International Centre inaugurated at Royal Military College Saint-Jean

April 21, 2017
Ottawa
National Defence
Canadian Armed Forces

Defence Minister Harjit S. Sajjan announced today the appointment of Dr. Chantal Beauvais as Chair of the Royal Military College Saint-Jean Board of Governors. Dr. Beauvais will fill the position held by Lieutenant-General (retired) Richard J. Evraire since 2008.

Dr. Beauvais, who served as a Canadian Armed Forces chaplain, is also the rector of Saint Paul University in Ottawa.

Quotes

"Dr. Beauvais’s experience makes her a strong choice to lead the 18-member board providing me with critical advice and recommendations as I fulfil my role as Chancellor and President of the College."

- Harjit S. Sajjan, Defence Minister

“The success of Canadian Military Colleges helps us ensure the future officers of the Canadian Armed Forces are well-prepared to successfully lead our women and men. I am confident that Dr. Beauvais will help provide a high standard of preparation for our future leaders.”

- General Jonathan Vance, Chief of the Defence Staff

Quick Facts

  • Royal Military College Saint-Jean is a prime location for learning, providing high-quality education for future officers of the Canadian Armed Forces. The college-level curriculum prepares cadets to pursue their university studies at the Royal Military College of Canada, in Kingston, Ontario.
  • The term of office of the Chair of the Board of Governors is four years and it may be renewed once.
  • In May 2016, the Department of National Defence announced to the House of Commons that the Government of Canada intends to give Royal Military College Saint-Jean full academic (degree-granting) status.

Associated Links

Royal Military College Saint-Jean: http://www.cmrsj-rmcsj.forces.gc.ca/index-eng.asp

Contacts

Media relations
Department of National Defence
Tel.: 613-996-2353
Toll free: 1-866-377-0811
Email: mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date modified:

Une nouvelle présidente au Conseil des gouverneurs du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean

Le 21 avril 2017
Ottawa
Défense nationale
Forces armées canadiennes

Le ministre de la Défense Harjit S. Sajjan a annoncé aujourd’hui la nomination de Mme Chantal Beauvais à la présidence du Conseil des gouverneurs du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. Mme Beauvais prendra ainsi la relève du lieutenant-général (retraité) Richard J. Evraire, qui exerçait cette fonction depuis 2008.

Mme Beauvais, qui a servi comme aumônière dans les Forces armées canadiennes, est aussi la rectrice de l’Université Saint-Paul d’Ottawa.

Citations

« L’expérience acquise par Mme Beauvais fait d’elle un choix judicieux pour diriger les 18 membres du Conseil, qui me donnent de précieux conseils et formulent des recommandations à mon intention dans le cadre de mes fonctions de chancelier et président du Collège. »

- Harjit S. Sajjan, ministre de la Défense

« Grâce à l’excellence des collèges militaires canadiens, nous pouvons nous assurer que les futurs officiers des Forces armées canadiennes sont bien préparés à diriger avec brio nos militaires. Je suis convaincu que Mme Beauvais contribuera au maintien de critères élevés en ce qui concerne la formation de nos futurs dirigeants. »

- Le général Jonathan Vance, chef d’état-major de la Défense

En bref

  • Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est une institution d’enseignement de premier plan qui offre une éducation de grande qualité aux futurs officiers des Forces armées canadiennes. Le programme collégial prépare les élèves-officiers à poursuivre leurs études universitaires au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston (Ontario).
  • Le président du Conseil des gouverneurs a un mandat de quatre ans, renouvelable une fois.
  • En mai 2016, le ministère de la Défense nationale a annoncé à la Chambre des communes que le gouvernement du Canada a l’intention de donner au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean un statut universitaire (qui décerne des diplômes) complet.

Liens pertinents

Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean : http://www.cmrsj-rmcsj.forces.gc.ca/index-fra.asp

Contacts

Relations avec les médias
Ministère de la Défense nationale
Tél. : 613-996-2353
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-377-0811
Courriel : mlo-blm@forces.gc.ca

Date de modification :