Special Editions

Articles published in special editions are provided by external sources. The Government of Canada and Royal Military College Saint-Jean declines all responsibility with regard to accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Those who wish to use this information should consult the source directly. Content provided by external sources is not subject to legal requirements pertaining to official languages, privacy and accessibility.

You will find in this section various special editions featuring articles promoting debate of ideas in all fields, with an emphasis on military matters.

Page couverture

Special Edition No 3 - Technology

Technology is a defining feature of our contemporary world and is responsible for incredible advances of human development and which continues to accelerate at an unprecedented pace. This Special Issue of the Blue Knight examines how technology is affecting human society on multiple fronts. The main focus of this Special Edition is on security writ large with themes on the utilities and dangers of Artificial Intelligence (AI), the pressing need to secure public spaces, planetary food security and the implications of safeguarding democracy in a digital future. Other themes include the skills necessary to make sense of and navigate our tumultuous information spaces, including the institutional implications of developing a cyber-capacity and being aware of media bias within information war. These diverse contributions seek to provide concise wisdom about specific issues which hopefully can be of use to academics and practitioners alike. However, it is understood these articles are snapshots in time and it is hoped that these reflections contribute to iterative conversations about the role of technology and how it should be productively harnessed for our collective future.

 
Cover

Special Edition No 2 - Systems Thinking and Design

This Special Edition of the Blue Knight is an outgrowth project of the April 2017 Systems Thinking and Design Symposium, “Breaking Down Silos and Uniting Stakeholders”, held at Royal Military College Saint-Jean and co-hosted with the Center for National Security Studies. In being co-hosted by two Canadian military entities, the subjects were approached from a military perspective, however, effort was made to include international military, Other Government Departments (OGD) and private sector participation. Overall, it attempted to unite members of the Canadian government and partners who share a common appreciation or usage of some aspect of Systems Thinking and/or Design. This Special Edition contains this same objective, as well as to capture learning from the Workshop in a permanent and transportable manner and to capitalize on the momentum of the event to foster discussion and research.

 
Cover

Special Edition No 1 - The Profession of Arms

This special edition presents a broad range of perspectives on the profession of arms. It is a unique opportunity to showcase written contributions of non-commissioned members. Central to this section is the paper of Canadian Forces Chief Warrant Officer Kevin West on the importance of fostering an educational culture at the Chief Warrant Officer Robert Osside Profession of Arms Institute. This position paper intends to further the debate on the importance of a dynamic learning culture for NCMs as members of the Profession of Arms. This section also presents three papers written by students of the Senior Appointment Program on the challenges of being a senior appointee Chief Warrant Officer in the CAF. Finally, a paper by a Royal Canadian Air Force senior NCM discusses the position and rank of Chief Warrant Officer in the CAF. Hopefully, this section will spark a debate on these issues but also encourage other NCMs to put pen to paper and publish their valuable thoughts.

 
Date modified:

Éditions spéciales

Les articles publiés dans les éditions spéciales sont fournis par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada et le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean n'assument aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent utiliser cette information devraient consulter directement la source. Le contenu fourni par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences de la législation sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Vous trouverez dans cette section diverses éditions spéciales contenant des articles favorisant le débat d'idées dans tous les domaines en accordant une attention particulière aux questions militaires.

Page couverture

Édition spéciale No 3 - La technologie

La technologie est une caractéristique déterminante du monde contemporain. Elle est à l'origine d'incroyables avancées du développement humain et continue de s'accélérer à un rythme sans précédent. Ce numéro spécial de la Revue du Cavalier Bleu examine de quelle manière la technologie affecte la société sur de multiples fronts. L'accent est mis sur la sécurité au sens large, en abordant les avantages et les dangers de l'intelligence artificielle (IA), le besoin urgent de sécuriser les espaces publics, la sécurité alimentaire planétaire et ce qu’implique la sauvegarde de la démocratie dans un avenir numérique. D'autres thèmes incluent les compétences nécessaires pour comprendre et naviguer dans nos espaces d'information tumultueux, y compris les implications institutionnelles liées à la croissance d’une cybercapacité et la prise de conscience de la partialité des médias dans la guerre de l'information. Ces diverses contributions visent à fournir des avis raisonnables et succincts sur des questions précises qui, nous l'espérons, pourront être utiles aux universitaires et aux praticiens. Toutefois, il est entendu que ces articles sont situés dans le temps et nous espérons qu’ils contribueront à nourrir les conversations à venir sur le rôle de la technologie et la façon dont elle devrait être exploitée de manière productive pour notre avenir collectif.

 
Page couverture

Édition spéciale No 2 - La pensée systémique et design

Cette édition spéciale du Cavalier Bleu s’inscrit en continuité avec le colloque sur la pensée systémique tenu en avril 2017 au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean sous le thème de «Briser les barrières et rapprocher les intervenants», tenu au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean en collaboration avec le Centre des études pour la sécurité nationale. Le colloque étant co-organisé par deux entités militaires canadiennes, les sujets ont été abordés d'un point de vue militaire; toutefois, des efforts ont été faits pour inclure une participation militaire internationale et des perspectives des autres ministères ainsi que du secteur privé. Dans l'ensemble, l’évènement a tenté de rassembler les membres du gouvernement canadien et les partenaires partageant une appréciation ou un usage commun de certains aspects de la pensée systémique et de la conception. Cette édition spéciale poursuit ce même objectif rassembleur, auquel s’ajoute celui de capturer et de rendre accessible les apprentissages qui se dégagent des ateliers afin d’élargir les horizons de la discussion et de la recherche.

 
Page couverture

Édition spéciale No 1 - La profession des armes

Cette édition spéciale présente un large éventail de perspectives sur la profession des armes. C’est une occasion unique de mettre en valeur les contributions écrites des militaires du rang. L’exposé de l’Adjudant-chef des Forces armées canadiennes, Kevin West, constitue le pivot de cette section. Il porte sur l’importance de promouvoir la culture éducationnelle à l’Institut de la profession des armes Robert Osside. Dans cet exposé de position, l’Adjudant-chef West défend la nécessité d’implanter une réelle culture d’apprentissage pour les membres du rang afin de consolider la profession des armes au Canada. La section présente également trois travaux rédigés par les étudiants du programme de nomination supérieure sur les défis reliés à leur poste au sein des FAC. Enfin, un article rédigé par un adjudant-chef de l’aviation royale canadienne aborde les enjeux relié au poste et au grade d’adjudant-chef dans les FAC. Ces quatre articles devraient nourrir la réflexion sur le rôle des adjudants-chefs mais aussi encourager d’autres membres du rang à publier leurs travaux afin de faire connaître leurs idées et faire progresser la réflexion sur la profession des armes au Canada.

 
Date de modification :