Intermediate Leadership Programme (ILP)

The aim of the Intermediate Leadership Programme (ILP) is to prepare prospective petty officers 1st Class (PO1) and warrant officers (WO) for leadership, management and supervisory roles associated with the rank. The course covers subjects such as leadership, ethics and ethos, global context and operations, code of conduct and rules of engagement, as well as military justice.

The ILP has two components: a ten-week distance learning phase and a 3-week phase delivered in face-to-face learning at the Osside Institute. The distance learning phase allows the CAF to fulfill the objectives it has set for itself in matters of professional development while limiting the impacts on its members’ operational duties and personal lives.

Distance learning

The ILP distance learning phase is a ten-week asynchronous course, which means that candidates may complete it at their own pace prior to attending the face-to-face learning phase of the programme. This learning mode is thus a flexible and effective way to learn without having to attend classes or adhere to a strict timetable. Following registration, the candidate will receive a course manual with all the information, lessons, reading material, and instructions for course assignments. For the duration of this course, candidates benefit from the guidance of a teacher who can answer questions and will correct the candidate’s assignments.

The distance-learning portion of the ILP consists of approximately 40 hours of lecture and assignments. The course material is divided into four modules, which are further divided into lessons. The four modules are:

  • The Profession of Arms;
  • Leadership;
  • Global context, JIMP and C2; and
  • Law of Armed Conflict.

These modules will allow candidates to have a better understanding of the CAF, of society, and of the world in which they work. In order to work effectively in a complex military environment, all CAF military personnel must rely on intellectual resources and a specific skill set. This is why this course develops some abilities that will be useful to military personnel in contexts other than a course in history or political science. These skills include the ability to do research, read specialized documentation, and write an analysis. While preparing assignments, the candidate will learn how to structure and explain ideas in the form of a rational argument based on concrete facts and reference material.

Finally, the ILP provides non-commissioned members with the necessary tools to deal with the challenges of an environment in constant evolution. The tools we are referring to are intellectual resources, critical thinking (judgment and reasoning), and the ability to communicate and understand national politics and military doctrine in order to effectively accomplish CAF operations.

Residential Learning

The face-to-face learning portion of the ILP is currently running in a hybrid format. It is three weeks in total with one week being delivered virtually followed immediately by two weeks of in-person face-to face learning taking place at the Osside Institute on the site of Royal Military College Saint-Jean.

The curriculum is based upon study, homework, syndicate and individual assignments, discussion and lectures given by both staff instructors and guest speakers. The main subject areas covered are:

  • Leadership,
  • Management,
  • Oral and written communication; and
  • General Service knowledge.
Date modified:

Programme de leadership intermédiaire (PLI)

L’objectif du programme de leadership intermédiaire (PLI) est de préparer les futurs maîtres de 1re classe (M1) et adjudants (adj) aux rôles de leadership, de gestion et de supervision associés à leur grade. Le cours couvre des sujets tels que le leadership, l’éthique et l’éthos, le contexte mondial et les opérations, le code de conduite et les règles d’engagement, ainsi que la justice militaire.

Le PLI comporte deux phases : une première phase d’apprentissage à distance de dix semaines et une autre en classe de trois semaines. La phase d’apprentissage à distance permet aux FAC d’atteindre les objectifs qu’elles se sont fixés en matière de développement professionnel tout en limitant les répercussions sur les fonctions opérationnelles et la vie personnelle de ses membres.

Apprentissage à distance

La phase d’apprentissage à distance du PLI consiste en un cours d’une durée de dix semaines que le candidat doit suivre avant de participer à la portion en classe. Ce cours est offert en mode asynchrone, c’est-à-dire qu’un candidat peut le suivre à son rythme, sans horaire précis. Cette formule à distance offre un moyen souple et efficace d’apprendre sans avoir à se déplacer pour assister aux cours ou à respecter un horaire strict. Un fois inscrit, le candidat recevra une copie du manuel de cours qui contient tous les renseignements et le matériel requis, comme les leçons, le matériel de lecture et les instructions pour les travaux à effectuer dans le cadre du cours. Pendant toute la durée de sa démarche, le candidat demeure accompagné par un enseignant qui est disponible pour répondre aux questions du candidat et qui évaluera ses travaux.

Cette phase d’apprentissage à distance comprend environ 40 heures de cours et de travaux. Le matériel est divisé en quatre modules, qui sont divisés en leçons. Ces quatre modules sont :

  • La profession des Armes;
  • Le leadership;
  • Le contexte international, IIMP et C2; et
  • Le droit des conflits armés.

Ces modules permettront aux candidats d’avoir une meilleure compréhension des FAC, de la société et du monde dans lequel ils sont appelés à œuvrer. Afin de travailler efficacement dans un environnement militaire complexe, le personnel militaire des FAC doit pouvoir s’appuyer sur des ressources intellectuelles et des compétences spécifiques. Ce cours développe donc des aptitudes qui seront utiles au personnel militaire en dehors du contexte d’un cours d’histoire ou de science politique. Ces habiletés comprennent la capacité de faire des recherches, de lire de la documentation spécialisée et de rédiger une analyse. En préparant ses travaux, le candidat apprend à structurer et à expliquer ses idées sous la forme d’une argumentation rationnelle basée sur des faits concrets et des documents de référence.

Enfin, le PLI donne aux militaires du rang les outils nécessaires pour faire face aux défis d’un environnement en constante évolution. Les outils auxquels nous faisons référence sont les ressources intellectuelles, la pensée critique (jugement et raisonnement), et la capacité de communiquer et de comprendre la politique nationale et la doctrine militaire afin d’accomplir efficacement les opérations des FAC.

Apprentissage en classe

Le PLI comporte également une portion d’apprentissage en classe qui se déroule actuellement sous un format hybride. Cette portion dure trois semaines au total ; la première semaine se fait en classe virtuelle et est suivie immédiatement de deux semaines d’apprentissage en classe qui se déroule à l’Institut Osside sur le site du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean.

Le programme est basé sur l’étude, les devoirs, les travaux de groupe et individuels, les discussions et les conférences données par les instructeurs et les conférenciers invités. Les principaux sujets abordés sont les suivants :

  • Le leadership;
  • La gestion ;
  • La communication orale et écrite ; et
  • Les connaissances générales sur les services.
Date de modification :