Academic Integrity Policy

1. The Royal Military College Saint-Jean (RMC Saint-Jean) fully supports the principles of intellectual integrity. As members of RMC Saint-Jean and the Canadian Forces (CAF), students commit to demonstrate rigorous honesty by adhering to the principles and spirit of academic integrity, and are also committed to enforce them. Academic integrity is a commitment to enforce, whatever the circumstances, the following four core values: honesty, fairness, respect, responsibility. Any academic integrity violation may have serious consequences.

2. There are three categories of academic integrity violation:

  1. Cheating: violating a rule, a practice while affecting to respect them. Dishonest conduct, betraying what one pretends to serve, to respect. For example:
    1. An act or attempt to give, receive, share or utilize unauthorized information or assistance before or during a test or an examination;
    2. Failure to follow rules for assignments, presentations, exercises, tests, or examinations;
    3. Tampering with official documents, including electronic records;
    4. Falsifying research or experimental data;
    5. The inclusion of sources that were not used in the writing of the paper or report; and
    6. The impersonation of a candidate at an examination.
  2. Plagiarism: Using the work of others and attempting to present it as original thought, prose or work. For example:
    1. Failure to appropriately acknowledge a source, misrepresentation of cited work, and misuse of quotation marks or attribution; and
    2. Failure to adequately acknowledge collaboration or outside assistance.
  3. Other violations of academic integrity include:
    1. Forgery: submitting a work containing falsified or altered information, such as inventing experimental data, manipulating experimental data, citing non-existing references, inventing sources;
    2. Multiple submissions: submitting a paper already presented within the context of another course without the teacher’s permission;
    3. Manipulating marks, such as modifying the mark of a paper;
    4. Facilitating academic integrity violation; for example, working as a team on an assignment identified as individual, allowing someone to copy one’s work;
    5. Unfair advantage, such as attempting to obtain an unwarranted advantage in the preparation of an academic assignment. For example, illicit access to examination material, obstructing another student’s work, destruction of material or reference tools;
    6. Not following ethical standards or guidelines in research;
    7. Failure to acknowledge that work has been submitted for credit elsewhere; and
    8. Misleading or false statements regarding work completed.

3. All alleged academic integrity violation must be reported in writing to the Department Head responsible for the course in which the alleged academic violation took place. The written report may be brief, but it shall include as a minimum the course title and number, details about where the suspected offence occurred, date and time of the incident, and a short description of what happened. The report shall also include the reason why there is academic integrity violation with regard to the present policy.

Here is how the report is distributed and how the alleged academic integrity violation case will be processed.

  • The Department Head informs the Dean of Studies of the alleged incident.
  • The Dean of Studies then informs the Academic Director and Registrar with a copy of the incident report and assigns a member of the Academic Wing to investigate the incident within 3 working days of being informed.
  • The Registrar informs the Director of Cadets (DCdts) and provides him with a copy of the incident report.
  • An investigation is completed within 7 working days and a copy of the investigation report is provided to all Faculty Council members and to the suspected student.
  • Results from the investigation are discussed at a Faculty Council (held as soon as possible, but no later than 8 working days following the submission of the investigation report) where the suspected student has the opportunity to address questions and answer those of the members of the Faculty Council on the circumstances of the incident.
  • If the Faculty Council concludes to an academic integrity violation, academic sanctions may be issued.
  • All academic integrity violation sanctions agreed by the Faculty Council will be announced at the Faculty Board meeting.

Sanctions will be publically advertised and the name of the offender will not be mentioned.

4. Academic sanctions imposed upon students found guilty of academic integrity violation may consist of one or more of the following:

  1. Recorded warning;
  2. Reduction of marks for the work involved;
  3. Reduction of marks for the course for which the work involved was submitted;
  4. Extra work to be done in the course affected by the misconduct, or the academic work in default to be redone; in these cases, the document at Appendix 4 to Annex A will have to be filled and given to the student;
  5. Suspension for a determined period;
  6. Expulsion.

5. In the “Reduction of marks for the course for which the work involved was done” category, the following scale applies (according to the category of the violation and aggravating or mitigating circumstances):

  1. Loss of marks on that assignment or exam / redo the assignment or exam;
  2. Some loss of marks for that course;
  3. Course failure (in cases of failure for reasons of academic integrity violation, no supplemental exam will normally be allowed); and
  4. A mark of zero on the course (no course substitution).

Aggravating or mitigating circumstances may be taken into consideration in determining the sanction. However, beyond a certain threshold of seriousness, it should be impossible to give the minimum penalty.

6. To ensure consistency, fairness and transparency, all RMC Saint-Jean staff must adhere to the following process when academic integrity violation is suspected:

  • Step 1 - Reporting. All incidents must be immediately reported to the Dean of Studies through the Department Head responsible for the course. The Dean of Studies will in turn inform the Academic Director and the Registrar; the latter will inform the DCdts.

  • Step 2 – Appointment of an investigator (within 3 working days). In determining who should do the investigation, the Dean of Studies must ensure that the appointed investigator is aware of the rules and procedures to be followed. The investigator provides a copy of the incident report to the OCdt suspected of the academic integrity violation and assigns a counsellor – normally the liaison teacher or a teacher selected by the dean of studies if the liaison teacher is implicated in the incident. The counsellor will assist the OCdt while the investigation process is ongoing.
    Note: This counsellor’s role is not to defend the OCdt but to provide him/her with assistance throughout the investigation process.

  • Step 3 – Investigation. The student suspected of academic integrity violation will be met by the investigator, who will hand him / her Appendix 1 to Annex A before conducting the interview. The student will have the right to see all the documents used and created during the investigation, including the final report.

  • Step 4 – Report. Once complete, the investigator will give the Dean of Studies a written investigation report within 7 days following his appointment. This report has to be drafted in the official language selected by the student suspected of academic integrity violation.

7. Once the investigation is complete, the Dean of Studies will inform the Faculty Council on the results of the investigation so that it may convene (within 8 working days following the submission of the investigation report) to decide on the appropriate sanction. The Faculty Council will ensure consistency and equity in the application of these regulations. The student suspected of academic integrity violation will have the right to appear before that specific Faculty Council to plead his / her case; the Head of the Department implicated in the incident will keep the student informed of the details related to the Council. If a member of the Faculty Council has been involved in the incident in any way (witnessed the incident, reported it, acted as investigator), that member will not be allowed to sit on that specific Council.

8. In the case where the Faculty Council determines that the sanction to be imposed is expulsion, the Academic Director will make a recommendation to this effect to the Commandant RMC Saint-Jean, who will make the final decision. Furthermore, if disciplinary action beyond the authority of DCdts is seen to be required, the DCdts will forward a recommendation to that effect to the Commandant, along with the required modifications. A report will be made for the next meeting of the Faculty Council.

9. Once an academic measure has been determined, the Department Head will inform the student and apply the approved measure. To further ensure consistency in application of this directive, any "warnings" given to students must be recorded in writing and retained by the Department Head. Any sanction other than a warning is more severe and will consist in a formal record of the academic integrity violation on the student’s academic record.

10. All decisions taken on academic integrity shall be forwarded to the DCdts along with the required modifications. The DCdts would then decide what disciplinary and / or administrative action is required (if any) beyond the academic measures taken. This may result in further investigation.

11. A diagram depicting these steps is enclosed at Annex B.

12. After being informed of the imposed sanction, a student will have 10 working days to contest in writing the sanction to the Registrar. The Commandant, the DCdts, the Academic Director and the Dean of Studies will review the issue and make a final ruling. This ruling will have no possibility of appeal.

13. In the case where the student found guilty of serious academic integrity violation or of a subsequent offence is a member of the Canadian Armed Forces but is not an ROTP student, the Commandant RMC Saint-Jean will inform the student’s Commandant of the violation committed. In any case, a Canadian Armed Forces student found guilty of academic integrity violation could be subject to administrative or disciplinary sanctions judged appropriate by his or her Commandant.

14. A student who is expelled from RMC Saint-Jean for motives of serious academic integrity violation or subsequent offence cannot be admitted or readmitted to a program or take courses offered at or through RMC Saint-Jean. Upon reception of a written request and after a period of at least five years, the Academic Director may review the case of an expelled student and consider an application for admission or readmission.

15. Each academic sanction is recorded in the permanent academic file of the ROTP student. In more serious cases of academic integrity, and in accordance with the directives of the Faculty Council, a note may appear on a student’s official transcript at RMCC to reflect that an academic integrity violation has occurred and that a sanction was imposed. This procedure does not apply during a student’s stay at RMC Saint-Jean, for the Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu cannot insert such comments on transcripts.

16. The Registrar is responsible of publishing penalties for academic integrity violation. He will publish the applicable details to college master, omitting names, and other identifiers, such as student number. A continuous record of academic integrity violation cases will be maintained by the Registrar.

Date modified:

Politique en matière d’intégrité dans les études

1. Le Collège militaire royal de Saint-Jean (CMR Saint-Jean) souscrit pleinement aux principes de l’intégrité intellectuelle. En tant que membre du CMR Saint-Jean et des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC), tout étudiant s’engage à faire preuve d’une honnêteté rigoureuse en se conformant aux principes et à l’esprit de l’intégrité académique et en s’engageant à les respecter. L’intégrité académique est un engagement à respecter, quelles que soient les circonstances, les quatre valeurs fondamentales que sont l’honnêteté, la justice, le respect, la responsabilité. Toute infraction à l’intégrité dans les études contrevenant à ces valeurs peut avoir des conséquences graves.

2. Les trois catégories d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études sont les suivantes :

  1. Tricherie : action d’enfreindre une règle, un usage en affectant de les respecter. Conduite avec mauvaise foi, en trahissant ce que l’on affecte de servir, de respecter. Par exemple :
    1. Donner, recevoir, partager ou utiliser des renseignements ou de l'aide non autorisés avant ou pendant une épreuve ou un examen ou essayer de le faire;
    2. Contrevenir aux règles à suivre pour les devoirs, les exposés, les exercices, les épreuves ou les examens;
    3. Modifier illicitement des documents officiels, y compris des dossiers électroniques;
    4. Falsifier des données de recherche;
    5. Citer des sources qui n'ont pas été utilisées pour rédiger un document ou un rapport;
    6. Passer un examen à la place de quelqu'un d'autre.
  2. Plagiat : action de copier (un auteur) en s’attribuant indûment des passages de son œuvre. Vol littéraire. Par exemple :
    1. Utiliser le travail d'autres personnes et tenter de le faire passer pour sien, soit, entre autres, ne pas créditer une source, mal citer une source et utiliser à tort les guillemets ou la mention d'une source; et
    2. Omettre d'indiquer de manière appropriée la collaboration ou l'aide obtenue.
  3. Autres violations de l'intégrité dans les études :
    1. Fabrication: soumettre un travail contenant une information falsifiée ou modifiée ; par exemple, ’inventer des données expérimentales, manipuler des données expérimentales, citer des références non-existantes, inventer des sources;
    2. Soumissions multiples: soumettre un travail déjà présenté dans le cadre d'un autre cours sans la permission de l'enseignant;
    3. Manipulation de notes obtenues, telle que la modification de la note reçue pour un travail;
    4. Facilitation de la mauvaise conduite académique, tel que travailler en équipe sur un travail précisé comme individuel, permettre à un autre de copier son travail;
    5. Avantage injuste : tenter d'obtenir un avantage indu lors de la préparation d'un travail académique. Par exemple: accès illicite à la matière d'un examen, obstruction du travail d'un autre étudiant, destruction de matériel ou d'outils de référence;
    6. Non-respect des normes ou des lignes directrices régissant l'éthique dans la recherche;
    7. Omission d'indiquer que le travail a déjà été présenté ailleurs en vue de l'obtention de crédits; et
    8. Déclarations trompeuses ou fausses sur le travail effectué.

3. Tous les cas présumés d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études doivent être rapportés par écrit au directeur du département responsable du cours dans lequel l’infraction présumée a eu lieu. Ce rapport écrit pourra être bref, mais devra au moins indiquer le titre du cours, son numéro, le lieu, la date et l’heure, ainsi qu’un court résumé de l’incident. Le rapport devra aussi indiquer précisément pourquoi il y a infraction en se référant au présent règlement.

Voici comment s’effectue ensuite la diffusion du rapport et le traitement du cas.

  • Le directeur du département informe le doyen à l’enseignement de l’incident.
  • Le doyen à l’enseignement avertit alors le directeur des études et le secrétaire-général en leur transmettant une copie du rapport d’incident et nomme un membre de l’Escadre des études pour enquêter sur la situation dans les 3 jours ouvrables après avoir été informé.
  • Le secrétaire-général avise le directeur des élèves-officiers (D Élofs) et lui remet une copie du rapport d’incident.
  • L’enquête est complétée dans les 7 jours ouvrables suivant la nomination de l’enquêteur et le rapport de l’enquêteur est remis à tous les membres du Conseil des études ainsi qu’à l’élève soupçonné d’une infraction à l’intégrité dans les études.
  • Les résultats de l’enquête sont discutés dans le cadre d’une réunion du Conseil des études (tenu le plus rapidement possible suite à l’enquête, dans un délais ne dépassant pas 8 jours ouvrables après le dépôt du rapport de l'enquêteur) au cours de laquelle l’élève mis en cause pourra se voir allouer une période de temps pour s’expliquer sur les circonstances de l’incident.
  • Si le Conseil des études conclut à l’infraction, il peut décider d’une sanction.
  • Toute sanction scolaire imposée par le Conseil des études devra être signifiée à une réunion du Conseil éducatif.

Les sanctions infligées seront rendues publiques, mais le nom du contrevenant ne devra en aucun cas être mentionné.

4. Les élèves reconnus coupables d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études peuvent faire l'objet d'une ou de plusieurs des sanctions suivantes :

  1. avertissement formel;
  2. réduction de la note du travail concerné;
  3. réduction de la note du cours dans le cadre duquel le travail concerné a été fait;
  4. travail supplémentaire à faire dans le cadre de ce cours, ou travail en défaut à refaire; dans ce cas, le formulaire à l’appendice 4 de l’annexe A devra être rempli et remis à l’élève;
  5. suspension pour une période fixée;
  6. expulsion.

5. Dans la catégorie « réduction de la note du travail concerné / du cours », l’échelle suivante s’applique (en fonction de la catégorie de l’infraction et des facteurs aggravants et atténuants) :

  1. perte de points pour le travail pratique ou pour l’examen / refaire le travail pratique ou l’examen;
  2. perte d’un certain nombre de points pour le cours;
  3. échec du cours (normalement, dans les cas d’échec pour raison d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études, aucun examen de reprise ne sera autorisé);
  4. la note zéro pour le cours (aucune substitution de cours).

Les circonstances aggravantes ou atténuantes peuvent être prises en considération dans la détermination de sanctions. Cependant, passé un certain seuil de gravité, il devrait être impossible de donner la sanction minimale.

6. Pour garantir cohérence, équité et transparence, tout le personnel du CMR Saint-Jean doit adhérer au processus suivant, lorsqu’un cas d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études est soupçonné :

  • Étape 1 - Rapport. Tous les incidents doivent être immédiatement portés à l’attention du doyen à l’enseignement par écrit par l’entremise du directeur du département responsable du cours. Le doyen avisera à son tour le directeur des études et le secrétaire-général. Ce dernier avisera ensuite le D Élofs.

  • Étape 2 – Nomination d’un enquêteur (maximum 3 jours ouvrables). Au moment de choisir cette personne, le doyen à l’enseignement doit s’assurer que cette personne est au courant des règles et des procédures à suivre. À son tour, l’enquêteur remet une copie du rapport à l’élève mis en cause et désigne un conseiller – normalement le professeur de liaison – ou un professeur choisi par le doyen si le professeur de liaison est impliqué dans l’incident, pour l’accompagner durant le processus d’examen du cas d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études.
    N.B. : Le conseiller n’a pas pour rôle d’assurer la défense de l’élève-officier mais de lui apporter un soutien tout au long du processus d’enquête.

  • Étape 3 - Enquête. L’élève soupçonné d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études devra être rencontré par l’enquêteur, qui lui remettra l’appendice 1 à l’annexe A avant de le questionner. Durant l’enquête, l’élève aura le droit de consulter toute la documentation utilisée et produite au cours de l’enquête, incluant le rapport d’enquête final.

  • Étape 4 – Rapport. L’enquêteur remettra un rapport écrit au doyen à l’enseignement à l’intérieur de 7 jours ouvrables suite à sa nomination. Ce rapport devra être dans la langue officielle choisie par l’élève soupçonné d’infraction.

7. Une fois l’enquête terminée, le Doyen à l’enseignement transmettra au Conseil des études les résultats de cette enquête afin qu’il puisse siéger (dans les 8 jours ouvrables suivant le dépôt du rapport d’enquête) pour déterminer la sanction appropriée. Le Conseil des études s’assurera de la cohérence et de l’équité dans l’application de cette politique. L’élève soupçonné d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études aura le droit de se présenter devant ce Conseil des études pour y faire une représentation en sa faveur; le directeur de département concerné avisera l’élève des détails au sujet de ce Conseil. Si un membre du Conseil des études a été impliqué d’une quelconque façon dans l’incident (rapporteur de l’incident, témoin, enquêteur), ce membre ne pourra siéger à ce Conseil spécifique.

8. Lorsque le Conseil des études détermine que la sanction à imposer est l’expulsion, le Directeur des études fera une recommandation à cet effet au commandant du CMR Saint-Jean, qui prendra la décision ultime. De plus, si une mesure disciplinaire au-delà de l’autorité du D Élof est perçue comme étant requise, le D Élof fera alors part au commandant d’une recommandation à cet effet, accompagnée des modifications qui s’imposent. Un rapport sera produit pour la prochaine réunion du Conseil des études.

9. Après avoir déterminé la mesure scolaire à appliquer, le directeur du département en informera l’élève et appliquera la mesure approuvée. Pour assurer davantage de cohérence dans l’application de cette directive, tout « avertissement » donné à l’élève doit être consigné par écrit et conservé par le directeur du département. Toute mesure autre qu’un avertissement est plus sévère et consiste en une inscription officielle portée au dossier scolaire de l’élève.

10. Toutes les décisions prises relatives à l’intégrité dans les études doivent être portées à l’attention du D Élof. Le D Élof.prendra alors la décision à savoir si des mesures disciplinaires et / ou administratives devraient compléter les mesures scolaires déjà prises. Une enquête plus poussée pourrait s’avérer nécessaire.

11. Un diagramme illustrant ces étapes se trouve à l’annexe B.

12. Après avoir été informé de la sanction imposée, un élève disposera de 10 jours ouvrables pour enregistrer une contestation écrite auprès du Secrétariat-général. Le Commandant, le D Élof, le directeur des études et le doyen étudieront cette contestation et formuleront une décision finale et sans appel.

13. Dans les cas où l’élève qui est reconnu coupable d’une infraction à l’intégrité dans les études grave ou de récidive est membre des Forces armées canadiennes mais n’est pas un élof PFOR, le Commandant du CMR Saint-Jean informera son commandant de l’infraction commise. Dans tous les cas, un élève membre des Forces armées canadiennes trouvé coupable de mauvaise conduite dans les études pourrait se voir imposer les mesures administratives ou disciplinaires que son commandant jugera appropriées.

14. Un élève qui est expulsé du CMR Saint-Jean pour une infraction à l’intégrité dans les études grave ou pour récidive ne peut être admis ou réadmis dans un programme d'études ou suivre des cours offerts par le CMR Saint-Jean ou par son entremise. Suite à la réception d'une demande écrite, et après une période d'au moins cinq ans depuis la date d’expulsion, le directeur des études peut réviser le cas d'un étudiant expulsé et considérer une application pour admission ou réadmission.

15. Chaque sanction scolaire est notée au dossier scolaire permanent d'un élève du PFOR. Dans les cas graves d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études, et selon les directives à cet effet du Conseil des études, le relevé de notes officiel d'un élève pourra être annoté une fois acheminé au CMRC pour refléter le fait qu’une infraction a eu lieu au niveau des études et qu'une sanction a été imposée. Cette procédure ne s’appliquera pas durant le séjour d’un élève au CMR Saint-Jean, car le Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu ne peut apposer de tels commentaires sur les relevés de notes.

16. Le secrétaire général est responsable de la publication des sanctions imposées pour toute infraction à l’intégrité dans les études. Il doit publier les détails au moyen de la liste de distribution du Collège, en omettant le nom des personnes concernées et toute autre donnée d’identification, comme le numéro d’étudiant. Le dossier des cas d’infraction à l’intégrité dans les études doit être tenu à jour en tout temps par le secrétaire général.

Date de modification :