RMC Saint-Jean and COVID-19

COVID-19

The Royal Military College Saint-Jean is monitoring the evolving outbreak of coronavirus COVID-19 that can cause acute upper respiratory illness and pneumonia.

Protecting the health and safety of our students, staff and faculty is our primary concern, and we are continuously assessing what may be required in response to any spread of the virus.

The information below continues to evolve, so check back regularly.

Campus updates on COVID-19 response

Last Update: April 1, 2020

Now that all officer cadets are with their families, healthy and connected, the time has come to get back to studies through distances learning.

So officer cadets, now is the time to fulfil your duty to successfully complete the current academic year, and continue training to stay healthy and fit.

In these outstanding circumstances we are experiencing, the swift transition to distance learning is the cornerstone that will enable us to successfully accomplish our mission this year, and prompt adaptation to the solutions that we implemented will ensure the progress of officer cadets and also our development as a higher education institution within the Defence team. In this context, we would like to thank the Academic Wing team, the pedagogical cell as well as the Library staff for all the work accomplished with professionalism in such a short time frame. We are very grateful, and this proves, once again, how the College benefits from a competent and dedicated team. You have worked in difficult conditions, in a difficult context, you can be proud of yourselves.

We would also like to acknowledge the work carried out by Personnel Support Program staff who have swiftly developped physical training videos that will soon be available online. We extend the invitation to the entire RMC Saint-Jean team, to families and all those young people who wish to apply to study at RMC Saint-Jean to use these trainings to stay fit. Don't hesitate to share videos of your workouts as comments on our Facebook page!

Keep connected and stay prepared.

Take care of yourself and take care of your loved ones.

Update - March 24, 2020

As you know, the COVID-19 virus has resulted in significant changes for Canada and the Defence Team; we at the Royal Military College Saint-Jean are not immune to such societal challenges. Thanks to your efforts we have stayed strong and ready to support the Defence Team and Canada. Over the last number of days and weeks, we have seen many necessary preventative measures being adopted from a Provincial and National level in an effort to reduce the risk posed by the spread of COVID-19. With these in mind, the Chief of the Defence Staff has directed RMC Saint-Jean to immediately reduce the student population on the campus.

Officer cadets will begin, immediately, to depart the campus once essential administration is completed and arrangements can be made for their travel home, where their responsibility will be to stay safe and healthy (their mission will be to respect social distancing and to follow the federal, provincial and local policies), complete their academic year online, and be ready for follow-on tasks that could include summer training or force employment in roles / tasks yet to be determined in support of the broader Canadian Armed Forces missions. In cases where students do not have another primary residence, they will remain at RMC Saint-Jean while completing their studies online and awaiting training or employment; for those remaining on campus, critical services will be maintained and they will be supported. Departures will be deliberate, safe and coordinated under the authority of the Officer Cadet Wing; they are to commence as soon as it’s reasonably possible and once leadership have verified that they have individual plans.

The university is not closing. However, we will be taking a pause while administration and travel arrangements are made to send students home. Accordingly, all undergraduate classes will be suspended from March 24th to 30th 2020, inclusively. Classes will re-start on March 31st 2020 and the last day of classes will be around April 30th 2020 as per the academic calendar. Exams will proceed online as per the schedule produced by the Registrar’s office. We acknowledge that this last minute change may cause challenges but we ask that you do your best to support our students during this very difficult time.

In light of these extraordinary measures, our year-end events such as convocation and end-of-year ceremonies will, unfortunately but necessarily, be cancelled to minimize risk to staff and students alike. Once the officer cadets leave the campus in the coming days they will not be permitted to return for any reason without expressed permission from the Commandant.

These are tough decisions needed in tough times. We thank you, in advance, for your understanding in these extraordinary times. The safety and protection of the entire campus community remains paramount, and like others across this country, we must do everything possible to protect and support each other as we fight the spread of the virus.

This coming week will be a challenging one for all of us as we prepare the officer cadets for departure. Please remember to be vigilant and to continue to rigorously follow the health and safety precautions required to protect yourself and others from contracting or spreading the disease.

Update - March 14, 2020

Please be advised that starting 16 Mar 20, the Chief of Defence Staff has ordered that the Canadian Armed Forces will adopt a posture where core/essential unit activities continue. For RMC Saint-Jean, completing the academic year is our mission. We will maintain activities essential to accomplish this.

With that in mind, we are actively planning for the remainder of the academic semester including classes and examinations. Presently, we are working to find ways to support a range of delivery methods as alternatives to face-to-face classes. More information about potentially moving to online courses and alternative delivery methods will be available soon, should this become necessary.

With regard to the final examination period and end-of-year parade ceremony, at this time there is no change to the schedule, although the format may change. Should decisions be made to alter the schedule, we will communicate this. Format changes will be communicated at an appropriate time.

Supervisors are to ensure that individuals currently travelling outside of CANADA self-isolate for 14 days from the time they return to the country to the time they return to work at RMC Saint-Jean.

RMC Saint-Jean will remain closed to all outside visitors until 6 April 20. This includes access to our sports facilities normally open to the community of Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

Navy and Officer Cadets will be restricted to the RMC Saint-Jean campus to ensure their success, assist in slowing the spread of the virus, and lessen the impact to the health care system. Arrangements are being made to ensure that Navy and Officer Cadets continue to have access to our sports facilities.

The health and safety of members of the RMC Saint-Jean and the Corporation du Fort St-Jean teams remains and will continue to remain our top priority. We encourage everyone to exercise good judgment and follow the guidelines previously distributed to prevent the spread of the virus.


Updates and messages

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - May 29, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - May 22, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - May 15, 2020

DM/CDS joint directive - DND/CAF COVID-19 public health measures and personal protection - May 1, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - May 1, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - April 24, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - April 17, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - April 9, 2020

A Message to the Entire Defence Team about LifeSpeak and Employee Assistance Program (EAP) - April 6, 2020

Update from the Deputy Minister on DND’s work-from-home posture during COVID-19 - April 3, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - April 3, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - March 27, 2020

Deputy Minister’s update regarding temporary cessation of most education and training activities within the CAF - March 27, 2020

Letter from Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) regarding COVID-19 - March 24, 2020


Coronavirus COVID-19 Resources and up-to-date information

The health and safety of members of the campus community remains and will continue to remain our top priority. We encourage everyone to consult the following health authority websites for the most recent coronavirus COVID-19 updates, including information on preventative measures, symptoms, seeking medical assistance, as well as information on the number of cases, risk level, and travel advisories:

Date modified:

Le CMR Saint-Jean et le COVID-19

COVID-19

Mise à jour du 1er avril 2020

Maintenant que tous les élèves-officiers sont de retour auprès de leurs proches, en santé et connectés, le moment de reprendre l’enseignement à distance est venu.

Alors, élèves-officiers, il est maintenant temps de remplir votre devoir, celui de compléter et de réussir l’année d’études en cours, de vous maintenir en bonne santé et de continuer à vous entraîner.

Dans ces circonstances exceptionnelles, la transition rapide aux études à distance est la pierre angulaire qui nous permettra d’accomplir notre mission avec succès cette année. L'adaptation rapide aux solutions qui ont été mis en place assurera la progression des élèves-officiers et la nôtre également en tant qu’établissement d’enseignement supérieur au sein de l’équipe de la Défense. C’est dans ce contexte que nous tenons à remercier toute l’équipe de l’escadre des études, la cellule pédagogique ainsi que le personnel de la bibliothèque pour tout le travail accompli avec professionnalisme en si peu de temps. Nous vous en sommes très reconnaissant et ceci démontre une fois de plus que le Collège bénéficie une équipe compétente et dévouée. Vous avez travaillé dans des conditions difficiles et dans un contexte difficile; vous pouvez être fiers de vous.

Nous voulons également souligner le travail accompli par le personnel du Programme de soutien du personnel qui a fourni un travail exemplaire en développant des vidéos d’entrainement physique qui seront mises en ligne prochainement. Nous invitons toute l’équipe du CMR Saint-Jean, mais également les familles ainsi que tous les jeunes qui désirent soumettre leur candidature pour étudier au CMR Saint-Jean, à s’en servir pour rester en forme. N’hésitez pas à partager vos vidéos de ces entrainements en commentaire sur notre page Facebook!

Continuez de rester connectés et soyez prêts.

Prenez soin de vous et prenez soin de vos proches.


Anciennes mises à jours

Mise à jour du 24 mars 2020

Comme vous le savez, le virus COVID-19 a imposé des changements significatifs importants à toute l’Équipe de la Défense et au Canada. Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean n’est pas immunisé contre ces changements auxquels fait face la société. Grâce à vos efforts, nous sommes restés forts et prêts à surmonter les défis et supporter toute l’Équipe de la Défense et le Canada. Au cours des dernières semaines, de plus en plus de mesures préventives ont été adoptées aux niveaux provincial et national afin de réduire le risque posé par la propagation du virus COVID-19. Dans cet état d’esprit, le Chef d’état-major de la Défense a ordonné au CMR Saint-Jean de réduire le plus possible, et ce dès maintenant, le nombre d’élève-officiers sur le campus.

Les élèves-officiers pour qui cela est possible quitteront donc le campus dès que l’administration essentielle sera terminée et que des dispositions pourront être prises pour leur retour au sein de leurs familles respectives. Leur responsabilité à ce moment sera de rester en sécurité et en bonne santé (prendre des mesures de distanciation sociale et de suivre les politiques fédérales, provinciales et locales), de compléter leur année scolaire par des méthodes alternatives, et de demeurer prêts pour toutes tâches à suivre qui pourraient inclure la participation à leur entraînement d’été prévu ou le soutien aux opérations des Forces armées canadiennes. Leur responsabilité sera de demeurer en bonne forme pour pouvoir réintégrer le CMR Saint-Jean dès que l’ordre leur sera donné pour poursuivre leur parcours de formation. Nous les soutiendrons par tous les moyens possibles pour qu’ils réussissent. Dans les cas où les étudiants n’ont pas d’autre résidence principale, ceux-ci demeureront sur le campus du CMR Saint-Jean et termineront leurs études en ligne comme les autres élève-officiers. Ils seront ensuite en attente d’emploi. Les départs, pour tous les élève-officiers qui quitteront le campus, débuteront aussitôt que possible, sous la direction de l’Escadre des élève-officiers.

L’université ne ferme pas. Nous allons cependant prendre une pause pendant que l’administration et les arrangements de voyage sont pris pour renvoyer les étudiants à la maison. Par conséquent, toutes les classes seront suspendues du 24 au 30 mars 2020, inclusivement. Les cours reprendront le 31 mars 2020 et les cours devraient se terminer vers le 30 avril 2020. Les examens s’effectueront en ligne selon un horaire établi par le secrétariat général. Nous reconnaissons que ce changement de dernière minute peut poser des défis, mais nous vous demandons de faire de votre mieux pour soutenir nos élèves pendant cette période très difficile.

À la lumière de ces mesures extraordinaires, nos évènements de fin d’année, comme la cérémonie de collation des grades et la parade de fin d’année seront malheureusement, mais nécessairement, annulés. Une fois que les élèves-officiers auront quitté le campus au cours des prochains jours, ils ne seront pas autorisés à revenir pour quelque raison que ce soit sans l’autorisation du Commandant du CMR Saint-Jean.

Ce ne sont pas des décisions qui ont été faciles à prendre, mais nous vous remercions à l’avance pour votre compréhension en ces temps extraordinaires. La sécurité et la protection de l’ensemble de la communauté du campus demeurent primordiales, et comme d’autres à travers le pays, nous devons faire tout notre possible pour nous protéger et nous soutenir mutuellement alors que nous luttons contre la propagation du virus.

Cette semaine sera difficile pour nous tous alors que nous préparons les élèves-officiers au départ. N’oubliez pas d’être vigilant et de continuer à suivre rigoureusement les précautions de santé et de sécurité nécessaires pour vous protéger, vous et les autres, afin de ne pas contracter ou propager le virus.

Mise à jour du 14 mars 2020

Veuillez noter qu'à partir du 16 mars 20, le Chef d’état-major de la défense a ordonné que les Forces armées canadiennes adoptent une position dans laquelle les activités centrales/essentielles d'unité se poursuivent. Pour le CMR Saint-Jean, terminer l'année académique en cours est notre mission. Nous maintiendrons les activités essentielles pour y parvenir.

C’est dans cet esprit que nous planifions activement le reste du semestre académique, y compris les cours et les examens. Actuellement, nous nous efforçons de trouver des moyens de soutenir une variété de méthodes d'enseignement alternatives. De plus amples informations sur le passage éventuel à des cours en ligne et à des méthodes de prestation alternatives seront bientôt disponibles, si cela s'avère nécessaire.

En ce qui concerne les examens finaux et la parade de cérémonie de fin d’année, il n'y a pour l'instant aucune modification du calendrier, mais il est possible que nous devions en modifier le format. Si des décisions devaient être prises pour modifier le calendrier, nous vous en informerons. Les changements de format seront communiqués en temps opportun.

Les superviseurs doivent s'assurer que les personnes qui voyagent actuellement à l'extérieur du CANADA s'isolent pendant 14 jours à partir du moment où elles retournent au pays jusqu'au moment où elles reprennent leur travail au CMR Saint-Jean.

Le CMR Saint-Jean restera fermé à tous les visiteurs extérieurs jusqu'au 6 avril 20. Ceci inclut l’accès à nos installations sportives normalement ouvertes à la communauté de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu.

Les élève-officiers et aspirants de marine seront tenus de demeurer dans l’enceinte du collège pour assurer leur succès, aider à ralentir la propagation du virus et réduire l'impact sur le système de soins de santé. Des dispositions sont prises pour que les élève-officiers et aspirants de marine continuent d’avoir accès à nos installations sportives.

La santé et la sécurité des membres de l’équipe du CMR Saint-Jean et de la Corporation Fort St-Jean restent et resteront notre priorité absolue. Nous encourageons chacun à faire preuve de jugement et à suivre les lignes directrices distribuées précédemment pour prévenir la propagation du virus.


Messages

Lettre du chef du génie militaire - 3 avril 2020

"Nous devons assurer la protection de nos étudiants et de notre personnel et faire tout ce qui est en notre pouvoir pour éviter la propagation de la COVID 19... Par conséquent, j’ai ordonné l’arrêt de toutes les activités d’instruction individuelle et d’éducation." JV pic.twitter.com/2X7SoReK4s

— General Jonathan Vance (@CDS_Canada_CEMD) March 24, 2020

Message de la Dirigeante principale des ressources humaines (Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada) - 18 mars 2020

Message de la sous-ministre concernant la COVID-19 - 13 mars 2020

Déclaration commune de la SM et du CEMD sur le nouveau coronavirus (COVID-19) - 10 mars 2020


Coronavirus COVID-19 Ressources et informations actualisées

La santé et la sécurité des membres de la communauté du campus restent et resteront notre principale priorité. Nous encourageons chacun à faire preuve de discrétion, à se tenir au courant et à suivre les directives de prévention des maladies fournies par les autorités sanitaires.

Date de modification :