Programmes of Study

The academic programmes offered at Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) are at the college level and are recognized by the Ministry of Education of the Province of Quebec. These programmes prepare officer cadets for university studies at the Royal Military College of Canada (RMCC) in Kingston. Programmes are offered in both official languages.

The college programmes are normally two years long (CEGEP 1 + CEGEP 2) and are divided into four semesters. The target students are those who have obtained their Quebec High School Diploma (grade 11) or its equivalent elsewhere in Canada. Students can register for and eventually obtain a Diploma of College Studies in one of two academic programmes: Social Science or Science.

Furthermore, Quebec students who have successfully completed one year of college studies (CEGEP 1) and those from outside of Quebec who have obtained a High School Diploma (grade 12) could follow a one year university-level programme in Social Science or Science at Royal Military College Saint-Jean. These programmes are mainly comprised of courses found in the second year of the complete corresponding two-year programmes. These programmes are equivalent to first- year university studies offered at Royal Military College of Canada.

The college programmes include the following core courses:

  • four courses in Literature;
  • three courses in Philosophy;
  • two courses in Second Language; and
  • three courses in Physical Education.

Core courses are supplemented with specific required courses in each programme. Students in the Social Science stream take compulsory courses in the following disciplines:

  • Sociology;
  • History;
  • Political Science;
  • Psychology;
  • Economics; and
  • Mathematics.

Social Science students may also take complementary courses in Biology and Computer Science.

Students in the Science stream take compulsory courses in the following disciplines:

  • Mathematics;
  • Physics;
  • Chemistry; and
  • Biology.

Science students may also take complementary courses in Psychology and Computer Science.

Date modified:

Programmes d'études

Les programmes d'études collégiales offerts aux élèves-officiers du Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) sont reconnus par le ministère de l'Éducation de la province de Québec. Ces programmes préparent les élèves-officiers à poursuivre leurs études universitaires au Collège militaire royal du Canada (CMRC) à Kingston. Ils sont offerts dans les deux langues officielles.

D'une durée normale de deux ans (Cégep 1 + Cégep 2) et répartis sur quatre sessions, les programmes d'études collégiales offerts au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean s'adressent aux élèves qui ont obtenu leur diplôme d'études secondaires au Québec (11e année) ou l'équivalent ailleurs au Canada. Les élèves peuvent s'inscrire et éventuellement obtenir un diplôme d'études collégiales dans l'un ou l'autre des deux programmes suivants : sciences humaines et sciences de la nature.

Par ailleurs, les élèves qui ont préalablement complété une première année collégiale au Québec (Cégep 1) et les élèves de l'extérieur du Québec qui possèdent un diplôme d'études secondaires (12e année) ont la possibilité de suivre, au Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean, un programme universitaire d'une année en sciences de la nature ou en sciences humaines. Ces programmes d'un an regroupent principalement des cours de deuxième année des programmes d'études collégiales correspondants. Ils sont équivalents à la première année universitaire des programmes offerts au Collège militaire royal du Canada à Kingston.

Les programmes d'études collégiales menant à l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études collégiales (DEC) (Cégep 1 + Cégep 2) comportent un tronc commun :

  • quatre cours de littérature;
  • trois cours de philosophie;
  • deux cours de langue seconde;
  • trois cours d'éducation physique.

À ce tronc commun s'ajoutent des cours obligatoires spécifiques à chaque programme. Dans le programme de sciences humaines, les élèves suivent des cours spécifiques dans les disciplines suivantes :

  • la sociologie;
  • l'histoire;
  • la science politique;
  • la psychologie;
  • l'économie;
  • les mathématiques.

Des cours complémentaires de biologie et d'informatique leur sont également offerts.

Dans le programme de sciences de la nature, les élèves suivent des cours spécifiques dans les disciplines suivantes :

  • les mathématiques;
  • la physique;
  • la chimie;
  • la biologie.

Des cours complémentaires de psychologie et d'informatique leur sont également offerts.

Date de modification :