Backgrounder

The new Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) was inaugurated on 24 May 2008, fulfilling a promise by the Government to re-open this important institution and true national emblem. Royal Military College Saint-Jean is located on the site of Fort Saint-Jean, a heritage site that has borne witness to the vast military history of the French and British Regimes as well as that of Canada.

The Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) is part of the re-focused Canadian Defence Academy (CDA), which continues to exist now as an 'education group' composed of the Royal Military College of Canada (RMCC), the RMC Saint-Jean Saint-Jean, and the Canadian Forces College (CFC).

As per its 2003 Charter, CDA exists to champion lifelong learning, and to promote the professional development of members of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF). CDA – within the Military Personnel Generation (MILPERSGEN) Formation ─ will continue to devote efforts to ensure that the Canadian Armed Forces Profession of Arms and Professional Development System remains credible and affordable.

MILPERSGEN has a broader mandate with the mission of leading the CAF personnel generation system to uphold distinction in the Profession of Arms.

HISTORY

Royal Military College Saint-Jean, formerly known as Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR), opened in 1952; it was then the only Canadian institution offering education in French to officer cadets. From the beginning, bilingualism was a key element of the institution. In April 1971, an affiliation with Université de Sherbrooke was ratified and the agreement allowed CMR to award bachelor's degrees from this institution. In 1985, CMR was granted the right to give university-level diplomas. Between the closure of the College in 1995 and its re-opening in 2008, military education activities were maintained on the site managed by the Corporation du Fort Saint-Jean; among them, the Preparatory Year for officer cadets under Richelieu Squadron. The site would also host the Canadian Forces Learning and Development Center, an organization responsible for the Canadian Forces Language School, the Canadian Forces Management Development School and the Non-Commissioned Member Professional Development Center. The inauguration ceremony of the Royal Military College Saint-Jean that took place in May 2008 marked a new start for this educational institution and true national emblem.

MISSION AND EDUCATION

The mission of Royal Military College Saint-Jean is to educate duly selected CAF members in order to instill them with the competencies required to maintain excellence in the profession of arms.

PROGRAMMES

Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) ensures officer and naval cadets a seamless transition from high school to university by providing college-level courses in Social Science and Science. Each programme is offered in both official languages. These two years are referred to as the Preparatory Year and First Year. RMC Saint-Jean also offers an undergraduate programme in International Studies.

Preparatory Year

Prep Year is equivalent to grade 12 in most provinces and to the first year of college-level studies (CEGEP) in Quebec. The CEGEP programme is the normal entry point into the Canadian Military Colleges (CMC) for Quebec high-school graduates.

First Year

This academic year provides the necessary credits and prerequisites for university-level programmes offered at Royal Military College of Canada (RMCC) in Kingston.

After completing their Preparatory Year and First Year at RMC Saint-Jean , officer and naval cadets who meet all the requirements of the Quebec Department of Education receive a diploma of college studies (DCS). Officer and naval cadets then pursue their studies at RMC in Kingston or may continue in the International Studies programme offered at RMC Saint-Jean.

Officer and naval cadets who complete First Year at RMC Saint-Jean will have the necessary credits and prerequisites to continue toward an undergraduate degree beginning in the Second Year at RMC in Kingston or RMC Saint-Jean.

Undergraduate Program

Bachelor’s Degree in International Studies

As of August 2018, RMC Saint-Jean has been offering a baccalaureate in International Studies. This program addresses major global issues that future officers will face in the course of their profession. Officer cadets will benefit from the multidisciplinary nature of the program, which will prepare them for dealing with complex situations involving relations between states, international development, security issues, and international issues pertaining to various disciplines: political science, history, geography, economic science, law, sociology, anthropology, communication, psychology, literature, and more.

OFFICER and NAVAL CADETS

Officer and navel cadets at Royal Military College Saint-Jean come from across Canada. These young men and women form the Cadet Wing in which the two linguistic groups are represented.

LEADERSHIP

The life of an officer or naval cadet at Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) starts with the Orientation Programme (OP), which is an introduction to military life. This programme takes place before the start of the school year and allows officer and naval cadets to learn how to function within the military system. This training is pursued during the academic year through typical military activities. During the summer preceding and following the first academic year, officer and naval cadets receive Basic Military Officer Qualification (BMOQ) training at the Canadian Forces Leadership and Recruit School, a training of twelve cumulative weeks at the Saint-Jean Garrison.

The military programme at Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) is structured to develop the leadership skills of officer and naval cadets. The officer and naval cadets form the Cadet Wing which is divided into squadrons; these squadrons are then divided into sections. There is currently four squadrons, Richelieu, Iberville, Jolliet and Tracy. Under the direction of experienced military members, this hierarchy governs the life of officer and naval cadets. Senior officer and naval cadets are entrusted with command positions in the Cadet Wing and are responsible for the officer and naval cadet's daily activities.

MOTTO

"Truth - Duty - Valour" is the powerful motto of the Canadian Military Colleges (CMC). These words reflect the ethical foundation of the instruction provided at CMC inspired by the ideals of integrity, self-discipline and courage.

FORT SAINT-JEAN MUSEUM

For many years, the Fort Saint-Jean Museum has welcomed visitors, both civilian and military, from across Canada. The Museum presents the rich history of Fort Saint-Jean, which is one of only two locations in Canada (the other being Québec City) to have maintained a military presence since the French Regime was instituted.

Lt(N) Delphine Bonnardot
Royal Military College Saint-Jean Public Affairs Officer
(450) 358-6777 ext. 5733

Date modified:

Document d'information

Le nouveau Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) a été inauguré le 24 mai 2008 en vertu de l'engagement du gouvernement à rouvrir cette prestigieuse institution d'enseignement, véritable emblème national. Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est situé sur le site du Fort Saint-Jean, lieu patrimonial dont la vaste histoire militaire est témoin des régimes français et britannique ainsi que de l'histoire canadienne.

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) fait partie de l'Académie canadienne de la Défense (ACD) recentrée qui continue d'exister aujourd'hui comme « groupe de l'éducation », composé du Collège militaire royal du Canada (CMRC), du CMR Saint-Jean et du Collège des Forces canadiennes (CFC).

Selon sa Charte 2003, l’ACD existe pour défendre l'apprentissage continu, et de promouvoir le perfectionnement professionnel des membres des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC). L’ACD - au sein de la formation Génération du personnel militaire (GÉNPERSMIL) ─ continuera de consacrer des efforts pour assurer que la profession des armes et le perfectionnement professionnel des FAC demeurent crédibles et abordables.

GÉNPERSMIL a un mandat plus large avec la mission de diriger le système de génération du personnel des FAC en assurant la distinction au sein de la profession des armes.

HISTORIQUE

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, anciennement connu sous le nom de CMR, ouvre ses portes en 1952; le Collège est alors la seule institution canadienne à offrir une formation en français aux futurs officiers. Dès l'ouverture, le bilinguisme est mis à l'avant plan. En avril 1971, une affiliation est ratifiée avec l'Université de Sherbrooke et l'entente permet de sanctionner la fin des études par un baccalauréat remis par cette institution. En 1985, le CMR se voit octroyer le droit de décerner ses propres diplômes. Entre la fermeture du Collège en 1995 et sa réouverture en 2008, des activités d'enseignement militaires se poursuivent sur le site géré par la Corporation du Fort Saint-Jean, dont l'Année préparatoire des élèves-officiers sous la tutelle de l'Escadron Richelieu. Pendant cette période, le site héberge également le Centre d'apprentissage et de perfectionnement des Forces canadiennes, une organisation qui chapeaute l'École de langues des Forces canadiennes, l'École de perfectionnement en gestion des Forces canadiennes et le Centre de perfectionnement professionnel des militaires du rang. La réouverture du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean en 2008 marque un nouveau départ pour cette institution d'enseignement qui demeure un véritable emblème national.

MISSION ET FORMATION

La mission du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean est d’éduquer des membres dûment sélectionnés des FAC afin de leur inculquer les compétences nécessaires au maintien de l’excellence dans la profession des armes.

PROGRAMMES

Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) assure aux élèves-officiers et aux aspirants de marine une transition progressive de l'école secondaire aux études universitaires par le biais de programmes de niveau collégial en sciences humaines et en sciences de la nature. Tous les programmes sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles. D'une durée de deux ans, ces programmes sont constitués de l'Année préparatoire et de la Première année. Le CMR Saint-Jean offre également un programme de baccalauréat en études internationales.

Année préparatoire

L'Année préparatoire est équivalente à la 12e année dans la plupart des provinces canadiennes et à la première année d'études collégiales (CEGEP) au Québec. Elle est l'exigence normale pour le début des études au sein des Collèges militaires canadiens pour les élèves du secondaire du Québec.

Première année

Cette deuxième année de niveau collégial est conçue pour offrir des cours équivalents à la première année universitaire au Collège militaire royal du Canada (CMR).

Les élèves-officiers et aspirants de marine qui remplissent toutes les conditions du ministère de l'Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur du Québec obtiennent un diplôme d'études collégiales (DEC) au terme de leurs deux années scolaires, et ont tous les crédits et les préalables nécessaires pour entreprendre ensuite leur programme universitaire au CMR à Kingston ou au CMR Saint-Jean dans le programme d’études internationales.

Les élèves-officiers et aspirants de marine originaires de provinces autres que le Québec qui débutent le programme d’études au CMR Saint-Jean en Première année auront eux aussi tous les crédits et les préalables nécessaires pour entreprendre ensuite leur programme universitaire au CMR à Kingston ou au CMR Saint-Jean.

Formation universitaire

Baccalauréat en Études internationales

Depuis août 2018, le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean offre un baccalauréat en Études internationales. Ce programme traite des grands enjeux mondiaux auxquels seront confrontés les futurs officiers dans l’exercice de leur profession. L’élève-officier tirera profit du caractère multidisciplinaire du programme qui le préparera à évoluer dans des situations complexes impliquant les relations entre États, le développement international, les enjeux de sécurité ainsi que toute question internationale relevant de différentes disciplines – science politique, histoire, géographie, science économique, droit, sociologie, anthropologie, communication, psychologie, littérature, etc.

ÉLÈVES-OFFICIERS et ASPIRANTS DE MARINE

Les élèves-officiers et les aspirants de marine du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean proviennent de partout au Canada. Ces jeunes hommes et femmes forment une escadre au sein de laquelle les deux groupes linguistiques sont représentés.

LEADERSHIP

Au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean), la vie d'un élève-officier et d’un aspirant de marine commence par le programme d'orientation (PO), qui est une introduction à la vie militaire. Ce programme, qui se déroule avant le début de l'année scolaire, permet aux élèves-officiers et aux aspirants de marine d'apprendre à fonctionner à l'intérieur du système militaire. Par la suite, ces enseignements sont approfondis durant l'année à l'aide d'activités typiquement militaires. Durant la saison estivale, avant et après la première année scolaire, les élèves-officiers et les aspirants de marine reçoivent une formation militaire de base à l'École de leadership et de recrues des Forces canadiennes (ELRFC) à la Garnison Saint-Jean, soit la Qualification militaire de base des officiers (QMBO), d'une durée de douze semaines cumulatives.

Le programme militaire du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) est structuré de manière à développer le leadership des élèves-officiers et des aspirants de marine. Ces derniers forment l'Escadre des élèves-officiers, qui est divisée en escadrons et ensuite en sections. Présentement, il y a quatre escadrons, Richelieu, Iberville, Jolliet et Tracy. Sous la direction de militaires d'expérience, cette hiérarchie régit la vie des élèves-officiers et des aspirants de marine. Les élèves-officiers et les aspirants de marine séniors se voient confier des postes de commandement et sont responsables de la bonne conduite des activités journalières des élèves-officiers et des aspirants de marine.

DEVISE DES CMC

« Vérité - Devoir - Vaillance » est la devise puissante des deux Collèges militaires canadiens (CMC). Ces mots reflètent les fondements éthiques de la formation donnée aux élèves-officiers aux CMC, fondements s'inspirant des idéaux que représentent l'intégrité, l'autodiscipline et le courage.

MUSÉE DU FORT SAINT-JEAN

Le Musée du Fort Saint-Jean accueille depuis plusieurs années de nombreux visiteurs de partout au Canada, tant militaires que civils, afin de leur présenter la riche histoire du site du Fort Saint-Jean qui est, avec la ville de Québec, le seul endroit au Canada à maintenir une présence militaire continue depuis le Régime français.

Lt(N) Delphine Bonnardot
Officier des affaires publiques du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean
(450) 358-6777 poste 5733

Date de modification :