SLP Director CSN: 668-5854
Commercial: 450-358-6777 ext 5854
438-340-8012
VL Administrator: julie.gauvreau@forces.gc.ca  
Date modified:

Instructions de ralliement - Apprentissage virtuel (AV)

Objectif

De fournir aux candidats inscrits sur les cours AV donnés par l’Institut de la profession des armes Adjudant-chef Robert-Osside (Institut Osside) au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) toute l’information nécessaire pour comprendre comment le cours virtuel vous sera livré ainsi que les coordonnées des personnes-clés à contacter afin d’obtenir de plus amples informations ou pour de l’aide. Visitez le site internet du CMR Saint-Jean sous « Études – Institut Osside » pour l’information à jour. De l’information supplémentaire vous sera aussi fournie lors du premier jour de cours.

Introduction au programmes

Les programmes sont donnés afin de développer les membres du rang (MR) séniors pour des postes demandant avec des responsabilités élevées de leadership.

Note : pour plus d’information, se référer aux descriptions de cours spécifique.

Contexte

Les normes de qualifications pour le PLI, PLA, PLS et PNS ont été approuvées par l’Académie canadienne de la défense qui assume la responsabilité de tous les cours communs de développement professionnel des FAC.

L’objectif de ces cours AV est de donner aux membres les outils, compétences et connaissances de base nécessaires afin qu’ils puissent remplir leurs fonctions au rang de M1/Adj, PM2/Adjum et PM1/Adjuc.

En raison de la pandémie du Covid-19, la mise en place des cours AV représente le changement le plus significatif dans l’approche prise par les FAC afin d’éduquer les membres du rang. Les cours AV font partie d’une stratégie d’accommodement durant la période de distanciation sociale. L’intention est de reprendre le cours en résidence sur le campus du CMR Saint-Jean quand cela sera jugé approprié et que les restrictions seront levées.

Durant l’intérim, tous les cours AV vont fournir aux candidats les connaissances requises afin de compléter avec succès la phase résidentielle du PLI, PLS et PNS (à l’exception du PLA qui est entièrement livré à distance. À cet effet, l’évaluation pour cette formation et éducation sera sur la base de « succès/échec » et les candidats doivent avoir préalablement complété la portion AD du programme avant de pouvoir être inscrits sur le cours AV.

Autobiographie (non applicable pour le PNS)

Chaque candidat devra écrire une autobiographie afin d’assister le personnel dirigeant dans la création du profil de l’étudiant, via la boite de dépôt dans Moodle, le premier jour du cours. Les candidats doivent écrire une autobiographie de 500 mots ou plus. Consultez l’annexe A pour plus de renseignements.

Feuille d’entrevue du candidat (PLI seulement)

Les candidats doivent compléter la feuille d’entrevue et la présenter à votre personnel dirigeant lorsqu’ils vous contacteront la semaine précédant le début du cours. Elle vous sera envoyée par votre personnel dirigeant

Tenue vestimentaire

Une tenue civile appropriée est autorisé pendant les programmes d’AV cependant aucun symbole ou écriture inappropriée sera accepté.

Support informatique

Les candidats recevront une invitation Moodle du CMR avant le début du cours. Lorsque vous créerez votre profile Zoom, assurez-vous d’inscrire seulement votre prénom et nom de famille. Les candidats devraient être familiers et inscrit avec les programmes MOODLE et ZOOM avant le début de la formation virtuelle. L’application Zoom doit avoir été téléchargée depuis internet sur un appareil qui n’est pas du RED. L’application est gratuite et peux être acquise depuis « Google Play » ou le « Apple App Store ». Elle peut être installée sur vos tablettes ou appareils mobiles. Voir l’annexe B afin de prendre connaissance des exigences minimales et autres informations additionnelles.

Système de gestion de l'apprentissage Moodle : Les cours AV se composent de programmes ordonnancés de lectures et de travaux qui sont donnés aux stagiaires selon une méthode exploitable sur le Web via le RAD.

RÉD : https://moodle.rmc.ca/login-fra.php
Internet : https://moodle.rmc.ca/login-fra.php

https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Moodle_3.5_release_notes

https://support.zoom.us/hc/fr/articles/201362023-Configuration-minimal

Note: Malgré les vulnérabilités identifiées sur ZOOM, l’Académie canadienne de la défense a approuvé son utilisation dans le cadre des directives de sécurité en vigueur à titre de média éducationnel.

Note: La plateforme Zoom n’est pas autorisée sur un poste de travail du RED.

Dates de cours, matériel et présence

Les dates inscrites sur votre message de cours sont fermes. Aucune exception ne sera faite.

Les candidats doivent être présents à chaque classe programmée. Votre présence sera suivie. Un candidat qui a manqué plus de 10% du cours verra son dossier révisé par l’établissement d’enseignement. Leur dossier sera transmis à un Comité d’évaluation des progrès pour non-respect des exigences du cours.

Votre formation comprendra des cours virtuels, des travaux de lecture et des devoirs. Attendez-vous à des journées de travail complètes de 8 heures de formation. L’horaire de cours sera disponible avant le premier jour du cours. Voir l’annexe C pour les coordonnées.

Message de confirmation

La confirmation de la participation des candidats doit être envoyée au plus tard 21 jours avant le début du cours par courriel à : +CMRSJ-InstitutOsside@forces.gc.ca. Ce courriel doit inclure le formulaire d'enregistrement et le formulaire d'acceptation d'unité, tel que demandé dans les instructions spéciale de votre message de cours, Para 3, A.

Mesures d’adaptation pour trouble d’apprentissage

Des mesures d’adaptation pour trouble d’apprentissage peuvent être demandées conformément à la DOAD 5516-5 Mesures d’adaptation pour trouble d’apprentissage lors du recrutement, de l’instruction et de l’éducation. Toutes les mesures d’adaptation doivent être approuvées par le Directeur – Besoins en production de personnel (DBPP) à travers la chaîne de commandement du candidat.

Inconduite dans les études

Référence : DOAD 5019-6 - Inconduite en milieu d’études

Le plagiat

Le plagiat correspond à l’utilisation du travail d’une autre personne sans mentionner l’auteur/source de ce travail avec l’intention de le faire passer pour sien. La présentation verbatim ou quasi verbatim du travail d’autrui est un exemple de plagiat. Ceci s’applique aussi au fait de paraphraser ou de résumer le travail d’autres personnes, tout comme à l’utilisation directe de citations.

La tricherie

La tricherie est le fait ou la tentative de donner, de recevoir, de partager ou d’utiliser des renseignements ou de l’aide non autorisés avant ou pendant la rédaction d’un texte ou d’un examen. Des exemples de tricherie sont la remise d’un même travail à plus d’un cours sans la permission des enseignants concernés, ou l’acquisition malhonnête d’un travail par le vol, la corruption, la connivence ou tout autre moyen similaire.

Autres cas d’inconduite dans les études

La falsification ou la modification non autorisée d’un certificat d’instruction ou d’éducation ou de tout autre document, de même que l’entrave aux activités d’instruction ou d’éducation d’autrui sont d’autres exemples de cas d’inconduite dans les études qui ne seront pas tolérés.

Conséquences

Toute inconduite dans les études peut entraîner les conséquences suivantes :

  1. l’obligation de rédiger un travail de reprise;
  2. le retrait du cours ou de l’établissement;
  3. toute autre mesure administrative conformément aux règlements, aux autres DOAD, aux ordonnances ou aux instructions;
  4. une mesure disciplinaire sous le régime du Code de discipline militaire.

Dans le cas d’inconduite dans les études, l'instructeur-chef de l’Institut Osside initiera un comité d’examen des progrès. Les conclusions du comité seront soumises à l’unité du candidat pour prendre action, si nécessaire.

Annexes

Annexe A - Autobiographie

Pour être en mesure de mieux vous connaître, on vous demande d'écrire une autobiographie d'environ 500 mots ou plus concernant votre carrière et votre vie personnelle. Cette autobiographie, accompagnée d’une photo de vous-même en format passeport (intégrée dans le document), doit être remise à votre personnel dirigeant le premier jour de cours.

Cette autobiographie et cette photo seront considérées Protégé A et ne seront lues que par les personnes responsables de votre formation.

Voici quelques points à considérer lors de la rédaction de votre autobiographie :

  • Enfance :
    • lieu de naissance
    • nombre d'enfants dans la famille
  • Vie civile/éducation :
    • sports, habilités athlétiques
    • type d'école (privée, publique)
    • rural, urbain
    • dernière année scolaire complétée
    • cours civils complétés depuis l'enrôlement
    • avez-vous appartenu à des organisations et à quel titre (scout, louveteaux, cadets, conseil étudiants)
    • dernière année académique complétée
    • état marital et situation familiale
  • Description de votre carrière militaire :
    • cours de carrière complétés
    • types d'emploi (technique ou supervision)
    • mutations
    • vos attentes concernant le cours?

Votre autobiographie et votre photo devraient être produites en format PDF. Une copie électronique doit être remise à votre personnel dirigeant la première journée du cours.

Annexe B - Liens et guide de l’utilisateur MOODLE et ZOOM

Vous aurez besoin de;

Moodle :

Avant le premier jour de formation, veuillez compléter votre inscription à Moodle, télécharger l’application Zoom et vous familiariser avec leurs fonctionnements. Les instructions et les liens ci-dessous vous aideront à utiliser les programmes. Si vous rencontrez des problèmes ou que vous ne parvenez pas à accéder à l’un ou l’autre des programmes avant votre cours, veuillez en informer le directeur du cours dès que possible afin que nous puissions vous aider (voir l’annexe C pour les coordonnées). Il n’y aura pas de support informatique du CMR Saint-Jean impliquant tout équipement informatique personnel.

  1. Systèmes d’exploitation pris en charge à ce jour;
    • Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7
    • Mac OSX
    • Linux
  2. Navigateur récent et à jour;
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Safari
    • Edge
    • Internet Explorer (IE)
  3. Une connexion internet – capacité à large bande ou sans-fil (3G ou 4G / LTE)
  4. Téléchargez le logiciel requis pour visualiser les documents (Acrobat Reader)
  5. Suivez les instructions comprises dans le courriel d’activation Moodle
  6. De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur https://docs.moodle.org/dev/Moodle_3.5_release_notes

Zoom :

Vous aurez besoin de;

  1. Systèmes d’exploitation pris en charge à ce jour;
    • Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7
    • Mac OSX
    • Linux
  2. Navigateur récent et à jour;
    • Chrome
    • Firefox
    • Safari
    • Edge
    • Internet Explorer (IE)
  3. Haut-parleurs et microphone intégrés, alimentés par USB ou sans-fil/Bluetooth
  4. Webcam or webcam HD intégrée, alimentée par USB ou sans-fil/Bluetooth
  5. De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur https://support.zoom.us/hc/fr/articles/201362023-Configuration-minimal

Annexe C - Liste téléphonique

Institut Osside
Position Téléphone ou courriel Cellulaire
Directeur de l'Institut Osside 450-358-6777 poste 5850 514-458-6321
Instructeur chef de l'Institut Osside
PNS
450-358-6777 poste 5859 514-979-2920
Officier d’administration RCCC : 668-5734
Commercial : 450-358-6777 poste 5734
 
Directeur PLI RCCC : 668-5858
Commercial : 450-358-6777 poste 5858
514-704-6207
Directeur PLA RCCC : 668-5750
Commercial : 450-358-6777 poste 5750
 
Directeur PLS RCCC : 668-5854
Commercial : 450-358-6777 poste 5854
438-340-8012
Administrateur AV : julie.gauvreau@forces.gc.ca  
Date de modification :