Terms of Reference

Interpretation

  1. The definitions in this paragraph apply to these terms of reference.
    « RMCC »
    means the Royal Military College of Canada;
    « RMCSJ »
    means the Royal Military College Saint-Jean;
    « Commander CDA »
    means the Commander of the Canadian Defence Academy;
    « Commandant »
    means the Commandant of the Royal Military College Saint-Jean;
    « Board »
    means the Board of Governors for the Royal Military College Saint-Jean; and
    « Minister »
    means the Minister of National Defence.

General

  1. These terms of reference establishing the Board are provided by the Minister, in accordance with section 4 of the National Defence Act.

Role

  1. The Board shall provide advice and recommendations to the Minister, on matters relating to RMCSJ. The Board shall also review and assist in the development of the strategic direction of RMCSJ, and assist the Commandant and the Commander, on matters relating to RMCSJ.

Responsabilities

  1. As a governance and advisory body, the Board assists and guides the Commander by activities which include, but are not limited to, reviewing and advising on:

    • the RMCSJ military programme;
    • the quality and suitability of the Academic Programmes offered at RMCSJ;
    • the implementation of the second official language programme for officer cadets;
    • the quality and suitability of the RMCSJ Physical Education and Sports Programmes;
    • whether or not established procedures for promotions of university teachers have been carried out appropriately;
    • the RMCSJ Research Programme;
    • RMCSJ’s business and long-range development plans;
    • strengthening the lines of communication and co-operation with the Alumni and the community at large and, where appropriate, initiating or enhancing fundraising measures to encourage donations to the Royal Military Colleges Club Foundation and the Fondation des Anciens du CMR de Saint-Jean for the benefit of RMCSJ;
    • student body issues for which a recourse mechanism does not exist in the established chain of command, either at the request of the Commandant or upon request by the students themselves; and
    • the compilation of aggregate assessments and reports concerning the operations of RMCSJ.

  2. The Board is responsible for proposing a member to participate on the Public Service selection committee that sits to choose a candidate for the position of Academic Director of RMCSJ. The member will provide input on the recommendation of a candidate for appointment to the position of Academic Director on the Board’s behalf.

  3. The Board shall provide advice to the Commander and the Commandant as requested.

  4. The Board Chair shall provide the minutes of the Board meetings to the Minister. The Board Chair shall meet with the Minister annually or as required by the Minister.

Composition

  1. Voting members of the Board consist of the Chair, nine ordinary members, seven ex-officio members and one member designated by the Royal Military Colleges Club of Canada (RMC Club), for a total of 18 members.

  2. The following members are appointed by the Minister:

    1. the Chair, a prominent Canadian; and
    2. nine civilian ordinary members whose backgrounds reflect as much as possible the social diversity of the country, in keeping with the fundamental value of equality embodied in the Charter of Rights and Freedoms and to encompass an appropriate mix of academic, private sector and public sector backgrounds.

  3. The following persons are ex-officio members, meaning members by virtue of their positions:

    1. the Commander, who shall be the Vice-Chair of the Board;
    2. the Commandant;
    3. the Director Maritime Personel or another officer holding the rank of Captain(Navy)/Commodore selected by the Chief of the Maritime Staff, who can provide the Board with insight and expertise on naval professional development matters;
    4. the Director Army Training or another officer holding the rank of Colonel/Brigadier-General selected by the Chief of the Land Staff, who can provide the Board with insight and expertise on land force professional development matters;
    5. the Director Air Personnel Strategy or another officer holding the rank of Colonel/Brigadier-General selected by the Chief of the Air Staff, who can provide the Board with insight and expertise on air force professional development matters;
    6. the Academic Director of RMCSJ; and
    7. the Principal of the Royal Military College of Canada in his capacity as the Senior Academic Advisor to the Commander.

  4. A member of the RMC Club is selected from the Club membership to represent the Alumni. This member is remunerated in accordance with paragraph 25.

  5. The Board Executive Secretary is a public servant on the CDA staff who is assigned to provide administrative support to the Board. The Board Executive Secretary normally attends all meetings of the Board. The Executive Secretary is not a member of the Board and is not entitled to vote with Board members on any issue before the Board.

Meetings

  1. The Chair shall convene meetings of the Board at least twice per calendar year. The Vice-Chair may preside over meetings of the Board in the Chair’s absence and may convene a meeting at the request of the Chair or in the event that the Chair’s position is vacant.

  2. The Chair may invite other persons to attend and participate in the discussions of the Board. No such attendee, however, shall be entitled to vote on any issue before the Board.

  3. Except as provided for in paragraphs 10 and 11, attendance at Board meetings is restricted to Board members pursuant to paragraphs 9 and 10. Stand-in or representative attendance for Board members is permitted only for those ex-officio members listed at paragraph 10, subparagraphs (c), (d) and (e).

  4. Board decisions on recommendations or advice will normally be reached by consensus but a vote on an issue may be called at the discretion of the Chair. In such cases, the Chair shall vote only when necessary to break a tie amongst the members.

  5. A quorum shall consist of nine members of the Board and shall include:

    1. the Vice-Chair;
    2. at least two other military members; and
    3. at least five civilian members.

  6. Military members of the Board may inform the Chief of Military Personnel (CMP) if they are not in agreement with advice or recommendations formulated by the Board. Military members shall take such action through the Vice-Chair or through their chain of command. If any military member intends to inform the CMP of their disagreement with a decision of the Board, the military member shall inform the Chair of their intention before taking such action.

Term of Appointment

  1. The term of service for the Chair is four years with provision for an extension of one term.

  2. For ordinary members and for the member representing the RMC Club, the term of appointment is four years, with provision for an extension of a further three years. The Board Executive Secretary will remind members of their status on an annual basis. One year prior to the end of an ordinary member’s term, the Chair shall consider the extension or replacement of the member and make a recommendation to the Minister concerning the member’s appointment extension or replacement. Departures from the Board should be planned so that, normally, no more than three members change in any given year.

Board Committees

  1. The Board may appoint an Executive Committee from among the Board members. While the Board is not compelled to appoint an Executive Committee, if one is formed, the Board shall draft specific Terms of Reference. Any terms of reference assigning a matter to an executive committee shall specify that the executive committee shall report the matter to the Board as a whole and that any action to be taken or decision to be made on the matter shall be the sole responsibility of the Board. Any executive committee must include the Vice-Chair. Membership on an executive committee must be reviewed on an annual basis by the Board as a whole.

  2. The Board may also appoint other committees of Board members, or committees consisting wholly or partly of persons who are not Board members, for purposes established by the Board. Committee members who are not members of the Board shall be administered under provisions of personal services contracts in accordance with Treasury Board Guidelines. Such contracts can only be entered into under the authority of the Commander.

Control and Administration

  1. The Chair reports to the Minister.

  2. The Commander, as Vice-Chair, shall be responsible for implementation of the Board’s advice and recommendations.

  3. While the Minister appoints the Chair and civilian ordinary members, Treasury Board contracting policy calls for the raising of an individual contract to be signed by the Minister for each Board member other than the ex-officio members. The contracts shall provide for the payment of specified professional service fees and the reimbursement of expenses incurred while carrying out Board business, the latter to be paid in accordance with Treasury Board guidelines.

  4. The budget of the Board will be identified by the Board Executive Secretary and will be factored into the overall CDA budget. The Vice-Chair must authorize any expenditure of funds allocated for the Board’s use.

Peter G. MacKay
Minister of National Defence

Date modified:

Attributions

Interprétations

  1. Les définitions suivantes s’appliquent aux présentes attributions.
    « CMRC »
    désigne le Collège militaire royal du Canada;
    « CMRSJ »
    désigne le Collège militaire royal de Saint Jean;
    « Commandant ACD »
    désigne le commandant de l’Académie canadienne de la Défense;
    « Commandant CMRSJ »
    désigne le commandant du Collège militaire royal de Saint Jean;
    « Conseil »
    désigne le Conseil des gouverneurs du Collège militaire royal de Saint Jean;
    « Ministre »
    désigne le ministre de la Défense nationale.

Généralités

  1. Les présentes attributions établissant les pouvoirs du Conseil sont conférées par le ministre, en conformité avec l’article 4 de la Loi sur la défense nationale.

Rôle

  1. Le Conseil doit donner des conseils et faire des recommandations au ministre sur des questions concernant le CMRSJ. Il doit aussi examiner l’orientation stratégique de l’institution et collaborer à son développement, de même qu’aider le commandant CMRSJ et le commandant ACD sur des questions touchant le CMRSJ.

Responsabilités

  1. À titre d’organisme de gouvernance et de consultation, le Conseil aide et guide le commandant ACD par des activités qui incluent, sans toutefois s’y limiter, la responsabilité d’examiner les situations suivantes et de conseiller le commandant ACD sur :

    • le programme militaire offert au CMRSJ;
    • la qualité et la pertinence des programmes d’études offerts au CMRSJ;
    • la mise en œuvre du programme de la seconde langue officielle aux élèves-officiers;
    • la qualité et la pertinence des programmes sportifs et d’éducation physique du CMRSJ;
    • le processus de promotion des professeurs d’université afin de s’assurer qu’il est appliqué de façon appropriée;
    • le programme de recherches du CMRSJ;
    • les plans d’activités et de développement à long terme du CMRSJ;
    • le renforcement des voies de communication et de collaboration avec les anciens et la collectivité en général et, au besoin, l’adoption ou la promotion d’initiatives de collectes de fonds visant à encourager les dons à la Fondation du Club des Collèges militaires royaux du canada et à la Fondation des Anciens du CMR de Saint-Jean au profit du CMRSJ ;
    • le règlement des problèmes touchant la population étudiante pour lesquels il n’existe pas de mécanisme de recours dans la chaîne de commandement actuelle, à la demande du commandant ou des étudiants eux mêmes;
    • la compilation de l’ensemble des évaluations et des rapports touchant les activités du CMRSJ.

  2. Le Conseil doit proposer le nom d’un membre pour faire partie du Comité de sélection de la fonction publique convoqué dans le but de choisir un candidat pour occuper le poste de Directeur – Division des études du CMRSJ. Le membre du Conseil, parlant au nom de celui-ci, donnera son avis sur la recommandation d’un candidat au poste de Directeur – Division des études.

  3. Le Conseil agit à titre de conseiller auprès du commandant ACD et au commandant CMRSJ à leur demande.

  4. Le président du Conseil veillera à fournir le compte rendu des réunions du Conseil au ministre. Le président rencontrera le ministre une fois l’an, ou à la demande du ministre.

Membres du comité

  1. Les membres votants du Conseil sont le président, neuf membres ordinaires, sept membres nommés d’office et un membre désigné par le Club des Collèges militaires royaux du Canada (Club des CMR), ce qui fait un total de dix huit membres.

  2. Le ministre nomme les membres suivants :

    1. Le président, un Canadien de renom;
    2. Neuf membres ordinaires choisis parmi les civils et nommés dans le but de refléter le mieux possible la diversité canadienne, conformément à la valeur fondamentale d’égalité incluse dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, et de représenter dans une juste proportion le milieu universitaire, le secteur privé et le secteur public.

  3. Les membres nommés d’office, c’est-à-dire ceux nommés en raison du poste qu’ils occupent, sont :

    1. le commandant ACD, qui agira comme vice président du Conseil;
    2. le commandant CMRSJ;
    3. le Directeur - Personnel maritime ou tout autre officier choisi par le Chef d'état major de la Force maritime et détenant le grade de capitaine de vaisseau ou de commodore, qui peut apporter au Conseil une compétence et une expertise touchant les questions du perfectionnement professionnel de la Marine;
    4. le Directeur – Instruction de l’Armée de terre, ou tout autre officier ayant le grade de colonel ou de brigadier-général, désigné par le Chef d’état major de l’Armée de Terre, qui peut apporter au Conseil une compétence et une expertise touchant les questions du perfectionnement professionnel de la Force terrestre;
    5. le Directeur – Stratégie du Personnel (Air), ou tout autre officier ayant le grade de colonel ou de brigadier général désigné par le Chef d’état major de la Force aérienne, qui peut apporter au Conseil une compétence et une expertise sur les questions relatives au perfectionnement professionnel dans la Force aérienne;
    6. le Directeur des études, CMRSJ;
    7. le Recteur du Collège militaire royal du Canada, en qualité de conseiller principal des études auprès du commandant ACD.

  4. Un représentant du Club des CMR est choisi parmi les membres du Club pour représenter les anciens. Ce membre est rémunéré en application de l'alinéa 25.

  5. Le secrétaire exécutif du Conseil est un fonctionnaire faisant partie du personnel de l’Académie canadienne de la Défense. Il a notamment pour fonction d’assurer un soutien administratif au Conseil. Le secrétaire exécutif du Conseil est normalement présent à toutes les réunions du Conseil. Il n’est pas membre du Conseil et n’a donc pas le droit de voter avec les membres sur toute question soumise au Conseil.

Réunions

  1. Le président doit convoquer au moins deux réunions du Conseil par année civile. En l’absence du président, le vice président peut présider les réunions du Conseil. Il peut convoquer une réunion à la demande du président, ou lorsque ce poste est vacant.

  2. Le président peut inviter d’autres personnes à assister et à participer aux discussions du Conseil. Toutefois, ces participants occasionnels n’ont pas le droit de vote pour toute question soumise au Conseil.

  3. À l’exception de la disposition énoncée aux alinéas 9 et 10, seuls les membres nommés conformément aux alinéas 10 et 11 peuvent assister aux réunions du Conseil. Aucun membre ne peut se faire remplacer ou être représenté à l’exception des membres nommés d’office conformément à l’alinéa 10, sous-alinéas (c), (d) et (e).

  4. Les décisions du Conseil relatives à des recommandations ou des conseils seront habituellement prises par consensus. Le président peut toutefois décider de recourir au vote. Le cas échéant, le vote du président ne servira qu’à briser l’égalité.

  5. Pour que le quorum soit atteint, neuf membres du Conseil doivent être présents, dont :

    1. le vice-président;
    2. au moins deux autres membres militaires;
    3. au moins cinq membres civils.

  6. Si un membre militaire du Conseil est en désaccord avec des recommandations ou un conseil présentés par le Conseil, il peut en informer le chef du personnel militaire. Pour ce faire, il doit agir par l’entremise du vice-président ou de la chaîne de commandement. Il devra préalablement informer le président du Conseil de son intention de s’opposer à cette décision.

Durée du mandat

  1. Le mandat du président est d’une durée de quatre ans et peut être renouvelé une seule fois.

  2. Le mandat des membres ordinaires et celui du membre représentant le Club des CMR est de quatre ans, avec possibilité d’une prolongation de trois ans. Le secrétaire exécutif du Conseil rappelle annuellement aux membres la date d’échéance de leur mandat. Un an avant la fin du mandat d’un membre ordinaire, le président doit envisager la prolongation du mandat de ce membre ou son remplacement et faire une recommandation au ministre à ce sujet. De plus, il faut planifier les départs de façon à ce qu’il n’y ait pas plus de trois membres qui quittent le Conseil chaque année.

Comités du conseil

  1. Le Conseil peut mettre sur pied un Comité exécutif dont les membres seront choisis au sein du Conseil. S’il le fait, bien qu’il n’en ait pas l’obligation, il doit rédiger un document précisant les attributions de ce comité. Les attributions affectant une question à un comité exécutif doit spécifier que le comité relève du Conseil et que toute mesure ou décision prise par rapport à cette question sera l’unique responsabilité du Conseil. Un comité exécutif doit inclure le vice-président. La représentation d’un comité exécutif doit faire l’objet d’un examen annuel par l’ensemble du Conseil.

  2. D’autres comités peuvent également être composés de membres du Conseil, ou formés partiellement ou complètement de personnes n’en faisant pas partie, à des fins établies par le Conseil. Les membres qui ne siègent pas au Conseil seront régis au moyen de marchés de services personnels, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor. De tels marchés ne peuvent être conclus qu’avec l’approbation du commandant ACD.

Contrôle et administration

  1. Le président doit faire rapport au ministre.

  2. Le commandant ACD, à titre de vice-président, devra donner suite aux conseils et aux recommandations du Conseil.

  3. Bien que le ministre nomme le président et les membres ordinaires civils du Conseil, il est nécessaire, conformément aux politiques des marchés du Conseil du Trésor, de dresser un contrat individuel pour chaque membre, autre que les membres nommés d’office. Ces contrats doivent être signés par le ministre et préciser les règles concernant le remboursement des frais de services professionnels et des frais de dépenses engagés par les membres et liés aux affaires du Conseil, conformément aux lignes directrices du Conseil du Trésor.

  4. Le budget du Conseil est établi par le secrétaire exécutif et intégré au budget global de l’ACD. Le vice-président doit autoriser toute dépense de fonds mis à la disposition du Conseil.

L’honorable Peter G. MacKay
Ministre de la Défense nationale

Date de modification :