2017

Articles have been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada and Royal Military College Saint-Jean are not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Pertinence de la théorie de la guerre juste entre éthique de conviction et éthique de responsabilité
(French only)

This essay is an attempt to evaluate the relevance of the just war theory in the context of contemporary warfare and the use of political violence in general. The author submits the idea that the distinction between ethics of conviction and ethics of responsibility should be use in the application of the just war theory.


Expecting Uncertainty: Approaching security environment complexity with humility and conceptual flexibility

The global security environment is complex and difficult to understand. This article proposes that the concepts of Wicked Problems, Systems Theory as well as Complex Adaptive Systems can help make sense of the complexity of global events. Further, it suggests that Design processes which have become popularized in academic military circles of late, offer advantages and should be used to coordinate multinational military and Whole of Government actions. Most importantly, it argues that humility is the required competency within the individual or the culture of the team because of the inherent complexity of the global security environment and the challenges of achieving objective understanding.

Date modified:

2017

Les articles ont été fournis par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada et le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean n'assument aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fourni par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Pertinence de la théorie de la guerre juste entre éthique de conviction et éthique de responsabilité

Ce texte est une tentative pour évaluer la pertinence de la théorie de la guerre juste dans le contexte des guerres contemporaines et de l’usage de la violence politique en général. Il est proposé de tenir compte de la distinction entre éthique de conviction et éthique de responsabilité dans le cadre de l’application de la théorie de la guerre juste.


Expecting Uncertainty: Approaching security environment complexity with humility and conceptual flexibility
(anglais seulement)

L’environement de sécurité est complexe et difficile à comprendre. Cet article propose que les concepts de problèmes pernicieux, « la théorie systémique » ainsi que de système adaptif complexe peuvent aider à comprendre la complexité de ce qui arrive à l’échelle mondiale. Le texte suggère égalementque les « processus de conception » mis de l’avant récemment dans les réseaux académiques militaires offrent des avantages et devraient être utilisés pour coordonner les efforts militaires multinationales et pan-gouvernementales. Il suggère aussi que l’humilité est la compétence clé au plan de la culture individuelle et des équipes chargées de faire face à la complexité de l’environement sécuritaire mondial objectivement difficile à comprendre.

Date de modification :