International Symposium on the Development of Military Academies

June 1, 2017
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Quebec)
National Defence
Canadian Armed Forces

Royal Military College Saint-Jean today wrapped up the International Symposium on the Development of Military Academies (ISoDoMA) under the theme of developing general culture and a critical mind in the training of officers and non-commissioned members. The biennial event, held from 29 May to 1 June on the college campus, was open mainly to soldiers and civilians involved in the education of young officers at military academies.

Quotes

“The international forum was a resounding success at every level, including the debate and discussions surrounding the various aspects that military academies should consider, such as the training and education of officer cadets. It gave representatives of participating countries, officers, and researchers an opportunity to achieve the forum’s objectives.”

- Brigadier-General Virginia Tattersall, Deputy Commander, Military Personnel Generation

“The symposium emphasized the importance of developing cultural intelligence in the education provided for our young officer cadets, and raised awareness of our various programs and initiatives among our partners, such as the Military Training and Cooperation Program, our Centre for International Studies on the Profession of Arms, and the education provided for our non-commissioned members by the Chief Warrant Officer Osside Profession of Arms Institute.”

- Colonel Simon Bernard, Commandant, Royal Military College Saint-Jean

“ISoDoMA is a South Korean initiative that gives foreign representatives from various countries a chance to discuss the development of military academies every two years. Canada’s initiative of transforming the symposium and founding the International Association of Military Academies (IAMA) presents an opportunity to institutionalize dialogue and cooperation.”

- Lieutenant-General (Ret’d) Michel Maisonneuve, Academic Director, Royal Military College Saint-Jean

Quick Facts

  • Some 20 countries took part in the event this year: Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Colombia, the Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Republic of Korea, Lebanon, Poland, Peru, Qatar, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia and the United States.
  • The ISoDoMA symposiums have the following objectives:
    • To set up an international system for cooperation among military academies;
    • To design exchange and cooperative programs among military academies; and
    • To share relevant information on the progress of military academies.
  • ISoDoMA is organized jointly with the South Korean Military Academy.
  • The mission of Royal Military College Saint-Jean is to educate appropriately screened members of the Canadian Armed Forces to provide them with the required competencies to uphold excellence in the profession of arms.

Mr. Maisonneuve, Col Bernard, and few guests

Associated Links

RMC Saint-Jean Flickr
RMC Saint-Jean Facebook

Contacts

Naval Lieutenant Serge Tsoto
Public Affairs Officer
Royal Military College Saint-Jean
Phone: 450-358-6777 (5736)
Email: serge.tsoto@forces.gc.ca

Media relations
Department of National Defence
Tel.: 613-996-2353
Toll free: 1-866-377-0811
Email: mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date modified:

Symposium international sur le développement des académies militaires

Le 1er juin 2017
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec)
Défense nationale
Forces armées canadiennes

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean a clôturé aujourd’hui le Symposium international sur le développement des académies militaires (ISoDoMA) sous le thème du développement de la culture générale et de l’esprit critique dans la formation des officiers et des membres du rang. Cet événement biennal tenu du 29 au 1er juin derniers à son campus était ouvert principalement aux militaires et civils engagés dans l’éducation des jeunes officiers au sein des académies militaires.

Citations

« Ce forum international a été un franc succès à tous les niveaux dont les débats et échanges autour de thèmes relatifs à différents aspects que les académies militaires doivent considérer, y compris la formation et l’éducation des élèves-officiers. Il a permis aux représentants des pays participants, aux officiers, professeurs et chercheurs d’atteindre ses objectifs. »

- Brigadier-général Virginia Tattersall, commandante adjointe, Génération du personnel militaire

« Ce symposium fait valoir l’importance du développement de l’intelligence culturelle dans l’éducation offerte à nos jeunes élèves-officiers, et fait connaitre nos différents programmes et les initiatives à nos partenaires, comme le Programme d’instruction et de coopération militaire, notre Centre international des études de la profession des armes ainsi que l’éducation offerte à nos membres du rang par l’Institut de la profession des armes Robert-Osside. »

- Colonel Simon Bernard, commandant, Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

« IsoDoMA est une initiative de la Corée du sud qui a donné aux différents acteurs internationaux l’opportunité de discuter du développement des Académies militaires entre interlocuteurs de plusieurs pays tous les deux ans. L’initiative du Canada de transformer ce symposium et de fonder l’Association internationale des Académies militaires (AIAM) permettra d’institutionnaliser le dialogue et la coopération. »

- Lieutenant-général (ret) Michel Maisonneuve, directeur des études, Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

En bref

  • Une vingtaine de pays ont pris part à l’édition de cette année; soit l’Autriche, l’Allemagne, la Belgique, le Canada, la Chine, la Colombie, l’Équateur, l’Espagne, les États-Unis d’Amérique, la France, l’Irlande, l’Italie, la Pologne, le Qatar, la République de Corée, la Suède, la Tunisie, le Pérou, le Liban et la République Tchèque.
  • Les différents symposiums d’ISoDoMA poursuivent les objectifs suivan
    • la mise en place d’un système international de coopération entre les académies militaires;
    • la conception de programmes d’échanges et de coopération entre les académies militaires; et
    • l’échange d’informations valables sur les progrès des académies militaires.
  • ISoDoMA est un événement co-organisé par l’Académie militaire de la Corée du sud.
  • La mission du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est d’éduquer des membres dûment sélectionnés des Forces armées canadiennes afin de leur inculquer les compétences nécessaires au maintien de l’excellence dans la profession des armes.

M Maisonneuve, Col Bernard, et queslques invités

Liens pertinents

CMR Saint-Jean Flickr
CMR Sain-Jean Facebook

Contacts

Lieutenant de vaisseau Serge Tsoto
Officier des affaires publiques
Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean
Téléphone : 450-358-6777 (5736)
Courriel : serge.tsoto@forces.gc.ca

Relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Défense nationale
Tél. : 613-996-2353
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-377-0811
Courriel : mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date de modification :