Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame (HOF) of Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) was inaugurated in 2013. The establishment of this internal institution of RMC Saint-Jean aims to instill a sense of pride in officer cadets towards RMC Saint-Jean and thus motivate them to succeed by offering them examples to emulate. The concept is to visually present them with a range of illustrious Canadian personalities who have achieved a certain fame in civil or military society. The honorary frames of the inductees are displayed in the corridor on the 2nd floor of the de Léry pavilion, near the auditorium, a place regularly frequented by officer cadets during breaks between their courses and conferences.

Mission

The primary mission of the RMC Saint-Jean HOF is to recognize individuals who have provided exemplary service and/or made an exceptional contribution reflecting the values of RMC Saint-Jean. The trajectory of these personalities will inspire young officer cadets by demonstrating that their journey at RMC Saint-Jean, however short it may be, is one that several famous personalities have made before them.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligible candidates are those who have studied at RMC Saint-Jean or who have been employed by the College as faculty members or otherwise, or those who have maintained a close relationship over the years with the College, who are known as friends of RMC Saint-Jean.

Nominations may include key figures from any field of professional endeavour, including, but not limited to, the Canadian Armed Forces, academia, the arts, sports, business, professional services, public service, religious communities, science and technology. Personal characteristics that are evident and consistent with those that Canadian Military Colleges strive to achieve and maintain will be considered in the assessment.

There is no limit to the number of applications that can be received, but a very small number of applicants are expected to qualify. People holding an elective office, or applying for such a position, are not eligible until they have completed their term of office.

Categories

Renowned persons having received the endorsement of the Cmdt RMC Saint-Jean and the Advisory Committee may be inducted into the RMC Saint-Jean HOF in one of the following three categories:

Senior graduates or Ex-cadets

This category is reserved for individuals who have completed at least one year at RMC Saint-Jean and who have obtained a diploma from a Canadian Military College.

Builders

This category is reserved for faculty or staff members, both civilian and military, who have been employed at RMC Saint-Jean for a minimum of one year and who have contributed to enhancing the reputation of RMC Saint-Jean either by their performance or exceptional level of professionalism, the length of their service and the quality of their teaching or by the notoriety of their work (i.e., publications, research, etc.).

Friends

People of great notoriety who have made a remarkable contribution to the mission of CMR Saint-Jean, to the development of its programs, its attractiveness, its reputation and its influence at the provincial, national or international levels.

Selection

The personal and professional background of any candidate must reflect the qualities conveyed by the motto of the Canadian Military Colleges. The following definitions will be used to frame the evaluation of these criteria:

  1. Truth : The word "truth" not only implies saying what is true, but it also implies loyalty, honesty, and respect in thought and deed. It also implies the obligation to comply with the regulations and standards in force and to face reality. Therefore, truth implies honesty and a morality based on a high standard of personal code of conduct;
  2. Duty : "Duty" represents first and foremost the obligations and responsibilities that an individual must accept and fulfill conscientiously, day after day, making the most of one’s abilities and knowledge. In the second place, the word “duty” implies, for all individuals, the need to satisfy certain requirements: to ensure the well-being of subordinates, to obtain from them an effective performance and to maintain good discipline. In addition, one must be loyal to superiors and enforce orders, regulations, orders and instructions, and the Code of Military Ethics;
  3. Valour : The word "valour" has a broader meaning; it encompasses, among other things, the meaning of the words “truth” and “duty.” In its broadest sense, it encompasses the idea of strength, courage and bravery. Therefore, it must be considered in its broadest sense, as it includes everything that can make an individual more useful to the Canadian Armed Forces and to the country.

Specific and Essential Criteria

While the criteria listed are generic and apply to the vast majority of RMC Saint-Jean Ex-Cadets, on their own, they are not sufficient to justify induction into the RMC Saint-Jean HOF. To be recommended and accepted for induction, any appointment must clearly and compulsorily demonstrate one of the following criteria:

  1. Have achieved a large-scale national or international accomplishment whether in the military or the civilian sphere; or
  2. Have a life trajectory marked by achievements or a single major achievement of a national or international scope, of which the effect is of lasting importance; or
  3. To have favourably influenced the reputation of RMC Saint-Jean.

Additional Selection Criteria

The following criteria, while not essential to an induction, will add importance to a nomination.

  1. Be recognized by an external organization for an exceptional contribution;
  2. Have experience and recognition extending beyond the country that demonstrates international vision and reach;
  3. Represent an element of diversity and promotion of gender equality for the RMC Saint-Jean HOF;
  4. Be a fervent promoter of the four pillars of the Canadian Military Colleges’ curriculum (Studies—Leadership—Physical Fitness—Bilingualism); and or
  5. Have achievements in several fields, thus demonstrating a lasting contribution towards the profession of arms or the progression of the human condition. These accomplishments may include, but are not limited to, the following activities:
    • Involvement in higher education, professional associations, corporate boards of directors, political life;
    • Quality of speaker or interaction with the media;
    • Involvement in the sports field;
    • Philanthropic involvement;
    • Volunteer community involvement or related activities, both past and present; and
    • Involvements in the arts.

Nomination Process

Each year, the Cmdt RMC Saint-Jean and the Selection Committee will conduct an external call for nominations via the RMC Saint-Jean website, the electronic journal eVéritas and its various social media, former officer cadets’ network. RMC Saint-Jean and any other means they see fit. This call for nominations will take place in September of each year.

Applications should be submitted using the online nomination form and accompanied by a biography. In the case of the nomination of a deceased person, the contact details of a family member who can act as a contact person will be required.

Applications will be examined annually and should be submitted no later than January 15 of each year.

Even if electronic sending is preferred, application files may be sent by post to:

RMC Saint-Jean Hall of Fame
Commandant’s Office
Royal Military College Saint-Jean
Saint-Jean Garrison
C.P. 100 Succursale Bureau-chef
Richelain, Qc, J0J 1R0

For more information on the Hall of Fame at Royal Military College Saint-Jean, please contact the generic mailbox by email: cmrsj-rsvp@forces.gc.ca.

Date modified:

Temple de la renommée

Le Temple de la renommée (TDLR) du CMR Saint-Jean a été inauguré en 2013. La mise sur pied de cette institution interne du CMR Saint-Jean vise à stimuler un sentiment de fierté chez les élèves-officiers envers le CMR Saint-Jean et ainsi les motiver à réussir. Le concept est de leur présenter visuellement un éventail d’illustres personnalités Canadiennes ayant obtenu une certaine renommée suite à leur passage au CMR Saint-Jean. Les cadres honorifiques des personnes intronisées sont exposés dans le corridor du 2e étage du pavillon De Léry, près de l’auditorium, lieu régulièrement fréquenté par les élèves-officiers lors des pauses entre leurs cours et conférences.

Mission

La mission primaire du TDLR du CMR Saint-Jean est de reconnaître les personnes qui ont eu un service exemplaire et/ou apportées une contribution exceptionnelle aux valeurs du CMR Saint-Jean. Ces personnes auront su inspirer les jeunes élèves-officiers, et ce, en démontrant que leur cheminement au CMR Saint-Jean, aussi court soit-il, en est un que plusieurs personnalités réputées ont fait avant eux.

Admissibilité

Les candidat(e)s admissibles sont les personnes ayant étudié au CMR Saint-Jean ou ayant été à l'emploi du Collège à titre de membre du corps professoral ou autre, ou encore les personnes ayant entretenu au fil des années une étroite collaboration avec le CMR Saint-Jean, reconnues sous le terme d’ami(e)s du CMR Saint-Jean.

Les nominations peuvent inclure des figures clés de n'importe quel domaine d'activités professionnelles, incluant, mais sans y être limité, les Forces armées canadiennes, le monde universitaire, les arts, les sports, les affaires, les services professionnels, la fonction publique, la religion, la science et la technologie. Les caractéristiques personnelles manifestes et cohérentes à celles que les Collèges militaires canadiens s'efforcent d'atteindre et de maintenir seront considérées lors de l'évaluation.

Il n'y a aucune limite quant au nombre de dossiers de candidature pouvant être reçus, mais on s'attend à ce qu'un nombre très restreint de candidat(e)s se qualifient. Les personnes occupant une fonction élective ou qui postulent sur une telle fonction, ne sont pas admissibles jusqu’à ce qu’elles aient terminé leur mandat.

Catégories

Les personnes de renom ayant reçues l’aval du commandant et du comité consultatif pourront être intronisées au sein du TDLR du CMR Saint-Jean dans l’une des trois catégories suivantes :

Grand(e)s finissant(e)s ou Ancien(ne)s

Cette catégorie est réservée aux individus qui ont complété au moins un an au CMR Saint-Jean et ayant obtenu un diplôme d'un Collège militaire canadien.

Bâtisseurs/bâtisseuses

Cette catégorie est réservée aux membres du corps professoral ou du personnel, tant civils que militaires, qui ont été employés au CMR Saint-Jean durant un minimum d'un an et qui ont contribué à rehausser la renommée du CMR Saint-Jean soit par leur performance ou un niveau exceptionnel de professionnalisme, la durée de leur service et la qualité de l'enseignement ou par la notoriété de leurs travaux (c.-à-d. publications d'ouvrages, recherches, etc.).

Ami(e)s

Personnes de grandes notoriétés qui ont contribué de façon remarquable à la mission du CMR Saint-Jean, au développement de ses programmes, de son pouvoir attractif, de sa réputation et de son rayonnement à l’échelle provinciale, nationale et/ou internationale.

Sélection

Le parcours personnel et professionnel de toute candidature devra refléter les qualités de la devise des Collèges militaires canadiens. Les définitions suivantes seront utilisées pour encadrer l'évaluation de ces critères

  1. Vérité : Le mot « vérité » n'implique pas seulement le fait de dire ce qui est vrai, mais il suppose aussi la loyauté, l'honnêteté et le respect dans les pensées et les actes. Il sous-entend, en outre, l'obligation de se conformer aux règlements et aux normes en vigueur et de faire face à la réalité. Par conséquent, la vérité implique l'honnêteté et une morale fondée sur un code de conduite personnelle d'une haute qualité;
  2. Devoir : Le « devoir » représente d'abord et avant tout les obligations et les responsabilités qu'un individu doit accepter et remplir consciencieusement, jour après jour, en exploitant au maximum ses capacités et ses connaissances. En second lieu, le mot « devoir » implique, pour toute personne, la nécessité de satisfaire à certaines exigences : assurer le bien-être de ses subordonné(e)s, obtenir d'eux/elles un rendement efficace et maintenir une bonne discipline. De plus, elle doit se montrer loyale envers ses supérieur(e)s et faire observer les ordonnances, règlements, ordres et instructions et le Code d’éthique militaire;
  3. Vaillance : Le mot « vaillance » a un sens plus étendu; il englobe, entre autres, la signification des mots « vérité » et « devoir ». Dans son sens large, il renferme l'idée de force, de courage et de bravoure. Donc, c'est dans son acception la plus étendue qu'il doit être considéré ici, puisqu'il comporte tout ce qui peut rendre un individu plus utile aux Forces armées canadiennes et à son pays.

Critères spécifiques et essentiels

Si les critères des critères sont génériques et s’appliquent à la grande majorité des Ancien(ne)s du CMR Saint-Jean, à eux seuls, ils ne sont pas suffisants pour justifier une intronisation au sein du TDLR du CMR Saint-Jean. Pour être recommandée et acceptée pour une intronisation, toute nomination devra clairement et obligatoirement démontrer l’un des critères suivants :

  1. Avoir réalisé un accomplissement de grande envergure à l'échelle nationale ou internationale, que ce soit dans le domaine militaire ou dans la sphère civile; ou
  2. Avoir un parcours de vie jalonné de réalisations ou une seule réalisation majeure à l'échelle nationale ou internationale dont l'effet est d'une importance durable; ou
  3. Avoir favorablement influencé la renommée du CMR Saint-Jean.

Critères de sélection supplémentaires

Les critères suivants, bien que non essentiels à une intronisation, ajouteront de l’importance à une nomination.

  1. Être reconnu(e) par un organisme extérieur pour une contribution exceptionnelle;
  2. Avoir une expérience et une reconnaissance s'étendant au-delà du pays qui démontrent une vision et une envergure internationale;
  3. Représenter un élément de diversité et de promotion de l’égalité des genres pour le HOF du CMR Saint-Jean;
  4. Être un(e) fervent(e) promoteur(trice) des quatre composantes du curriculum des Collèges militaires canadiens (Études - Leadership - Sport - Bilinguisme); et/ou
  5. Avoir des réalisations dans plusieurs domaines, démontrant ainsi une contribution durable envers la profession des armes et/ou la progression de la condition humaine. Ces réalisations peuvent inclure les activités suivantes, sans toutefois s'y limiter :
    • Implications dans l'enseignement supérieur, les associations professionnelles, les conseils d'administration corporatifs, la vie politique;
    • Qualité d'orateur ou d'interaction avec les médias;
    • Implications dans le domaine sportif;
    • Implications philanthropiques;
    • Implications communautaires bénévoles ou d’activités connexes, tant passées que présentes; et
    • Implications dans le monde des arts.

Procédure de mise en candidature

Chaque année, le commandant et le comité de sélection procèderont à un appel externe pour des mises en candidature via le site web du CMR Saint-Jean, la revue électronique eVéritas, ses divers médias sociaux, via le réseau des ancien(ne)s du CMR Saint-Jean et tous les autres moyens qu’ils jugeront bon. Cet appel à de mises en candidature se fera en septembre de chaque année.

Les dossiers de candidature devront être soumis en utilisant le formulaire de mise en candidature en ligne et accompagné d’une biographie. Dans le cas de la mise en candidature d'une personne décédée, les coordonnées d'un membre de la famille pouvant agir à titre de personne contact seront exigées.

Les dossiers de candidature seront considérés annuellement et devraient être soumis au plus tard le 15 janvier de chaque année.

Même si l'envoi électronique est privilégié, les dossiers de candidature peuvent être expédiés par la poste à :

Temple de la renommée du CMR Saint-Jean
Bureau du commandant
Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean
Garnison Saint-Jean
C.P. 100 Succursale Bureau-chef
Richelain, Qc, J0J 1R0

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Temple de la renommée du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, veuillez communiquer par courriel avec la boite courriel générique : cmrsj-rsvp@forces.gc.ca.

Date de modification :