2016

Articles have been provided by external sources. The Government of Canada and Royal Military College Saint-Jean are not responsible for the accuracy, reliability or currency of the information supplied by external sources. Users wishing to rely upon this information should consult directly with the source of the information. Content provided by external sources is not subject to official languages, privacy and accessibility requirements.

Being a member of the Profession of Arms. A RCAF Chief Warrant Officer’s perspective

If you subscribe to the Cold War writings of Samuel Huntington concerning who is and who is not a professional within the Profession of Arms, then this paper is not for you. If, however, you are a believer that non-commissioned members (NCMs) are professionals, then read on.


Fostering an educational culture at the Chief Warrant Officer Osside Profession of Armes Institute

This publication aims at initiating a reflection on the positioning of the Chief Warrant Officer Osside Profession of Arms Institute as an institution with an educational vocation for Canadian Armed Forces senior non-commissioned members. Based on the analysis of the needs to enhance the educational pillar of the non-commissioned member professional development with regard to the environment in which the profession of arms will be exercised in the next few years, the author shares his vision as Canadian Forces Chief Warrant Officer and concludes with the overview of a currently ongoing project.


Le rôle du PM1/Adjuc de nomination supérieure en tant qu’acteur stratégique dans les FAC
(French only)

This paper was written during the Senior Appointment Programme held in May 2014. It was the final assignment of the programme’s distance learning phase and its aim was to discuss strategic issues and theoretical content pertaining to the role and mandate of a Senior Appointment Chief Petty Officer 1st Class/Chief Warrant Officer (SA CPO1/CWO). As such it touches on issues like the command team, change management, government policies and Canadian sovereignty issues in the North from the perspective of a SA CPO1/CWO.


Réflexion sur l’éthique organisationnelle du MDN et des FAC
(French only)

This article discusses Ethics from an organizational perspective with a focus on the Department of National Defense in Canada and on the Canadian Armed Forces. The author discusses the prevalent organizational ethical risks that the DND and the FAC must face and the fact these instutitions are held to a higher standard by the society they represent. The second part of the article focuses on how the manage organizational ethical risks; from analysis of the risks to finding ways to mititage or even eradicate them.


La voie du savoir militaire
(French only)

This paper presents the mission and the main objectives of the Centre for International Studies on the Profession of Arms of the Royal Military College Saint-Jean. The idea of founding the center is traced from the creation of the Osside Institute and situated within the context of future development of the Canadian Armed Forces.


Ethics is not just about the little guy and other observations

This article discusses three points pertaining to military ethics based upon the author’s experience teaching and collaborating with military personnel on the subject. The first point argues that to properly understand the Jus in Bello a simultaneous consideration of the Jus ad Bellum is required. It is a reminder that responsibility for ethical mishaps should not be exclusively focused upon military members within the Jus in Bello. The second point contends that due to the ‘team’ nature of military activities, an understanding of group phenomenon impacting ethical behaviour is critical. The final point discusses the consequences of differential ethical perspectives within multinational coalitions. It suggests that differences need to be acknowledged in order to be better understood and effectively overcome in order to achieve team cohesion and buy-in, critical to mission success.


A new supply ship for the Royal Canadian Navy?

This paper discusses a method that aims at optimizing the use of commercial ships for Royal Canadian Navy operational needs. The author explains how commercial container ships could be used as aircraft or helicopter carriers, or even weapon platforms. The proposed method is also presented as cost-effective and involves the use of trained naval reserve personnel as well as drones. The main example used to support the method presented in this paper is the British Royal Navy’s use of such ships during the Falkland Islands War. The author adapts the British method to the current characteristics of the 21st century operational theatre, namely in terms of technology.


Considérations sur la paix au XXIe siècle
(French only)

This paper discusses the international environment of the 21st century. It focuses on the main challenges that nations must face in this environment and on the need for increased collaboration. The paper argues that collaboration must go beyond state to state. At the center of this collaboration stands the United Nations, and its Security Council, but also international and regional organizations. The paper argues that a reform of the UN Security Council is essential in order to meet the challenges of the 21st century. Finally, the paper proposes an increased level of collaboration between state actors in the fields of defense, diplomacy and security.


The Stoics' Inner Fortress and the Health of the Military

  • The basic principles of Stoic philosophy can, still today, serve as a basis for a new operational stress injury prevention approach.
  • These principles allow the human being to face adversity without ever being devastated as clearly shown by the example of the stoics or more recently, by that of Rear-Admiral James Stockdale.
  • The mind that is authentically liberated from passions and fear, and reconciled with humanity may, at any moment in time and in all circumstances, withdraw in its inner fortress.
Date modified:

2016

Les articles ont été fournis par des sources externes. Le gouvernement du Canada et le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean n'assument aucune responsabilité concernant la précision, l'actualité ou la fiabilité des informations fournies par les sources externes. Les utilisateurs qui désirent employer cette information devraient consulter directement la source des informations. Le contenu fourni par les sources externes n'est pas assujetti aux exigences sur les langues officielles, la protection des renseignements personnels et l'accessibilité.

Being a member of the Profession of Arms. A RCAF Chief Warrant Officer’s perspective
(Anglais seulement)

If you subscribe to the Cold War writings of Samuel Huntington concerning who is and who is not a professional within the Profession of Arms, then this paper is not for you. If, however, you are a believer that non-commissioned members (NCMs) are professionals, then read on.


Fostering an educational culture at the Chief Warrant Officer Osside Profession of Armes Institute
(Anglais seulement)

Cette publication vise à initier une réflexion sur le positionnement de l’Institut de la profession des armes Adjudant-Chef Robert-Osside comme institution à vocation éducationnelle pour les militaires du rang séniors des Forces armées canadiennes. Sur la base d’une analyse des besoins de rehausser l’importance du pilier éducationnel du perfectionnement professionnel des militaires du rang au regard de l’environnement dans lequel s’exercera la profession des armes au cours des prochaines années, l’auteur partage sa vision en tant qu’Adjudant-Chef des Forces Canadiennes et conclut en présentant les grandes lignes d’un projet de recherche appliqué, lequel est présentement en cours.


Le rôle du PM1/Adjuc de nomination supérieure en tant qu’acteur stratégique dans les FAC

Ce travail a été produit dans le cadre du Programme de nomination supérieure tenu en mai 2014. Il s’agit du travail final de la phase d’apprentissage à distance du programme. Le but de ce travail était de discuter d’enjeux stratégiques et de contenu théorique en lien avec le rôle et le mandat d’un premier maître de 1ère classe/adjudant-chef (PM1/Adjuc) de nomination supérieure. En cela, le travail touche à des sujets tels que l’équipe de commandement, la gestion du changement, les politiques gouvernementales et la question de la souveraineté du Canada dans le Nord du point de vue d’un pm1/adjuc de nomination supérieure.


Réflexion sur l’éthique organisationnelle du MDN et des FAC

Cet article présente l’éthique dans une perspective organisationnelle en mettant l’accent sur le ministère de la défense nationale au Canada et sur les Forces armées canadiennes. L’auteur discute des plus importants risques éthiques organisationnel auxquels le MDN et les FAC doivent faire façe et le fait que ces institutions sont redevables de la société qu’ils représentent. La deuxième partie de l’article se concentre sur la façon dont les risques éthiques de l’organisation peuvent être gérer ; de l’analyse des risques pour trouver des moyens de réduire, voire éradiquer les risques organisationnels.


La voie du savoir militaire

Ce texte présente la mission et les principaux objectifs du Centre d’études internationales sur la profession des armes du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean. L’idée de fonder ce centre est retracée à partir de la création de l’Institut Osside et située dans le contexte du développement à venir des Forces armées canadiennes.


Ethics is not just about the little guy and other observations
(anglais seulement)

Dans cet article, l’auteur traite de trois points relatifs à l'éthique militaire en se basant sur son expérience en enseignement et une étroite collaboration avec le personnel militaire sur le sujet. Le premier point soutien que pour bien comprendre le Jus in Bello une considération simultanée du Jus ad Bellum est nécessaire. Il rappelle que la responsabilité des incidents d’ordre éthique ne devrait pas reposer exclusivement sur les militaires agissant dans le cadre du Jus in Bello. Le deuxième point fait valoir qu'en raison de la nature des activités militaires qui est centrée sur la notion d’équipe, une compréhension de la manière dont le phénomène de groupe influence le comportement éthique est essentiel. On fait ici valoir que cet aspect devrait être une priorité dans les programmes de formation d’éthique militaire de l'éthique. Le dernier point fait valoir qu'il y a des conséquences associées aux différentes perspectives sur l’éthique au sein de coalitions multinationales. On fait valoir ici que les différences doivent être reconnues et mieux comprises afin d’être surmontées efficacement et de parvenir à la cohésion de l'équipe et d’obtenir l’engagement de ses membres, ce qui est essentiel à la réussite de la mission.


Un nouveau navire de ravitaillement pour la Marine royale du Canada?

Ce texte présente une méthode permettant de mettre à profit l’utilisation de navires commerciaux pour les opérations de la marine royale canadienne. L’auteur explique comment des navires transporteurs de conteneurs peuvent être utilisés comme porte avions, porte hélicoptères ou comme plateforme d’armement, et ce, à moindre coût. L’approche propose aussi une utilisation du personnel de la réserve navale et de drones. L’exemple utilisé pour le recours à cette méthode est celui de la marine royale britannique lors de la guerre des îles Falkland. À partir de cet exemple, l’auteur adapte cette approche à la réalité opérationnelle et technologique du 21e siècle.


Considérations sur la paix au XXIe siècle

Ce texte porte sur le contexte international du 21e siècle. Il discute des enjeux principaux de ce contexte, mais aussi du besoin de collaboration au-delà des relations entre pays. Au centre de cette collaboration se trouvent l’Organisation des Nations Unies et son Conseil de sécurité, ainsi que les organisations internationales et régionales. Le texte propose comme essentielle une refonte du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU pour mieux faire face aux défis internationaux du 21e siècle. Finalement, le texte propose aussi une collaboration plus étroite entre les acteurs nationaux des différents pays en matière de défense, de diplomatie et de sécurité.


La forteresse intérieure stoïcienne et la santé des militaires

  • Les principes de base de la philosophie stoïcienne peuvent encore de nos jours servir de point de départ à une nouvelle approche de la prévention des blessures de stress opérationnelle.
  • Ces principes permettent à l’être humain de faire face à l’adversité sans être jamais terrassé comme le montre bien l’exemple des stoïciens ou celui, plus récent, du contre-amiral James Stockdale.
  • L’esprit authentiquement libéré des passions et des craintes et réconcilié avec l’humanité peut, à tout moment et en toute circonstance, se retirer dans sa forteresse intérieure.
Date de modification :