Physical Performance Test

Physical Performance Test

Transcript

Title : Physical Performance Test

[We see a group of officer cadets lined up in the gym performing the shuttle run; the title of the video appears on the screen and then, in a sidebar, we see an officer cadet doing push-ups.]

[We see a sports trainer measuring an officer cadet’s blood pressure. We see officer cadets running in the gym, and then a student doing push-ups.]

The Physical Performance Test of the Canadian Royal Military Colleges consists of five tests that assess different components of fitness.

[We see an officer cadet performing the agility run, running between chairs positioned as obstacles. We see officer cadets doing sit-ups on mats, other students hold their feet to help them. Then we see an officer cadet doing a standing long jump, then a sports trainer measures the distance of the jump.]

The completed evaluation is being scored out of 500 points where each item is worth a maximum of 100 points. A minimum of 250 points is required to successfully complete the Canadian Military Colleges Physical Performance Test.

[We see a sports trainer taking notes on a score sheet. We see a dozen officer cadets doing the 20 m shuttle run in the gym and after, an officer cadet doing push-ups. A sports trainer is standing in front of him and looks at him work. We see an officer cadet racing the agility run, bypassing chairs positioned as obstacles. We see officer cadets doing sit-ups on mats, other students hold their feet to help them. We see an officer cadet performing a standing long jump, then a sports trainer measuring the distance of the jump.]

Five physical fitness components are evaluated through different testing items: the 20 meter shuttle run, push-ups, the agility run, sit-ups and a standing long jump.

[Ten officer cadets run across the gym several times in a row.]

The first event is the 20 meter shuttle run. This portion consists of running 20 meter laps at a pre-determined tempo, which increases every minute. The minimum standard for male is 9.5 levels and 7.5 levels for female.

[We see an officer cadet doing push-ups and a sports trainer crouched before him looking at him work. We then see a close-up shot of the student.]

The following test is the push-ups. During the test the candidates are required to perform their maximum push-up repetitions. There is no time limit for this test. The minimum standard for male is 28, and female is 14.

[We see an officer cadet racing the agility run, bypassing chairs positioned as obstacles. We then see a close-up of a student at the start of the race.]

The agility run is the third test. This test consists of sprinting six times 9 meters by weaving around four obstacles without touching any of them. Two trials are permitted and the best result is compiled. The minimum standard for male is 17.8 seconds and female is 19.4 seconds.

[We see four officer cadets doing sit-ups on a mat and then a close-up shot of one of these students and of another one holding his knees.]

Followed by sit-ups. This test consists of a two minute evaluation during which the candidates must perform their maximum repetitions of sit-ups according to the Canadian Forces protocol. The minimum standard is at least 35 sit-ups for male and female.

[We see officer cadets waiting for their turn to make a standing long jump. Ee see an officer cadet performing a jump, then the sports trainer measuring the distance, after which another one writes the result on a score sheet. We then see an officer cadet doing a standing long jump.]

Finally, the standing long jump. The officer cadets are required to jump from both feet without hopping. Two trials are permitted and the best result is compiled. The minimum standard for males is at least 1.95 meter and 1.46 meter for females.

[We see a group of officer cadets sitting on mats in the gym listening to the instructions of a sports trainer. We see officer cadets racing the shuttle run.]

The Canadian Military Colleges Physical Fitness Test is administered at two occasions during the academic year. This is a demanding test; it is necessary to train for success.

[We see a close-up shot of a badge on the sleeve of the uniform of an officer cadet. This badge represents two crossed clubs. We see a close-up shot of an officer cadet buttoning his scarlet, the traditional uniform of the Canadian Military Colleges. We see then see him putting on his hat.]

The officer cadets who achieve a score of 400 points or more receive a badge, representing crossed bat, they proudly display on their uniforms. The male and female officer cadets who achieved the highest score within their college year will receive an additional badge, representing a crown.

Date modified:

Test d'aptitudes physiques

Test d'aptitudes physiques

Transcription

Titre : est d'aptitudes physiques

[On voit un groupe d'élèves-officiers alignés dans le gymnase effectuant la course en navette, le titre de la vidéo apparaît et, dans un encadré, on voit un élève-officier qui fait des extensions des bras.]

[On voit un élève-officier qui fait prendre sa pression par un entraîneur sportif. On voit ensuite des élèves-officiers qui courent dans le gymnase, puis un élève qui fait des extensions des bras.]

Le test d'aptitude physique des Collèges militaires canadiens est composé de cinq épreuves qui évaluent différentes composantes de la condition physique.

[On voit un élève-officier qui fait la course d'agilité en courant entre des chaises positionnées comme des obstacles. On voit ensuite des élèves-officiers faisant des redressements assis sur des tapis; d'autres élèves leur tiennent les pieds pour les aider. On voit un élève-officier qui fait un saut en longueur sans élan, puis un entraîneur sportif en mesurer la distance.]

Une note sur 500 points, à raison de 100 points par composante, est accordée pour l'évaluation. La note de passage est de 250 points.

[On voit un entraîneur qui prend des notes sur une feuille de pointage. On voit ensuite une dizaine d'élèves-officiers qui font la course en navette de 20 mètres dans le gymnase. On voit un élève-officier qui fait des extensions des bras; un entraîneur sportif est accroupi devant lui et le regarde travailler. On voit ensuite un élève-officier qui fait la course d'agilité; il court en contournant des chaises positionnées comme des obstacles. On voit des élèves-officiers faisant des redressements assis sur des tapis, d'autres élèves leur tiennent les pieds pour les aider. Un élève-officier fait un saut en longueur sans élan, puis l'entraîneur sportif en mesurer la distance.]

Cinq composantes de la condition physique sont évaluées au moyen de différentes épreuves : la course en navette de 20 mètres, les extensions des bras, la course d'agilité, les redressements assis et le saut en longueur sans élan.

[Une dizaine d'élève-officier traversent le gymnase en courant plusieurs fois d'affilé.]

La première épreuve est la course en navette de 20 mètres. Il s'agit d'une navette faite à la course sur un parcours de 20 mètres de longueur à une cadence prédéterminée qui augmente toutes les minutes. Les hommes doivent atteindre un minimum de 9.5 paliers et les femmes, 7.5 paliers.

[On voit un élève-officier qui fait des extensions des bras et un entraîneur sportif accroupi devant lui qui le regarde travailler. On voit ensuite un plan rapproché de l'élève.]

S'ensuit les extensions des bras. Dans cette épreuve, les élèves-officiers doivent effectuer le maximum d'extensions des bras, de façon continue, conformément au protocole des Forces canadiennes. Il n'y a pas de limite de temps associée à cette épreuve. Les hommes doivent en faire au moins 28 et les femmes, 14.

[On voit un élève-officier qui fait la course d'agilité; il court en contournant des chaises positionnées comme obstacles. On voit ensuite un plan rapproché d'un élève au moment du départ de la course.]

La course d'agilité est la troisième épreuve. Cette épreuve consiste à sprinter six fois sur une distance de 9 mètres en contournant quatre obstacles sans les toucher. Deux essais sont permis et le meilleur des deux résultats est retenu. Les hommes doivent compléter la course en un temps maximum de 17.8 secondes et les femmes, en 19.4 secondes.

[On voit quatre élèves-officiers qui font des redressements assis sur un tapis, puis un plan rapproché d'un de ces élèves et d'un autre qui lui tient les genoux.]

Viennent ensuite les redressements assis. Cette épreuve consiste à effectuer, sur une période de deux minutes, le maximum de redressements assis conformément au protocole des Forces canadiennes. Les hommes et les femmes doivent en faire au moins 35.

[On voit des élèves-officiers qui attendent leur tour pour faire un saut en longueur sans élan, on voit ensuite un élève-officier qui fait un saut, puis un entraîneur sportif qui en mesure la distance et un autre qui inscrit le résultat sur une feuille de pointage. On voit ensuite un autre élève faire un saut.]

Finalement, le saut en longueur sans élan. Deux essais sont permis et le meilleur des deux résultats est retenu. Les hommes doivent atteindre au minimum 1mètre 95 et les femmes, 1 mètre 46.

[On voit un groupe d'élèves-officiers qui se reposent sur des tapis dans le gymnase en écoutant les directives d'un entraîneur. On voit des élèves-officiers qui font la course en navette.]

Le test d'aptitude physique des Collèges militaires canadiens est administré à deux reprises au cours de l'année scolaire. Il s'agit d'un test exigeant et il est nécessaire de s'entraîner pour le réussir.

[On voit un plan rapproché d'un insigne sur la manche de l'uniforme d'un élève-officier. Cet insigne représente deux massues croisées. On voit ensuite un plan rapproché d'un élève-officier en train de boutonner l'écarlate, l'uniforme traditionnel des Collèges militaires du Canada. On le voit ensuite mettre son chapeau.]

Les élèves-officiers qui obtiennent un résultat de 400 points ou plus reçoivent un insigne, représentant des massues croisées, qu'ils arborent fièrement sur leur uniforme. L'élève-officier masculin et féminin ayant obtenu le meilleur score de son année se verra remettre un insigne additionnel, représentant une couronne.

Date de modification :