Defence Minister Jason Kenney marks end of year at Royal Military College Saint-Jean

May 16, 2015

Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec

Department of National Defence

Defence Minister Jason Kenney attended the convocation ceremony at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean, celebrating the achievements of over 100 officer cadets who were presented with a college certificate or diploma yesterday evening. The end-of-year parade, attended by professors, officer cadets, College personnel and family members, was presided over by Lieutenant-General Guy Thibault.

Quick Facts

  • Royal Military College Saint-Jean ensures officer cadets a smooth transition from high school to university by providing college-level and first-year university programs in Science and Social Science. Each program is offered in the official language of candidates’ choice.
  • After completing their college-level programs at Royal Military College Saint-Jean, officer cadets will pursue their university studies at the Royal Military College of Canada, in Kingston, Ontario.
  • The mission of Royal Military College Saint-Jean is to educate duly selected Canadian Armed Forces members in order to instill them with the competencies required to maintain excellence in the profession of arms.

Quote

"I congratulate today’s Royal Military College Saint-Jean officer cadets on the completion of their academic year. This dynamic institution has provided the background for successful careers as commissioned officers in the Canadian Armed Forces through its curriculum, and its values. I wish you well in your future endeavours.";

The Honourable Jason Kenney, Minister of National Defence

"Today’s parade celebrates the well-deserved achievements of the graduating class of officer cadets at Royal Military College Saint-Jean. This institution provides officer cadets with a strong background in leadership, academia, sports, and bilingualism; developing the next generation of leaders within the Canadian Armed Forces. I thank those who have helped make this year possible."

Colonel Jennie Carignan, Royal Military College Saint-Jean Commandant

Associated Links

Contacts

Lauren Armstrong
Office of the Minister of National Defence
(613) 996-3100
Lauren.Armstrong2@forces.gc.ca

Media Relations
Department of National Defence
Phone: 613-996-2353
Toll-Free: 1-866-377-0811 Email: mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date modified:

Le ministre de la Défense, Jason Kenney, souligne la fin de l’année au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

Le 16 décembre 2015
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec)
Ministère de la Défense nationale

Hier soir, le ministre de la Défense, Jason Kenney, a assisté à la cérémonie de remise des diplômes au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, célébrant ainsi les réalisations de plus de 100 élèves-officiers qui se sont vu remettre un certificat d’études collégiales ou un diplôme. Le défilé de fin d’année, auquel ont assisté les professeurs, les élèves-officiers et les membres de leurs familles ainsi que le personnel du Collège, a été présidé par lieutenant général Guy Thibault.

Faits en bref

  • Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean assure aux élèves-officiers une transition progressive de l'école secondaire aux études universitaires grâce à des programmes de niveau collégial et de première année universitaire en sciences humaines et en sciences de la nature. Tous les programmes sont offerts dans la langue officielle au choix de l'étudiant.
  • Après avoir complété leur programme d’études collégiales au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, les élèves-officiers poursuivront leurs études universitaires au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston, en Ontario.
  • La mission du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est d’éduquer des membres dûment sélectionnés des Forces armées canadiennes afin de leur inculquer les compétences nécessaires au maintien de l’excellence dans la profession des armes.

Citation

« Je tiens à féliciter aujourd’hui les élèves-officiers du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean d’avoir complété leur année scolaire. Grâce à son programme d’enseignement et à ses valeurs, cette institution dynamique fournit les circonstances favorables à une brillante carrière en tant qu’officiers commissionnés dans les Forces armées canadiennes. Je vous souhaite bonne chance dans vos entreprises futures. »

L’honorable Jason Kenney, Ministre de la Défense nationale

« Le défilé d’aujourd’hui célèbre les réalisations bien méritées des élèves-officiers finissants du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. Cette institution permet aux élèves-officiers d’acquérir une solide formation en matière de leadership, d’éducation, de sports et de bilinguisme, formant ainsi la nouvelle génération de leaders au sein des Forces armées canadiennes. Je tiens à remercier ceux qui ont contribué à rendre cette année possible. »

Colonel Jennie Carignan, Commandant du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

Liens connexes

Personnes-ressources

Lauren Armstrong
Cabinet du ministre de la Défense nationale
613 996-3100
Lauren.Armstrong2@forces.gc.ca

Relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Défense nationale
Téléphone : 613-996-2353
Sans frais : 1-866-377-0811
Courriel : mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date de modification :