Royal Military College Saint-Jean Welcomes Honorary Colonel

December 12, 2014

Ottawa

Department of National Defence

The Royal Military College Saint-Jean is proud to announce that Mr. Geoff Molson has been appointed as its first honorary colonel (HCol) by the Honourable Rob Nicholson, PC, QC, MP for Niagara Falls and Minister of National Defence.

Colonel Carignan, Commandant of Royal Military College Saint-Jean, introduced HCol Molson to Royal Military College Saint-Jean officer cadets and staff at the traditional Troop Christmas Dinner.

Quick Facts

  • HCol Molson is the owner, President and CEO of the Club de hockey Canadien, Bell Center and Evenko and is involved in the numerous community initiatives of the team and the Montréal Canadiens Children’s Foundation.
  • HCol Molson sits on the Board of Directors of several non-profit organizations, including St. Mary’s Hospital Foundation.
  • Military service is not new to the Molson family. HCol Geoff Molson’s ancestor, Captain Percival Molson, was awarded the Military Cross for gallant leadership during the First World War and currently his brother, Andrew Molson, is the Honorary Colonel of the Royal Montréal Regiment.
  • Stemming from British military tradition, the Canadian tradition of honorary nominations at the unit level dates back a little more than a century. The very first person to be nominated as Honorary Colonel in Canada was Ontario government Secretary, the honourable Lieutenant-Colonel J.M. Gibson. He was nominated Honorary Colonel of 13 Infantry Battalion in 1895.

Quotes

"We are honoured to welcome Honorary Colonel Geoff Molson into the Defence team family. He is a highly respected member of the community, who will foster esprit de corps for our future leaders within the Royal Military College Saint-Jean.";

The Honourable Rob Nicholson, PC, QC, MP for Niagara Falls and Minister of National Defence

"We are very happy about Mr. Geoff Molson’s nomination as the first Honorary Colonel at the Royal Military College St-Jean. His leadership and engagement in the community are demonstrative of the values on which military service and the Royal Military College’s programs are founded."

Colonel Jennie Carignan, Commandant Royal Military College Saint-Jean

"I am honoured by the confidence that has been placed upon me in naming me as the first Honorary Colonel of the Royal Military College Saint-Jean. In this role, I commit to serve as an example for young officer cadets in preserving and honouring the traditions that are common to all and in promoting this prestigious institution’s motto: Truth – Duty – Valour."

Mr. Geoff Molson, Honorary Colonel Royal Military College Saint-Jean

Associated Links

Contacts

Joanna Quinney
Press Secretary to the Minister of National Defence
Office of the Minister of the Department of National Defence
(613) 996-3100

Media Relations
Department of National Defence
Phone: 613-996-2353
Toll-Free: 1-866-377-0811

Date modified:

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean accueille son colonel honoraire

Le 12 décembre 2014

Ottawa

Ministère de la Défense nationale

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est fier d’annoncer que monsieur Geoff Molson a été nommé premier colonel honoraire (Col honoraire) du Collège par l’honorable Rob Nicholson, c.p., c.r., député de Niagara Falls et ministre de la Défense nationale.

Le Col honoraire Molson a été présenté aux élèves-officiers ainsi qu’au personnel du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean par le colonel Jennie Carignan, commandant du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, lors du traditionnel dîner de Noël de la troupe.

En bref

  • Le Col honoraire Molson est le propriétaire, président et chef de la direction du Club de hockey Canadien, du Centre Bell et d’Evenko et il s’implique dans les nombreuses initiatives communautaires de l’équipe et de la Fondation des Canadiens pour l’enfance.
  • Le Col honoraire Molson siège au conseil d’administration de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif, dont la Fondation de l’Hôpital St. Mary’s.
  • Le service militaire n’est pas nouveau au sein de la famille Molson. L’un des ancêtres du Col honoraire Molson, le capitaine Percival Molson, s’est vu décerner la Croix militaire pour son courage et son leadership durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Par ailleurs, son frère, Andrew Molson, est en ce moment le colonel honoraire du Royal Montréal Regiment.
  • La tradition canadienne que constituent les nominations honorifiques au sein des unités est issue de la tradition militaire britannique et est instaurée au Canada depuis un peu plus d’un siècle. Le premier à être nommé au poste de colonel honoraire au Canada fut l’honorable lieutenant-colonel J.M. Gibson, un secrétaire provincial du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Il est devenu colonel honorifique du 13e Bataillon de l’Infanterie en 1895.

Citation

«Nous sommes honorés d’accueillir le colonel honoraire Geoff Molson dans la famille de l’Équipe de la Défense. Il est un membre très respecté de la communauté et contribuera à renforcer l’esprit de corps chez nos futurs leaders au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean.»

l’honorable Rob Nicholson, c.p., c.r., député de Niagara Falls et ministre de la Défense nationale.

«Nous sommes très heureux de la nomination de M. Geoff Molson à titre de premier colonel honoraire du Collège militaire royal de St-Jean. Son leadership et son engagement au sein de la communauté représentent bien certaines des valeurs sur lesquelles sont basées le service militaire et les programmes offerts au Collège militaire royal de St-Jean.»

Le colonel Jennie Carignan, commandante du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

«C’est un honneur et une belle preuve de confiance qui est placée en moi en étant fait le tout premier Colonel honoraire du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. À ce titre, je saurai être à la hauteur afin d’être un exemple pour les jeunes élèves-officiers en perpétuant les traditions communes à tous et en promouvant la devise de cette prestigieuse institution; Vérité, Devoir, Vaillance.»

M. Geoff Molson, colonel honoraire du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

Liens connexes

Contacts

Joanna Quinney
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Défense nationale
Bureau du ministre de la Défense nationale
(613) 996-3100

Relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Défense nationale
Téléphone : 613-996-2353
Sans frais : 1-866-377-0811

Date de modification :