Osside Institute

Mission

Provide senior non-commissioned members of the Canadian Armed Forces with the competencies and knowledge necessary to embody leadership that is centered on fostering the highest standards of the profession of arms.

Vision

The Chief Warrant Officer Robert Osside Profession of Arms Institute is the centre of excellence of professional military education for senior non-commissioned members of the Canadian Armed Forces and our allied partners.

About Osside Institute

Initially established in 2003 as the Non-Commissioned Member Professional Development Center (NCMPDC), the Chief Warrant Officer Robert Osside Profession of Arms Institute (Osside Institute) was later integrated in to Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) in 2014.

The Osside Institute was named in honour of CWO Robert Osside, who was the first Canadian Forces Chief Warrant Officer, serving in that capacity from 1978 until 1982.

The Osside Institute offers four professional development programmes to senior non-commissioned members who are called upon to take institutional responsibility. These first-rate programmes allow them to develop their knowledge and leadership at key moments in their career.

The education provided to our Senior NCMs is delivered through four distinct programs relevant to specific ranks. They are:

Through its distance learning and residential learning programs, the Osside Institute welcomes nearly 3000 candidates annually.

Osside Institute Professional Development Program (OIPEP)

The Osside Institute also offers the Osside Institute Professional Development Program (OIPEP). This program allows selected PO1/WOs to participate in a university-level program leading to an undergraduate certificate in International Studies for a full year alongside officer cadets and navel cadets. After the successful completion of the program, some candidates may be selected to remain with The Osside Institute as staff. If you are interested in the program, contact your career manager.

The Need for Non-Commissioned Member Professional Development

The critical importance of education, both academic and professional, is well documented in a number of studies undertaken over the last thirty years, such as Defence Strategy 2020, Officership 2020, and NCM Corps 2020. In order to operate effectively in a complex military environment, all members of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) require crucial intellectual skills and specific competencies.

The CAF requires officers and non-commissioned members (NCMs) with outstanding intellectual ability, capable of effective command, and who have the leadership and management skills required in an increasingly uncertain world. This development can only occur in an intellectually stimulating environment, one that recognizes that the knowledge, skills and attitudes required to sustain military performance are achieved through a continuous learning experience that combines training, education, work experience and self-development.

Chief Warrant Officer Robert Osside

CWO Osside enrolled in the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) in 1949. He was posted to the three battalions of the Royal 22e Regiment. Throughout his career, he served with distinction at Canadian Forces bases in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Valcartier, Wainwright, Borden, Gagetown, and Ottawa, to which must be added a total of nine years in Germany. He was deployed to Korea (1952-1953) and Cyprus (1968-1969). Promoted to CWO in 1974, he served as the Infantry Corps Career Manager and then as the 1st Battalion R22eR Regimental Sergeant-Major. CWO Osside was appointed as the first CAF Chief Warrant Officer in July of 1978, holding the position until July 1982.

His place in the CAF history is undeniably significant to today’s non-commissioned members Corps. His appointment represented an elevation in the status held by non-commissioned members in the CAF up to that point. This milestone was arguably one major step towards recognition of the non-commissioned members as members of the profession of arms. CWO Osside passed away on 4 November 2010.

Date modified:

Institut Osside

Mission

Fournir aux militaires du rang supérieurs des Forces armées canadiennes les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour incarner un leadership axé sur la promotion des normes les plus élevées de la profession des armes.

Vision

L’Institut de la profession des armes adjudant-chef Robert-Osside est le centre d’excellence de la formation militaire professionnelle pour les militaires du rang supérieurs des Forces armées canadiennes et de nos partenaires alliés.

À propos de l’Institut Osside

Créé initialement en 2003 sous le nom de Centre de perfectionnement professionnel des militaires du rang, l’Institut de la profession des armes adjudant-chef Robert-Osside (Institut Osside) a été intégré au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean en 2014.

L’Institut Osside a aussi été nommé en l’honneur de l’Adjuc Robert Osside, le tout premier adjudant-chef des Forces canadiennes à occuper cette fonction de 1978 à 1982.

L’Institut Osside offre quatre programmes de perfectionnement professionnel aux MR supérieurs qui sont appelés à assumer des responsabilités institutionnelles. Ces programmes de premier ordre leur permettent de développer leurs connaissances et leur leadership à des moments clés de leur carrière.

La formation offerte à nos MR supérieurs est répartie en quatre programmes préparant les MR à assumer les responsabilités associées à des grades spécifiques. Ces programmes sont les suivants :

Ces programmes, offerts à distance et en présentiel, permettent à l’Institut Osside d’accueillir et de former chaque année plus de 2500 candidats de partout à travers le Canada.

Programme de développement professionnel de l’Institut Osside (PEPIO)

L’Institut Osside offre également le Programme de développement professionnel de l’Institut Osside (PEPIO). Ce programme qui consiste en une année d’études universitaires menant au certificat en études internationale permet aux M 1/adj sélectionnés de compléter un programme de niveau universitaire aux côtés d’élèves-officiers et d’aspirants de marine. Après avoir terminé le programme avec succès, certains candidats peuvent être sélectionnés pour rester au sein de l'Institut Osside en tant que personnel. Si vous êtes intéressé par ce programme, contactez votre gestionnaire de carrière.

Les besoins en perfectionnement professionnel des militaires du rang

L’importance cruciale de l’éducation, tant d’un point de vue académique que de celui du perfectionnement professionnel, a été documentée dans plusieurs études publiées au cours des trente dernières années, comme Stratégie de défense 2020, Officier 2020 et Le corps des MR 2020. Afin d’opérer efficacement dans un environnement militaire complexe, tous les membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) doivent avoir développé des aptitudes intellectuelles cruciales et des compétences spécifiques.

Les FAC ont besoin d’officiers et de militaires du rang (MR) dotés de capacités intellectuelles exceptionnelles, capables d’exercer un commandement efficace et possédant les compétences en matière de leadership et de gestion requises pour évoluer dans un monde de plus en plus complexe et incertain. Ce développement ne peut se faire que dans un environnement intellectuellement stimulant, où l’on reconnaît que c’est une expérience d’apprentissage continu combinant formation, éducation, expérience professionnelle et autoperfectionnement qui permet d’acquérir les connaissances, les compétences et les attitudes requises pour soutenir la performance militaire.

Adjudant-chef Robert Osside

L’Adjuc Robert Osside s’est enrôlé dans les Forces armées canadiennes (FAC) en 1949. Il a été affecté dans les trois bataillons du Royal 22e Régiment. Tout au long de sa carrière, il a servi avec distinction dans les bases des Forces canadiennes de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Valcartier, Wainwright, Borden, Gagetown et Ottawa, auxquelles s’ajoute un total de neuf ans en Allemagne. L’Aduc Osside a été déployé en Corée (1952-1953) et à Chypre (1968-1969). Promu adjuc en 1974, il a été gestionnaire des carrières du Corps d’infanterie, puis sergent-major régimentaire du 1er Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment. L’Adjuc Osside est nommé premier adjudant-chef des FAC en juillet 1978, poste qu’il occupe jusqu’en juillet 1982.

Sa place dans l’histoire des Forces armées canadiennes est indéniablement importante pour le corps des militaires du rang d’aujourd’hui. Sa nomination a représenté une élévation du statut des militaires du rang dans les FAC jusqu’à ce moment-là. Ce jalon a été sans contredit un pas important vers la reconnaissance des militaires du rang comme membres de la profession des armes. L’Adjuc Osside est décédé le 4 novembre 2010.

Date de modification :